We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Start with negatives-room above reception entrance with a bit of noise of leaving guests in early morning. As outlined above no wardrobe (we did not need a wardrobe as we are living out of a suitcase). Airport noise not a problem for us.
Room comfortable, clean and smells fresh. We stayed one night, arriving mid-afternoon. We had a lovely walk around point road speaking to locals along the way and had a fantastic meal at the hotel restaurant (Manager/head waiter was caring and very attentive despite being busy). Great value for money. A memorable stay and worth the detour from Picton before Blenheim.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room away from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Garyth0mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hi there Garyth0mas

Thanks for your review/feedback - you obviously stayed in one of our boutique hotel rooms, these rooms are ideal for a short 1 or 2 night stay, our corporate customers often enjoy these 19square meter rooms as they don't need to spread out. Our studio and cottage accommodation (50 and 80 sq meters) have a variety of facilities, wardrobes, separate living rooms, kitchenettes, fridges, washing machines etc.

It was great to read you found the room clean and comfortable. I was pleased to read that you got out and met some of the locals on the Monaco Peninsula, its a special little part of Nelson.

We are delighted that you enjoyed a great meal at our restaurant, The Monaco Kitchen, Tommy does an amazing job of looking after guests dining in the restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you visit Nelson.

Warm regards
Nick
On behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 45 of 972 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017

We booked this because we arrived late to Nelson from the airport. We enjoyed a quick meal and were delighted with our apartment. This is the kind of place a family could really use as a platform for visiting the entire region.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JRandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hi there JRandom

Thanks for your review/feedback. It was very pleasing to read that your last minute booking turned out to be such a positive experience.

As you say, we believe the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco is perfectly located for people wanting to explore the exciting Nelson/Tasman region and everything we have to offer. Out team at reception can assist guests to book a variety of day outings and activities, many of the local tourism operations will pick up visitors from here at the hotel.

We also have bicycles onsite for guests to hire to explore the Tasman Great Taste Trail which passes right in front of the hotel.

Once again, thanks for your review, we look forward to seeing you and your family back again in the future for a family holiday to our beautiful part of New Zealand.

Warm regards

Nick
On behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for two nights for a child free weekend. We were really impresses with our room. We had a two floor room with an amazing bathroom and very homely Lounge dining area. We loved the gas fire and the comfortable surroundings.
The furniture and layout also is very unique and the bed was very comfortable.
The staff were great and we also enjoyed eating in the restaurant both nights ( see my separate review)
Unfortunately it rained the entire weekend however we were able to borrow an umbrella and Lo up toke brewery for an awesome lunch.
We highly recommend this hotel and hope to visit again under better weather conditions.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KiwiDan-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hi there KiwiDan-75

Thanks for your review/feedback - sounds like you and your wife enjoyed a great weekend with us (sorry about the weather - it's just beyond our control)!

We're delighted you enjoyed your "child free" stay in one of our romantic cottage apartments, the gas fireplaces are a very cosy feature. It was very pleasing to read you enjoyed both nights dining in with us at The Monaco Kitchen, and a very nice lunch at our local, Cashins Brewery on Main Road Stoke.

We look forward to seeing you and your wife again sometime soon, perhaps the weather will cooperate and you'll be able to take advantage of our onsite bike hire and get out on the Tasman Great Taste Trail for a fun/romantic bike ride.

Warm regards
Nick
On behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

A nice hotel and reasonably priced however this hotel sits in the middle of a residential area near the airport and is not close to Neilson City. The restaurant was pleasant but very busy and I had a lengthy wait for service and food.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank kiwiboy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hi there kiwiboy2011

Thanks for your review/feedback, it's great to read you enjoyed the hotel, our restaurant (The Monaco Kitchen) and that you thought the hotel reasonably priced (we've had some really really sharp deals available in the market recently!)

As you mention, the hotel is approx. 9km from the Nelson city centre; guests can drive to the city through several residentials, or take the more scenic route along Rocks Road passing Tahunanui Beach and the port. Both routes take about 15 minutes to drive.

On the plus side, our location means we're right by the Waimea Inlet with terrific views of the Kahurangi Mountain range across the inlet. Our location is also useful for visiting attractions such as the World of Wearable Arts Museum, Pics Peanut butter (really interesting factory tours available), McCashins Brewery, and cycling the Tasman Great Taste Trail (to name just a few).

Once again, thanks for your review; we look forward to seeing you back again when you're next in Nelson.

Warm regards
Nick
On behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank U1599GBtimc
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
6.8 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
6.9 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 42 in Nelson
714 reviews
5.9 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 42 in Nelson
174 reviews
6.7 km away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#9 of 42 in Nelson
529 reviews
6.1 km away
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
#15 of 42 in Nelson
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments

Address: 6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nelson
#6 Business Hotel in Nelson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range: ₹ 5,429 - ₹ 10,859 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers luxury boutique accommodation by the water in Nelson, New Zealand. Located only about five minutes' drive from Nelson Airport and 15 minutes drive to the city centre. Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco offers well-appointed accommodation for up to 215 guests in boutique hotel rooms, along with a range of self-contained apartment accommodation including one-bedroom studios, one-bedroom spa cottages and two-bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Accorhotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments Hotel Richmond
Grand Accor Nelson Monaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing