We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
108
48
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
48
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunal kitchenrichmond mallsports complexfamily funeralbedroom family unitcricket teamhave stayed here several timesspacious roomcafe on sitemini fridgetea and coffee making facilitiesmotel complexlast minute bookingexcellent motelwent the extra mileminute drivevisiting nelson
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 164 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Stayed there 10/01/2017. Found the owner/manager very pleasant. Plenty of parking. Room was lovely. I'm a wheelchair user and found the room spacious and easy to get around. Only problem was the location of the fold-down shower-seat was in relation to the mixer. Someone had not given this much thought. Very happy with our stay and would visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-Desma, Manager at Saxton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Many thanks for your comments. Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Went in here yesterday to try out this new place,they have had their sign out for about 3 mths,well the food is good the coffee is really good,everything is made on the premises,another group wanted something that was not on display,but that was no trouble they would go and make one,now wereelse do you find that nowadays,well done

Stayed: October 2017
5  Thank Dunca2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-Desma, Manager at Saxton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thanks for such a great review. Pleased you enjoyed our new cafe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

I recently stayed at the Saxton Lodge Motel for 3 nights.
I could not fault the staff or management,wonderful service.
The room was spotless and the bed very comfortable.
Situated on a reasonably busy road there was little road noise.
Thank you team,I will be back :).

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lizzie418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-Desma, Manager at Saxton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Many thanks for your comments. Will look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

My son and I stayed at the Saxton Lodge for 2 nights recently and we were blown away by the friendliness of the hosts. They could not do enough for us, even offering to drive us to an attraction and pick us up when we were ready to drive us downtown and even took the time to pre book table at a restaurant for us. They also drove us to the airport to connect with our flight to Auckland the following day. Our accommodation was excellent, plenty of room, great bathroom and very well equipped and clean. We mentioned to a taxi driver how impressed we were with their service and he offered to pass it on. We certainly would have no hesitation in staying there again and will be recommending the Saxton Lodge to family and friends should they visit Nelson.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor and was very quiet indeed.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-Desma, Manager at Saxton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you for such a great review. It was a pleasure to have you both to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

I stayed at Saxton Lodge for 4 nights with 10 other whanau members while competing in a Euchre tournament recently. I shared a ground level room with 4 others and it was warm, spacious and had 2 bathrooms (which is a big thumbs-up for me!!) We used the communal kitchen which was so handy for us because we bought our own food to cook. The tournament was only 10 mins drive from the lodge which was super handy!! What great service by Desma and David from getting picked up at the airport (and calling in to KFC!) and dropped off, and making sure we were okay during our stay in a very vibrant and professional manner. I can not fault their hospitality at all and yes .. we will be staying at Saxton Lodge in 2 years times (and hopefully in the same rooms)

Room Tip: Our corner ground level room was spacious and bright and had 2 bathrooms!!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maniapototraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-Desma, Manager at Saxton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

It was a pleasure to host your lovely friendly group of card enthusiasts. Thank you for taking time to review Saxton Lodge we appreciate it.
Kind Regards,
The Saxton Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews