We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of Eden Lodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oamaru
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eden Lodge
Ranked #20 of 28 Oamaru B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed at Eden Lodge for 2 nights and we were delighted with our accommodations and our host Ian Murton.
Eden Lodge is a graceful home full of carefully chosen antiques that are tastefully displayed. It is like stepping back into a bygone era but with all of the comforts of 21st century living.
Ian is a gracious and thoughtful host and very helpful with his local knowledge - from the best coffee destination in town to Jazz night at the Penguin Club. His special touches abound, from fresh flowers through out the house to cut crystal water glasses on a silver tray for water during the night. We were welcomed back home each time we arrived and always offered tea and a selection of fine biscuits. The Continental breakfast was extremely good with many choices and lashings of fresh fruit including the sweetest strawberries in November.
All in all a most enjoyable experience and I would not hesitate to recommend Eden Lodge as a most delightful place to stay.

Room Tip: With 10 rooms to choose from there is ample choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed at Eden Lodge during our recent trip to Oamaru; it had been recommended to us by family and we were not disappointed. The house is fantastic and quirky and Ian was incredibly hospitable. Tea was made available at all times of day and our breakfast was delicious. It is a great location near to the town centre and i'd certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the double ensuite room upstairs which was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank catherine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We have stayed in Eden Lodge 3 times and think it's a great place , friendly helpful owner, nice unsual house and very central to Oamaru.
Couldn't fault the service, breakfast and general ambience
Would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Ian was a friendly host who offered tea & coffee, was happy to share his knowledge and book a table at a restaurant for us. No shampoo was present in the bathroom but was made available on request. The house was very cold and our room smelled musty. We learned the other odour that permeated the house was Kerosine which Ian used for restoring furniture. B&B operators should never expose their guests to the odour of petroleum derivatives/products. The smell was extremely unpleasant so we skipped breakfast and left, never to return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Roy_Vasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

It's clean, comfortable and very friendly, plus it's reasonably priced, what more could you want. Ask, upon arrival, for breakfast at different time, it's no problem. Ask for towels and
room to be serviced daily, it' s no problem. The hospitality is second to none. A great place to stay, I certainly had one of the best holidays of my life. Recommended to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mo188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oamaru hotels
1.8 km away
Oamaru Motor Lodge
Oamaru Motor Lodge
#1 of 18 in Oamaru
183 reviews
0.4 km away
Bella Vista Motel Oamaru
0.7 km away
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
Highfield Mews, Oamaru
#2 of 18 in Oamaru
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 km away
The Mill House
The Mill House
#7 of 18 in Oamaru
36 reviews
0.7 km away
Midway Motel
Midway Motel
#6 of 18 in Oamaru
145 reviews
1.3 km away
ASURE Ambassador Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Lodge

Address: 39 Eden Street, Oamaru 9400, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Oamaru
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Oamaru
Price Range: ₹ 3,015 - ₹ 4,639 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to stay in the lovely renovated Eden lodge; a central yet peaceful 20 roomed Victorian Oamaru stone house, one of Oamarus earliest. The house retains the graciousness of a by- gone era while offering all modern comforts.Enjoy the unique spacious bedroom fulled with antique furniture and collectibles. Relax in the gardens, guest library or lounge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing