We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
69
34
8
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
34
8
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews upstairs room short stay dvd player two night stay walking distance great hosts stoke motel turf suitcases accommodation picton cleanliness
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2017

Our arrival was greeted by the new manager, who confirmed our booking and showed us to our room. All rooms are upstairs so probably not suitable for anyone with limited mobility as I didn't see a lift. The room was well appointed and tidy with all the basics we needed for our stay. Being based on the west side of the hotel, we needed to block the afternoon sun from over heating the room. Views from upstairs were over an unkempt empty car sales yard, so not inspiring.

There was ample parking on site. The location on the outskirts of Nelson in Stoke is great for our various site seeing trips and there are a number of affordable places to eat within 15 minutes drive. It is a short stroll across the road to reach Isel House which is an historic home in well established mature gardens.

Room Tip: The rooms on the East side are cooler in the afternoon.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boutique7, Owner at Boutique Motel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. I would like to point out that 3 of our rooms are on the ground floor, two of which are access units with large walk-in showers. Guests with restricted mobility are usually well catered for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

Not a bad place for a short stay staff are friendly rooms are not bad well catered with fridge microwave tv sky and dvd player.
Access to the supermarkets and eateries all in walking distance.
Laundry facilities available along with a garden to sit in and enjoy the area.
WiFi available.
Not bad at all

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Awesome stay, really appreciate the friendliness of staff. Motel rooms are clean and welcoming. Made our stay very enjoyable. Would definitely stay again. Thank you so much!! Can't wait to be back here!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Cutiepiecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

As I understand it Gary took over this motel in the past 6 months. It is a very modern motel in a very good location on the outskirts of Blenheim going toward Richmond (and Abel Tasman) The thing that seperates this motel from the others is the attention to detail obythe owner. When my battery went dead in the rental car he tried to jump it; when my wife was ready to call a taxi to go to town, Gary offered to drive her to town. We were in NZ 28 days and we never encountered a more helpful, friendly manager. I highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TopsideMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Nicely decorated, clean room with excellent facilities and TV channels. Free DVDs to borrow. Friendly staff. It was a pleasure to stay here. The only problem I encountered was poor wifi reception in my room.

Room Tip: Downstairs back room opens on to garden.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jancrow4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boutique7, Owner at Boutique Motel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2017

Thank you very much for your overall review - we enjoyed having you stay here. We have looked into the wifi issue more closely as this is the first comment of this nature we have experienced. We have tested the wifi signal strength in all of the rooms, including those further from the wifi antenna than yours, and did not find any issues. You did report that one device in your room had no issues but one did. This almost certainly indicates a software settings issue with the problem device and there are several approaches to troubleshooting this problem. The following link provides some very good advice: https://www.lifewire.com/fix-poor-wifi-signal-on-ipad-1994532

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews