We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbourside Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$ 108
US$ 102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 47
US$ 37
Booking.com
View Deal
The Bug Backpackers(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$ 47
US$ 35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 104
US$ 95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abelia Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$ 67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Almond House Backpackers(Nelson)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaches Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$ 91
US$ 85
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Joya Garden & Villa Studios(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$ 125
US$ 108
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
43
7
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
7
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet apartmentmarlborough winenew zealandgreat place to staymain bedroomhelpful hostsmin walksouth islandhenrycathedralalfieconveniencefridge
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2016

absolutely beautiful and quiet apartment with luxurious amenities in a very central location to restaurants, shops, etc. of Central Nelson, the hosts make you feel like coming home and provide you with any help you will ever need

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clkh2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

We had a fantastic time. Evie met us personally and not only show us around but also kindly make sure we have all we need. The apartment is clean and very comfortable for our family. The kitchen is fully functional. Parking is off the street but very safe and convenient. Highly recommended for family.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank Kikymaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016

We are on a month-long trip touring the North and South islands with our children - ages 8 and 11. This has been one of our favorite locations thus far - lots of light, very clean, modern and contemporary. Parking is very convenient as well. Evie and Henry were gracious hosts offering many suggestions as to our travels as well as a bit on the history of the area and country.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jcminneapolis14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Apartment 1 is an excellent apartment if you are looking for a central location just a lovely short stroll through the gardens to the city centre. Quiet, spacious and clean studio apartment, however it does not have any outlook or views. Evie & Henry are wonderful hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them during our stay

Room Tip: 1st floor apartment would have a view, ground floor does not
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2015 via mobile

Having written 91 Tripadvisor reviews we never thought we would have to write one so negative about accommodation in our home town.
We viewed 404 apartments back in April to rent for approx 6 months after we would be returning from a sabbatical overseas early October.
We informed Evie, the Owner we would like to rent the apartment and via email we confirmed dates and paid within 24 hours the requested $700 deposit.

During our time away in May we made one date change to our initial booking which was confirmed via email with no problems.

18 days out from returning to Nelson we emailed Evie to arrange key collection on arrival. She proceeded to tell us that there had been a double booking and we would have to move out for x2, 2night periods during our booking, one being New Years Eve.
Despite her offer to stay with her and her husband which was totally unacceptable we would have to move all our gear out not once but twice!!! We said this would be a huge inconvenience and we found it hard to believe you can double book when we had this booking confirmed in May not to mention she still had plenty of notice to inform the other parties.

We did reluctantly agree to this huge inconvenience stating we would find alternative accommodation for these x2, 2 night stays provided we could store our gear in the garage and have the rent adjusted accordingly.
At this stage the reply comes back that we never had a contract with her anyway (despite copies of all our emails and her holding $700 deposit) and maybe it would be best that we leave on December 30th.

Aaaaahhhhhh then the penny dropped.......

As 404 is rented out as both short term and longer term she had changed her mind and wanted to make more money over the busy Nelson summer period.

Needless to say we informed Evie we wouldn't be staying at all and had to scramble around last minute to find alternative accommodation for a 6 month stay in Nelson.

The Owner Evie is trying to get around the Residential Tenancy Act legislation. By that I mean she kept stating that we did not have a Contract with her, however under this legislation a negotiation has taken place which legally means an agreement is in place regarding dates and prices whether written contract or not.

So please in future don't try pull this swifty on anyone else and use this as an excuse.
Holiday makers/accommodation seekers be very careful that she may try this one on you.

Hey don't get me wrong the apartments are lovely and great location to town Centre and we were looking forward to staying there but do not trust these owners at all. It also looks like the previous trip advisor review also got to see their true colours!!!! However Evie did refund our $700 immediately which just showed she wanted to get rid of the long term booking!!!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank nomadicnevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henrybalfour, Owner at 404 on Trafalgar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2015

After ten years operations, with a huge variety of clients coming and going, this unusual Perfect Storm of a booking cock-up is highly regrettable. We initially tried to resolve, but there was already a strong under-current of Doom and no one went home happy as a result. I like Lynnie a great deal, I always have, since she was a great coach for our two daughters. Her review here seethes; I am so sad. It's true that this was a negative experience for all concerned .... amongst her honest revelation of her anger and frustration is also her honest opinion that apart from the dreadful hash that resulted from having multiple (seven) 'live' global internet booking systems that may over-ride date blocks, the actual apartments here are worth considering, and we 'usually' run guests bookings without this level of dislocation. Possibly one of the longest reviews on our page, and definitely a pay-back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews