We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Appointed Rooms & Very Helpful Staff”
Review of Saxton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saxton Lodge
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Arrived mid morning & asked if they could store our bags as we had a taxi holding for us, and the Manager grabbed our name & said "Yes". A great start to a 2 night stay.

On return to the Lodge after lunch in Nelson we were shown to our rooms which we found to be in excellent condition & well appointed. Neat traditional glass milk bottle was a nice touch.

Being able to have a continental breakfast delivered to the room that evening was very helpful for us eating breakfast before heading out at 5.30am on a photography trip to Boulder Bank.

Very comfortable beds with high quality bedding in a large room. The type of shower head fitted was disappointing, but that is a very minor mark down on an otherwise superb room & stay.

Excellent value for money & plenty of parking. Will stay there next time we go back to Nelson.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lathkill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-Desma, Manager at Saxton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we appreciate it.
Sorry you had a problem with the shower head, we try very hard to keep on top of any maintenance problems.
Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2017

Stayed there 10/01/2017. Found the owner/manager very pleasant. Plenty of parking. Room was lovely. I'm a wheelchair user and found the room spacious and easy to get around. Only problem was the location of the fold-down shower-seat was in relation to the mixer. Someone had not given this much thought. Very happy with our stay and would visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-Desma, Manager at Saxton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your comments. Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Went in here yesterday to try out this new place,they have had their sign out for about 3 mths,well the food is good the coffee is really good,everything is made on the premises,another group wanted something that was not on display,but that was no trouble they would go and make one,now wereelse do you find that nowadays,well done

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Dunca2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-Desma, Manager at Saxton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for such a great review. Pleased you enjoyed our new cafe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

I recently stayed at the Saxton Lodge Motel for 3 nights.
I could not fault the staff or management,wonderful service.
The room was spotless and the bed very comfortable.
Situated on a reasonably busy road there was little road noise.
Thank you team,I will be back :).

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lizzie418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-Desma, Manager at Saxton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your comments. Will look forward to your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

My son and I stayed at the Saxton Lodge for 2 nights recently and we were blown away by the friendliness of the hosts. They could not do enough for us, even offering to drive us to an attraction and pick us up when we were ready to drive us downtown and even took the time to pre book table at a restaurant for us. They also drove us to the airport to connect with our flight to Auckland the following day. Our accommodation was excellent, plenty of room, great bathroom and very well equipped and clean. We mentioned to a taxi driver how impressed we were with their service and he offered to pass it on. We certainly would have no hesitation in staying there again and will be recommending the Saxton Lodge to family and friends should they visit Nelson.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor and was very quiet indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David-Desma, Manager at Saxton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for such a great review. It was a pleasure to have you both to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
7.4 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
8.6 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
685 reviews
8.4 km away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 41 in Nelson
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
2.2 km away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
8.7 km away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 41 in Nelson
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saxton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxton Lodge

Address: 103 Saxton Road East, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: ₹ 5,319 - ₹ 8,108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saxton Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering you comfortable, spacious motel style accommodation in Nelson for holiday vacations, group functions, sports team, business or corporate travellers. Saxton Lodge is the perfect option for anyone visiting Nelson. We offer spacious modern units for your comfort and conveniently located opposite Saxton Field, only 15 minutes' drive to Nelson city centre, 30 minutes' drive to Motueka, 3 minutes' drive into Stoke or Richmond, and approximately 5 minutes' drive from Nelson airport. We also offer a free airport transfer service on demand, subject to availability. For families coming to Nelson, the Saxton Field sporting complex is directly across the road and this has a children's playground. The aquatic centre is a 2 minute drive down Main Rd Stoke (toward Richmond) and we offer barbeque facilities, a spacious lawn for children to play safely and free off-street parking. With 84 car parks on the property, we can accommodate large vehicles, towing vehicles, camper vans, buses and trucks with ease. The property also has a fully equipped communal kitchen for you to prepare simple meals and a self-service laundry is also available onsite. Our accommodation is a two-storied complex with 48 generous sized units, consisting of Studios, and 1 & 2 Bedroom Units. All of our units have SKY Select 50+ TV, UFB Internet and Wifi, individual air-conditioning in each room so you can control your temperature, blackout curtains for a relaxing sleep, double glazed windows and soundproofed rooms to ensure quiet enjoyment, tea/coffee making facilities, and a mini fridge and an ensuite bathroom with shower. We also have rooms that have wet-floor showers to accommodate guests with limited mobility and all of our downstairs units have sliding doors opening out to patios. A number of our upstairs units have balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saxton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing