We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,026)
Filter reviews
1,026 results
Traveller rating
467
388
105
42
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
467
388
105
42
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsenglish villagehonest lawyerbedroom cottageold englishonsite restaurantclose to the airportgas fireenglish stylewashing machinehotel roomthe cottagesgreat pubminute drivelounge areanew zealandlarge bathroomcomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 1,026 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We booked this because we arrived late to Nelson from the airport. We enjoyed a quick meal and were delighted with our apartment. This is the kind of place a family could really use as a platform for visiting the entire region.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JRandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Hi there JRandom

Thanks for your review/feedback. It was very pleasing to read that your last minute booking turned out to be such a positive experience.

As you say, we believe the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco is perfectly located for people wanting to explore the exciting Nelson/Tasman region and everything we have to offer. Out team at reception can assist guests to book a variety of day outings and activities, many of the local tourism operations will pick up visitors from here at the hotel.

We also have bicycles onsite for guests to hire to explore the Tasman Great Taste Trail which passes right in front of the hotel.

Once again, thanks for your review, we look forward to seeing you and your family back again in the future for a family holiday to our beautiful part of New Zealand.

Warm regards

Nick
On behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for two nights for a child free weekend. We were really impresses with our room. We had a two floor room with an amazing bathroom and very homely Lounge dining area. We loved the gas fire and the comfortable surroundings.
The furniture and layout also is very unique and the bed was very comfortable.
The staff were great and we also enjoyed eating in the restaurant both nights ( see my separate review)
Unfortunately it rained the entire weekend however we were able to borrow an umbrella and Lo up toke brewery for an awesome lunch.
We highly recommend this hotel and hope to visit again under better weather conditions.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KiwiDan-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hi there KiwiDan-75

Thanks for your review/feedback - sounds like you and your wife enjoyed a great weekend with us (sorry about the weather - it's just beyond our control)!

We're delighted you enjoyed your "child free" stay in one of our romantic cottage apartments, the gas fireplaces are a very cosy feature. It was very pleasing to read you enjoyed both nights dining in with us at The Monaco Kitchen, and a very nice lunch at our local, Cashins Brewery on Main Road Stoke.

We look forward to seeing you and your wife again sometime soon, perhaps the weather will cooperate and you'll be able to take advantage of our onsite bike hire and get out on the Tasman Great Taste Trail for a fun/romantic bike ride.

Warm regards
Nick
On behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

A nice hotel and reasonably priced however this hotel sits in the middle of a residential area near the airport and is not close to Neilson City. The restaurant was pleasant but very busy and I had a lengthy wait for service and food.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank kiwiboy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hi there kiwiboy2011

Thanks for your review/feedback, it's great to read you enjoyed the hotel, our restaurant (The Monaco Kitchen) and that you thought the hotel reasonably priced (we've had some really really sharp deals available in the market recently!)

As you mention, the hotel is approx. 9km from the Nelson city centre; guests can drive to the city through several residentials, or take the more scenic route along Rocks Road passing Tahunanui Beach and the port. Both routes take about 15 minutes to drive.

On the plus side, our location means we're right by the Waimea Inlet with terrific views of the Kahurangi Mountain range across the inlet. Our location is also useful for visiting attractions such as the World of Wearable Arts Museum, Pics Peanut butter (really interesting factory tours available), McCashins Brewery, and cycling the Tasman Great Taste Trail (to name just a few).

Once again, thanks for your review; we look forward to seeing you back again when you're next in Nelson.

Warm regards
Nick
On behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 September 2017

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews