We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT !!! EXCEPT BUSINESS REPS READ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

I am a sales rep with a disability, travelling NZ wide staying all over NZ , being home only 2 days a month.. I have RA , night time is my worse so a good bed high pressure hot shower and heat in room are my needs and must be quiet . I choose by reviews.
I also write reviews for national publishers for disabled and business reviews.

First off the best to talk about,
Reception was great and bubbly friendly..

The room
Heated floor in bathroom bonus for sore feet , Beautifully presentation of room well made beds, electric blankets and air cond..
proper shampoos that can be opened by disabled fingers. I slept like a baby one of the only hotels I’ve stayed past 6am , loved it so much

The issues. These are quite bad if your disabled or a sales rep..

Staff ( won’t say who) because all staff need teaching, The carpark was full, I have a disabled tag so rightfully I’m parked in disabled carpark, someone said “ Park in disabled we don’t police it we are private business, anyone can park in them “
Oh really I replied well lucky I have disabled tag, Trailways this is shocking to hear this , Disabled people need these parks ! Close to entrance, please teach the staff.

Internet
I had to call for internet access code first code used up. Second code used up.. so reception gives me 3 more , all 3 were part used, half way through my reports I run out of internet.. If your going to advertise free internet with threats of letters in room that if you use for anything else but normal internet then at least make it so we can use it..

The end of it all would I stay here again?
Absolutely it’s one of the best!! Teach staff about disabled and fix internet and you have an amazing place

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear Bruce C,

Thank you very much for your review. I am very disappointed to hear that one of our staff members said we don't police our disability car park. As you know our disability car parks are the closest to reception so we can see when a car pulls into them - if someone gets out who isn't noticeably disabled or hasn't got a disabled tag visible in their front window. We will very politely ask them to move - people are generally very understanding and will only park there if they are entitled to.
I will once again bring this to all of our staff's attention and just because we are a private business is no excuse for anyone to park there. So I apologise. In regards to the internet our Wi-Fi codes only work once so can not be half used when you receive them however we are changing our Wi-Fi tickets and they will be unlimited as to cut out them getting used up quickly. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and very pleased to hear you will stay with us again.
We look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards,
The Team at Trailways Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night heading through to Blenheim, no complaints whatsoever, the place is clean and the staff are very well trained in customer service, all modern furnishing including under floor heating in the bathroom. The hotel is close to town just a few minutes walk if you don't want to utilise the hotel restaurant and bar. Would highly recommend to my fellow traveler's.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tipperaryboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear Tipperaryboy,

It is so lovely to hear you have no complaints. We are pleased to hear you found our rooms clean and no faults in our very attentive friendly staff members. We are pleased to hear you also enjoyed our underfloor heating in the bathrooms and very central location.

Many thanks for the review,

Kind regards,
The Team at Trailways Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

I stayed overnight as a base for visiting the Tasman National Park and before heading over to Picton for the ferry. The hotel is very nice, with good facilities. I had a large room with a good clean bathroom, and a nice patio area overlooking the river.

Room Tip: Make sure your room overlooks the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank csfordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear csfordie,

thank you so much for taking your time to write us a review.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our great Riverside Studios.

We hope you loved our beautiful Abel Tasman National Park! What a fantastic experience.

Kind regards,
The Team at Trailways Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Well this won’t be the last stay with Trailways. Loved everything here from amazing friendly helpful staff to the comfy bed to clean room and great views. Location is primo and having the restaurant attached is a bonus especially because it is first class. The only one thing they could add to make it 100% would be to have a better instant coffee in the room. Special Blend is nasty. Most good quality hotels will have Moccona at the least.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear Fiona R,

thank you so much for taking your time to write us a review we are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us from your clean and comfortable room to our first class restaurant and fantastic location.
I will pass on your thoughts on our instant coffee and look forward to seeing you next time you are in Nelson.

Kind regards,
The Team at Trailways Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

I chose this place because it is in the center of town. Right along side the river with a nice walking track for an early morning walk before lunch. The Breakfast buffet is good. The rooms are large and comfortable,

Room Tip: Pick a room on the river side for a nice wake up view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trailways, Front Office Manager at Trailways Hotel Nelson, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear Stephen F,

thank you for choosing to stay with us we are pleased our central location and beautiful outlook were drawing cards to you. We are pleased you also liked the size of your room and found it comfortable and also enjoyed our breakfast buffet.
We hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,
The Team at Trailways Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.1 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.3 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
684 reviews
1.1 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 41 in Nelson
154 reviews
6.7 km away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
0.8 km away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#14 of 41 in Nelson
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailways Hotel Nelson? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailways Hotel Nelson

Address: 66 Trafalgar Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: ₹ 5,015 - ₹ 16,023 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trailways Hotel Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Trailways Hotel, one of Nelson's most stylish and contemporary venues. We are centrally located within a few minutes' walk of Nelson's central shopping precinct, theatres, cultural and sporting attractions, restaurants and cafes, the information centre and close to the scenic waterfront. Stay in the heart of Nelson city and explore the region, famous for its sunshine, wine, seafood, art and craft, Saturday morning open-air market, its five national parks and abundance of outdoor recreation. Trailways Hotel is right on the river and many of its rooms open onto the river side. There are 47 rooms consisting of studios, studio spas, spacious suites and interconnecting rooms. Also overlooking the river is award-winning The Tides Restaurant and Bar. There are three serviced conference rooms for your next business event, wedding or function. For the business traveller, we have up-to-the-minute facilities to make your stay most productive. Our staff are on hand 24 hours to respond to your requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trailways Hotel Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing