We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 39
US$ 21
Booking.com
View Deal
Chelsea Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$ 93
US$ 79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 96/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 115
US$ 105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delorenzos Studio Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$ 67
US$ 64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 76/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Bug Backpackers(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$ 41
US$ 33
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tasman Bay Backpackers(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$ 45
US$ 41
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbourside Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$ 109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Joya Garden & Villa Studios(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$ 93
US$ 85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nelson City TOP 10 Holiday Park(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$ 44
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
14
28
19
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
28
19
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriendly catthe kitchenupstairs roomthree nightswould stay here againroom was cleanrachelmotelbathroomhostsmugglersunitsmicrowavecafesnoiselaundry
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2017

All motel is very nice and you have here all you need include equipment in kitchen but! Never take the studio in the ground floor under the 1st floor it too noisy when other guest walks above you had.

Room Tip: separate room or 1st floor
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lukas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel U, Owner at Balmoral Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Hi Lukas、
Thank you for your review. If you have a problem though, come and talk to me we are more than happy to move you to an upstairs room if you want to.
Rachel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

As a disclaimer I have to start out by saying it was raining and grey outside so I did not really see the colorful pool area at its best, as advertised on their web site. However, at US$130 a night this was the poorest value from my month long travel in New Zealand and Australia. Contrary to the imagine portrayed on line, the actual rooms are small, undecorated, uncomfortable, and reminded of the Bates Motel minus the shower curtain. It was clean. A very basic motel from the 1950’s. 60’s USA. This was a last minute choice since I had to re-route my trip to Nelson due to the road closing caused by the earthquake. Wi-Fi is limited to 2 pieces of equipment (hard for a modern couple). Nice people and cat at the reception who were helpful with finding a place to eat.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HelmutS2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel U, Owner at Balmoral Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

I am sorry you were unhappy with your stay. But just to set the record straight, we give wifi codes for as many devices as you have, if you had 10 devices we would give you 10. You just need to say. Also a studio is NZ$110 per night at this time of year, NZ$135 during peak season.
We are an older 3 star motel that prides itself on cleanliness and value.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Good location near to the beach. Room was Well equipped with plenty of space and we were able to cook proper meals. We stayed on an extra night as it was so convenient to explore the area including Abel Tasman.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

When we read reviews about places to stay, we look for good comments about the people running the show. Rachel at the Balmoral got high approval rates, so we decided to spend our three nights in Nelson here. We were so pleased we did. You feel welcome from the get go and are treated royally throughout your stay. Her friendly cat even knows how to smooze. The pool is a bonus on a hot day. Our room was clean and modern.
Our only negative experience was our upstairs neighbours pounding the floor in the middle of the night and early morning two nights in a row.

Room Tip: Perhaps try to get an upstairs room so no one is walking over your head...
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerrin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel U, Owner at Balmoral Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Thank you Kerrin, it was great to meet you both. I hope you can make it back to Nelson one day!













Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We stayed here for three nights just recently. We pulled up outside and were quite worried as it's has a rather scruffy exterior as the gardens are rather unkempt.

The room however was older but had been redecorated really nicely. It had a few scuffs and scratches but it was really clean and spacious, the bed was new and was really comfortable, it had a large bathroom and the kitchen was well equipped. However, after the first night we noticed one BIG downside - noise between the rooms (as stated previously by others). Really, really bad.

I sleep through anything but, I could hear a man sniffing all night and clearing his throat, amongst other noises! I certainly don't recommend this motel for a romantic weekend away! It's a real shame, but for this fact alone I don't think that we would stay here again. 3 nights of noise from rooms on both sides of us and rooms above, was a little much. I wanted to turn the tv on early one morning but was aware that I would probably wake the inhabitants of 5 other rooms up, if i did.

That's possibly what you get from old motel rooms without modern wall insulation. Maybe the newer rooms are different.

Apart from that, great location, close to restaurants, close to the beach and well appointed rooms.

Room Tip: Maybe get a newer unit!
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lynette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews