We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food”
Review of The Monaco Kitchen

The Monaco Kitchen
Ranked #19 of 212 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 26
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Monaco Kitchen is in a well-known location on the Monaco peninsula (Nelson, New Zealand), presenting a new dining concept in a stunning location. Championing our local produce we aim to provide a sharing experience with small bites, sharing plates and feasts that you can enjoy with your friends, family or your sweetheart
Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

We ate here a couple of times while staying at The Monaco. The food is really good and generous sizes. No problem changing the meals to accommodate our tastes and Tommy is a star!

1  Thank MarkandTrinaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear Mark and Trina N

Thanks for your review of The Monaco Kitchen - we're delighted you enjoyed the food (and our generous portions). Tommy is a consummate hospitality professional - we're glad you enjoyed his very unique service style.

We hope to see you back again, and in the meantime - please keep telling people you enjoyed your dining experience with us!

Warm regards
Nick, on behalf of the entire team at The Monaco Kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

I apologise in advance to Tommy this is in no way meant to be demeaning. On the contrary I have noted some feedback about the decor which I reserve my opinion about. I can recall sitting at very basic roadside stalls and tasting amazing food so my preference is to focus on the food. But first let me get back to Tommy. My praise does not come from being singled out for special attention rather it is an observation of a skilled and very astute person working to create a very good dining experience for those that are there. He is a great example for those fledglings in hospitality. The menu has changed again since my previous trip though I should add that I believe it punches above its weight for a hotel restaurant. Not fine dining as it doesn't pretend to be either but the food is prepare and executed with some finesse.
Happy to keep going back.

1  Thank oldmanonthepoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thanks oldmanonthepoint for your very considered and thoughtful review - it's most appreciated.

I've passed on your feedback to both the kitchen team and the whole of the front of house team at The Monaco Kitchen. Thanks for the praise and compliments - we do indeed try to "punch above our weight" for a hotel restaurant, and indeed - we're not trying to be "fine dining".

We're (very) happy to hear you'll be back - we're looking forward to it!

Warm regards
Nick, on behalf of the entire team at The Monaco Kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

The food is Perfecto!! The staff were very accommodating and full of smile. The ambiance is lovely and classy.

1  Thank MjCmG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear MjCm G

Perfecto review!

Great to know you found our staff happy, smiling and helpful, also great to know you enjoyed the ambiance of the restaurant - we hope to see you back again sometime soon.

Once again, thanks for your great review.

Warm regards
Nick, on behalf of the entire team at The Monaco Kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

Excellent service with a very attentive, friendly waiter. Shared meal of lamb shank was delicious and more than enough for two. Clean and comfortable restaurant. Was good value for money.

1  Thank mcmillanholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Hi there mcmillanholiday

Thanks for your review/feedback, it was terrific to read that you enjoyed great service from your waiter, and even more pleasing to read that the lamb shank was delicious and substantial! It’s great to know that our winter menu, which we only launched last Friday, is hitting the mark with our diners . Thanks for mentioning that you found the restaurant clean, comfortable and good value for money.

We hope to see you back again some in the near future.

Warm regards
Nick, on behalf of the whole team at The Monaco Kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

I love this place
I come every time I am in Nelson. Been coming for 8 years annually
Love the FAB French influence food
Love the FAB French ambience- classy, but not too formal with a moat around the building!
Love the staff who are exceptional- fab service and go the extra mile!
The prices are not too bad for this standard of dining.

the flavours of the food were FAB . . .
Nicely presented.
The wine was excellent. . .
You have to try this place while in Nelson

Foodie and connoisseur of fine wine and food.
Shery

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Resort667086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Sher-yl G

Thanks for your FAB review/feedback - what a delight to read!

We’re delighted that you enjoyed your meal and the service on this most recent visit. Great to read that you found the food flavoursome, well presented and reasonably priced.

Warm regards
Nick, on behalf of the entire team at The Monaco Kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Monaco Kitchen also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Monaco Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing