We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
56
69
27
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
69
27
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pork belly guinness pie english country pub great pub food cottage rooms continental breakfast included seafood chowder period style english style fruit trees outdoor area cool place mod cons room was large guest laundry two nights minute drive
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Quaint English country pub style hotel. Friendly helpful staff who go out of their way to assist. Large, comfortable, clean room with mod-cons. Superb pressure in the shower. Great looking place with lovely food and good selection of beers.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We arrived at The Honest Lawyer and were very impressed by the look and presentation of the hotel. Guinness on tap was a bonus! The staff were fabulous.
We decided not to go in to Nelson for dinner but stay at the hotel. My partner had Pork Belly and says it was delicious. I had a seafood chowder and it was superb.
We went upstairs to get ready for bed as we had a heavy schedule the next day and that is where the problem was. What a noisy room! Room 5 above the door had no window seal and we heard every smoker and young 30 plus young persons conversation until 11pm. Interesting NOT! The talking was a real turn off. We also found planes a bit noisy.

Hey, put the smokers area away from accomodation and seal the windows. Then you will have us returning.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank pam255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Had a one night stay in this lovely place whilst on our two week holiday!
very comfy bed, period style accommodation, spacious shower, free wifi and onsite parking! love love love!
definitely worth a stay here if you would like a cozy, somewhere different whilst in the Nelson/Monaco area, would definitely recommend The Honest Lawyer Hotel!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank erinc478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

We stayed at the Honest Lawyer over the weekend and we really love staying there. It has such wonderful character, very english in style and we were able to help ourselves to a continental breakfast which makes such a difference. It was quiet and our room had a gorgeous view out to the estuary. We will always come back and look forward to our next visit. Exellent room rate as well

Room tip: Ask for a room with a view over the estuary
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kiwitraveller722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Very good pint of Guinness and nice seating outside, great in summer. Start of Monaco so great for a Sunday stroll before or after. Decor special and old english type style with photos and horse riding equipment on the pub walls.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ToniDowling88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews