We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly receptionist”
Review of Balmoral Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Balmoral Motel
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We needed one night accommodation in off peak season with two bedrooms. After enquiring at 3 motels who quoted outrageous prices, we came upon this more old fashioned but clean, spacious and completely adequate motel off the main road. Very impressed with value for money and the friendly receptionist.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel U, Owner at Balmoral Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you. It was a pleasure to have you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2017

All motel is very nice and you have here all you need include equipment in kitchen but! Never take the studio in the ground floor under the 1st floor it too noisy when other guest walks above you had.

Room Tip: separate room or 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel U, Owner at Balmoral Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Hi Lukas、
Thank you for your review. If you have a problem though, come and talk to me we are more than happy to move you to an upstairs room if you want to.
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

As a disclaimer I have to start out by saying it was raining and grey outside so I did not really see the colorful pool area at its best, as advertised on their web site. However, at US$130 a night this was the poorest value from my month long travel in New Zealand and Australia. Contrary to the imagine portrayed on line, the actual rooms are small, undecorated, uncomfortable, and reminded of the Bates Motel minus the shower curtain. It was clean. A very basic motel from the 1950’s. 60’s USA. This was a last minute choice since I had to re-route my trip to Nelson due to the road closing caused by the earthquake. Wi-Fi is limited to 2 pieces of equipment (hard for a modern couple). Nice people and cat at the reception who were helpful with finding a place to eat.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HelmutS2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel U, Owner at Balmoral Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

I am sorry you were unhappy with your stay. But just to set the record straight, we give wifi codes for as many devices as you have, if you had 10 devices we would give you 10. You just need to say. Also a studio is NZ$110 per night at this time of year, NZ$135 during peak season.
We are an older 3 star motel that prides itself on cleanliness and value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Good location near to the beach. Room was Well equipped with plenty of space and we were able to cook proper meals. We stayed on an extra night as it was so convenient to explore the area including Abel Tasman.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

When we read reviews about places to stay, we look for good comments about the people running the show. Rachel at the Balmoral got high approval rates, so we decided to spend our three nights in Nelson here. We were so pleased we did. You feel welcome from the get go and are treated royally throughout your stay. Her friendly cat even knows how to smooze. The pool is a bonus on a hot day. Our room was clean and modern.
Our only negative experience was our upstairs neighbours pounding the floor in the middle of the night and early morning two nights in a row.

Room Tip: Perhaps try to get an upstairs room so no one is walking over your head...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerrin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel U, Owner at Balmoral Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Thank you Kerrin, it was great to meet you both. I hope you can make it back to Nelson one day!













Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.8 km away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#18 of 41 in Nelson
95 reviews
3.5 km away
Mid City Motor Lodge
Mid City Motor Lodge
#32 of 41 in Nelson
1 reviews
1.1 km away
Greens Motel Nelson
Greens Motel Nelson
#33 of 41 in Nelson
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Urban Apartments
Urban Apartments
#35 of 41 in Nelson
23 reviews
0.3 km away
Beaches Nelson
Beaches Nelson
#16 of 41 in Nelson
69 reviews
0.4 km away
ASURE Fountain Resort Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balmoral Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmoral Motel

Address: 47 Muritai Street | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: ₹ 4,383 - ₹ 7,718 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balmoral Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Balmoral Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing