We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Te Puna Wai Lodge
Nearby Hotels
The Sails Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$ 104
US$ 99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Trailways Hotel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$ 68
US$ 66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 93
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palazzo Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$ 108
US$ 102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Century Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$ 103
US$ 100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Harbourside Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveller rating
321
14
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
321
14
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floornew zealanddownstairs apartmenttasman baythird floorfabulous viewsb bswonderful hostsvictorian housebreakfast was delicioushaulashore islandview of the bayyogurtfresh flowersfrench doorswithin walking distanceeach morning
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 337 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2012

 We know that the weather was on our side but everything about our stay was absolutely perfect.........our room was spacious and luxurious and we had a wonderful view of the sea too ! 
Although the house is so lovely and beautifully furnished , it has a really comfortable and relaxed  feel ........a big thank you to James for his hospitality, he couldn't have made us feel more welcome !Y

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank travelleronholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in the downstairs room - just magic. A comfortable room with kitchen and laundry facilities - a view and a terrace to sit and watch the world gently pass by.

James and Richard were the perfect hosts - nothing was a problem and their extensive experience helped in refining our planned activities. The breakfast was a real treat - fresh fruit, eggs to order and the most delicious muesli and breads.

Having the kitchen and laundry was a real plus - not that we cooked in at all, but having that flexibility. The room was spotless, the wi-fi connection speedy and above all the room was comfortable and functional - what more could you ask for.

Would we return - in a flash. This is quality old fashioned hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geddes_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Te Puna Wai is probably the best B&B we have stayed in our travels around the world.
A stylish property stylishly furnished to very high standards, our room, to the rear of the property, was very comfortable and well appointed.
The breakfasts offered anything one could want, and were served in a beautiful lounge/dining room with stunning views.
The hospitality of the owners, Richard and James, was of the highest standard.
The property's rating of #1 in Nelson is probably thoroughly deserved.

Room Tip: Our friends had the front room with kitchen and verandah. This is the one to go for. Ours was at the rear of the property, and while comfortable and well appointed, did not have a balcony and wonderful view.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed at Te Puna Wai Lodge in the middle of March 2012 for three nights. We occupied the downstairs suite which has a kitchen as well as the usual facitities. The room was spotlessly clean and oozes class and distinction - all fittings etc are expensive and exquisitely tasteful. The room has a terrace and a small verandah (big enough to seat four) and a magnificient view over Nelson Bay. The room is quiet, discreet and comfortable and offers many extras that you would not expect - washer/drier (complete with washing powder!); filtered coffee, heaters, fans etc - in fact anything you can think of to make your stay convenient and comfortable. The hosts, Richard and James are wonderful people and made our stay special. Breakfast is served in the upstairs dining room (shared with other travellers), which is adjacent to the upstairs lounge. Richard and James have lived in Nelson for many years and offer friendly advice on the best places to go, all delivered with humour and enriched by local anecdotes.
Would go back in a heartbeat - a wonderful old house in a great location, fitted out by masters in the hospitality game. Five stars!

Room Tip: Three rooms in the lodge. Ask for the top floor or the larger suite on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed at Te Puna Wai 4 days apart, with a 3-day self-supported bike trip to Golden Bay in between. Despite a very steep hill to climb to get there, we were very glad we chose it. Richard and James were very friendly, and they put a lot of thought into what they laid out in the room in anticipation of our arrival. Books they thought we'd be interested in, and even a bottle of champagne. When they found out we didn't drink, they quickly substituted a delicious and unusual non-alcoholic beverage. Breakfast was feast, both for the eye and the mouth. But best of all, they were extremely helpful and reassuring when I left wallet and passport behind at a cafe. They arranged to have it couriered to our next lodging. What gems!

Room Tip: Email them with your requirements, and they'll certainly do everything they can to make you comfortable.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews