We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kaikoura Apartments
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay, apartments had every facility, we were able to wash and dry our clothes, ready for the next stop offs, where the facilities were nt so good! Would definitely return.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jill190872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    49
    7
    0
    6
See reviews for
157
145
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We stayed her just overnight on our honeymoon in NZ. It was a great little gem. The apartment was huge, really well priced and overlooked the water. It was recently furnished - everything was pretty much new and clean. The only slight drawback was the road noise was a little loud during the night as we were right on the road overlooking the water. But apart from that we were very happy with the friendly owners and a comfortable place to stay. Well worth it.

Room Tip: Might choose a room slight back from the road - you might lose a view, but its probably a bit of a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mezza76au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We had a great stay at 'Waves' Best apartment we rented in our months stay in NZ. Amenities second to none and helpfulness of the owners outstanding. Kaikoura is one of our memorable stays and would recommend it to others. Beautiful part of the world but imagine it to be quite busy in season.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We recently stayed at the Waves on the Esplanade. Liz & Damer were the perfect hosts. Damer showed us around the apartment which had stunning sea views. The apartment is super spacious and had beautiful finishes in both the kitchen and the bathrooms. The apartment was really luxury self-catering with everything we needed at a touch- e.g. dishwasher, washing machine. We told Liz & Damer beforehand that it is a romantic trip for us and we found a beautiful bunch of lilies and two lovely little, special pocket books wrapped up as a gift waiting for us in the apartment. This was a really nice touch to our stay.

The bed in the main bedroom was big and comfortable and we slept very well. Watching the sun rise on the balcony was worth getting up early for.

We would definitely recommend the Waves on Esplanade and our only regret is that we did not stay much longer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights. Apartment was lovely and extremely homely. Has a beautiful view from the apartments facing the ocean. The apartment was close to most shops and restaurants. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephmacmillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
0.0 km away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.4 km away
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
Kaikoura Boutique Hotel
#3 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.0 km away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge
1.5 km away
Kaikoura Top 10 Holiday Park
0.4 km away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaikoura Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaikoura Apartments

Property: Kaikoura Apartments
Address: 78 The Esplanade, Kaikoura 7301, New Zealand (Formerly Waves on the Esplanade Kaikoura)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kaikoura
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kaikoura
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kaikoura
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,611 - ₹ 15,071
Hotel Class:5 star — Kaikoura Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaikoura Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves On The Esplanade Kaikoura Hotel Kaikoura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing