We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport
Nearby Hotels
US$ 173
US$ 121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 139
US$ 124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oakwood Manor(Mangere)
US$ 95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 166
US$ 137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 211
US$ 191
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 105
US$ 101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 90
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$ 109
US$ 101
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 119
US$ 115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,232)
Filter reviews
1,232 results
Traveller rating
304
598
224
62
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
304
598
224
62
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttleauckland airportone nightnext morningcomplimentary breakfastshuttle servicean overnight stayindustrial areaspa bathgood sizecar parkingthe ground floorearly flightlate checkafter midnightwake up callchecking in
Filter
Updating list...
447 - 452 of 1,232 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2015

We stayed here because of positive reviews we read - but those reviews were too kind. Honestly, the staff are friendly and attentive, however the hotel itself needs some TLC. The chairs in the lobby are so worn out, the color is off the leather/pleather material. We sat there and had cocktails before we turned in for the night. There is a lobby bar (no bar stools, you have to sit at the red chairs/tables in the lobby), there is a restaurant off the lobby (furniture there is in need of replacement as well), there was a small in-ground pool (outdoor) next to the driveway where you unload/load luggage from your car (awkward). The beds are extremely soft, draperies are old, the rooms are in need of updating. The bathroom is large, large shower area (no tub). There is an ironing board/iron, small refrigerator (hot pot, tea, coffee, glasses, mugs) desk to work at, slow Internet for free and you can pay $10 for faster speed. So, overall - decent price for the convenience (free shuttle service to airport), but this is not a "destination hotel" to spend more than a night!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank CheersAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhaa14, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2015

Its pleasing to hear such lovely comments about our team. The hotel prides itself on its ability to offer good service and making sure our guests have an enjoyable stay.
Your comments on our foyer furniture have not gone unnoticed and the hotel is currently working alongside our shareholders to address this along with some other changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2015 via mobile

Review from local Kiwi.
Daughter arrived from Sydney after midnight. We stayed at hotel for special mother/daughter time before she visited relatives.
We planned to have breakfast together prior to checkout but declined
Dreadful night's stay!
Bedroom with cockroaches, thick dust along carpet skirting by bed, offensive smell in bathroom on entering room, bath towel had brown stains, shower over narrow bath with no safety rails, noisey all night from buses arriving. 2013 similar reviews given but no changes made

One of the worst hotel stays I have had

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhaa14, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your concerns during your recent stays. Your comments have been shared with our Housekeeping and Maintenance Departments to follow up and rectify the issues raised.
The hotel appreciates your honest feedback and is continuously working hard to improve our standards offered to guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2015

This is a bit of a grotty hotel that I feel is very overpriced for what they charge. It has no redeeming features whatsoever. Its in an industrial area and the only real way to get to the airport is in the hotel organised shuttle. Even with that we were 20 minutes late.

I wouldnt stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sthpacificlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhaa14, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2015

Thank you for your feedback. The hotel is working alongside our shareholders to make improvements. Your comments have been acknowledged and the team will continue to work to improve our product offered

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2015 via mobile

We had adjoining rooms, the decor and furnishings were dated especially the red chairs in the entrance, the arm rests were all worn on nearly all the chairs, I wouldn't even have them in a room let alone at the entrance of your hotel, there was no Sky in the rooms and the wifi was terrible, location was close to the airport, which is about all that is going for this hotel, although I did not eat in the restaurant, so I'm not sure about the food, the restaurant actually looked like a back packers kitchen, very budget like, so it wasn't very inviting, that is why we didn't eat there. I will not be staying again.

Stayed: June 2015
Thank heather_mewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhaa14, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to offer some feedback for the hotel. To give you an update on what is happening at the hotel will give you some prospective of where we are is heading.
Our restaurant and lobby is also awaiting approval to replace our existing well worn furniture
The team appreciate your honesty and do hope you will reconsider and visit the hotel again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2015 via mobile

The rooms at this hotel are large, quiet and comfortable. I found the bed a little soft but still had a good sleep. They provide are range of toiletries in the bathroom and it is here I have a criticism. The shower is over the bath and the towel rail on the back wall so a manoeuvre is needed to grab your towel. However the bath us slippery when wet and there is no safety grab rail provided. Something they need to fix soon.

Breakfast is a good but simple affair and well priced. Overall a good stay and if they can fix the shower with a safety grab rail I'll stay again.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
Thank Lionel41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhaa14, General Manager at Heartland Hotel Auckland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2015

Thank you for your feedback. Our team will take this opportunity and explore your concerns and see what the best option are available which will best suit the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews