We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic B&B with great hosts”
Review of Te Puna Wai Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Te Puna Wai Lodge
Ranked #3 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A fantastic B&B with great hosts”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed two nights in the Fifeshire suite at the top of the house last month. The room was wonderful with a fantastic bathroom and superb views over Nelson's waterfront and out to sea. Very comfortable bed and pillows and being at the top of the house we slept really well.

James and Richard were fantastic hosts, welcoming us when we arrived, helping us with our luggage up the flights of stairs and showing us how everything worked. They recommended restaurants and places to see in Nelson and on later parts of our holiday, they clearly have extensive knowledge of the South Island and we would not have seen some of these without their tips. Breakfast was nice and served in their lovely reception room, Richard served breakfast out of hours for us one morning as we needed to leave early to travel to Abel Tasman National Park (a must do trip) for the day.

The WiFi was very good at the B&B (something we found lacking in other parts of New Zealand).

The B&B is a little way from the centre of Nelson although we found it very easy to get a cab and there are a number of restaurants down by the waterfront (within a 10 minute walk).

We'd certainly stay again, a fantastic B&B with great hosts.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dee_eem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    14
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
218
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

 We know that the weather was on our side but everything about our stay was absolutely perfect.........our room was spacious and luxurious and we had a wonderful view of the sea too ! 
Although the house is so lovely and beautifully furnished , it has a really comfortable and relaxed  feel ........a big thank you to James for his hospitality, he couldn't have made us feel more welcome !Y

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelleronholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
363 reviews
230 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in the downstairs room - just magic. A comfortable room with kitchen and laundry facilities - a view and a terrace to sit and watch the world gently pass by.

James and Richard were the perfect hosts - nothing was a problem and their extensive experience helped in refining our planned activities. The breakfast was a real treat - fresh fruit, eggs to order and the most delicious muesli and breads.

Having the kitchen and laundry was a real plus - not that we cooked in at all, but having that flexibility. The room was spotless, the wi-fi connection speedy and above all the room was comfortable and functional - what more could you ask for.

Would we return - in a flash. This is quality old fashioned hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geddes_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Te Puna Wai is probably the best B&B we have stayed in our travels around the world.
A stylish property stylishly furnished to very high standards, our room, to the rear of the property, was very comfortable and well appointed.
The breakfasts offered anything one could want, and were served in a beautiful lounge/dining room with stunning views.
The hospitality of the owners, Richard and James, was of the highest standard.
The property's rating of #1 in Nelson is probably thoroughly deserved.

Room Tip: Our friends had the front room with kitchen and verandah. This is the one to go for. Ours was at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiama NSW
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed at Te Puna Wai Lodge in the middle of March 2012 for three nights. We occupied the downstairs suite which has a kitchen as well as the usual facitities. The room was spotlessly clean and oozes class and distinction - all fittings etc are expensive and exquisitely tasteful. The room has a terrace and a small verandah (big enough to seat four) and a magnificient view over Nelson Bay. The room is quiet, discreet and comfortable and offers many extras that you would not expect - washer/drier (complete with washing powder!); filtered coffee, heaters, fans etc - in fact anything you can think of to make your stay convenient and comfortable. The hosts, Richard and James are wonderful people and made our stay special. Breakfast is served in the upstairs dining room (shared with other travellers), which is adjacent to the upstairs lounge. Richard and James have lived in Nelson for many years and offer friendly advice on the best places to go, all delivered with humour and enriched by local anecdotes.
Would go back in a heartbeat - a wonderful old house in a great location, fitted out by masters in the hospitality game. Five stars!

Room Tip: Three rooms in the lodge. Ask for the top floor or the larger suite on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
1.9 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
659 reviews
1.7 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
1.7 km away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
1.9 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
1.8 km away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 41 in Nelson
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Puna Wai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Puna Wai Lodge

Property: Te Puna Wai Lodge
Address: 24 Richardson Street | Britannia Heights, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,366 - ₹ 12,315
Hotel Class:4 star — Te Puna Wai Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, historic (1857) home - in Nelson's premier location - with a magical view encompassing the harbour entrance and Tasman Bay. In the west 2 mountain ranges contribute to dramatic sunsets. Three elegant rooms: Haulashore Apartment has a designer kitchen (with laundry appliances), veranda & terrace; adjacent Wakatu Room (doesn't get a direct view but often paired with Haulashore); top-floor Fifeshire Suite with unparalleled view. All have luxurious marble-tiled bathrooms. WIFI is complimentary. Relaxed, affable hosts. Four minutes to town or 4 the other way to the city beach (Tahunanui). Richard speaks German, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Danish. Te Puna Wai's guests are helping keep a special part of NZ early architecture alive & humming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Te Puna Wai Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Puna Wai Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing