We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old Country Pub”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed there recently whilst waiting for my flight back to Airport...Large comfortable room close to airport in Nelson..Had dinner and the food was excellent....pork belly for one of us and I had the best pie on a bed of mash with peas..next day only took a few minutes to get to airport..continental breakfast included

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017

Quaint English country pub style hotel. Friendly helpful staff who go out of their way to assist. Large, comfortable, clean room with mod-cons. Superb pressure in the shower. Great looking place with lovely food and good selection of beers.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mdburton67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We arrived at The Honest Lawyer and were very impressed by the look and presentation of the hotel. Guinness on tap was a bonus! The staff were fabulous.
We decided not to go in to Nelson for dinner but stay at the hotel. My partner had Pork Belly and says it was delicious. I had a seafood chowder and it was superb.
We went upstairs to get ready for bed as we had a heavy schedule the next day and that is where the problem was. What a noisy room! Room 5 above the door had no window seal and we heard every smoker and young 30 plus young persons conversation until 11pm. Interesting NOT! The talking was a real turn off. We also found planes a bit noisy.

Hey, put the smokers area away from accomodation and seal the windows. Then you will have us returning.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank pam255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Had a one night stay in this lovely place whilst on our two week holiday!
very comfy bed, period style accommodation, spacious shower, free wifi and onsite parking! love love love!
definitely worth a stay here if you would like a cozy, somewhere different whilst in the Nelson/Monaco area, would definitely recommend The Honest Lawyer Hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank erinc478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

We stayed at the Honest Lawyer over the weekend and we really love staying there. It has such wonderful character, very english in style and we were able to help ourselves to a continental breakfast which makes such a difference. It was quiet and our room had a gorgeous view out to the estuary. We will always come back and look forward to our next visit. Exellent room rate as well

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kiwitraveller722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 km away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
7.0 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
685 reviews
6.0 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#6 of 41 in Nelson
154 reviews
6.9 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
6.8 km away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#10 of 41 in Nelson
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Honest Lawyer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Honest Lawyer Hotel

Address: 1 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: ₹ 4,869 - ₹ 7,377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Honest Lawyer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unique establishment is an 'Olde Worlde' English Country Pub & Hotel situated on Nelson's Monaco Peninsula. Come and join us, relax, put your feet up and enjoy the true Honest Lawyer experience. Quench your thirst with a drink by the bar, or relish a hearty meal in our Restaurant and choose from an extensive range of wines and beers. You could choose to stay longer in our distinctive Hotel accommodation, decorated in English Country style. We also cater for Weddings, Conferences & Functions offering professional, efficient and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your The Honest Lawyer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing