We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to wait and hang out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Encounter

Cafe Encounter
Ranked #8 of 57 Restaurants in Kaikoura
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe open 0700 to 1700 does breakfasts, lunches afternoon teas. Phone 033196777
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place to wait and hang out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Cafe Encounter was a great place to wait for dolphin watchers to return and for having a bite before the action started. Good selection of food and drinks and right at the waterfront.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank DrKaefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cafe-Encounter1, Front Office Manager at Cafe Encounter, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Kia Ora! Thank you for your lovely response. Hope to see you again one day! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    114
    31
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibsons, Canada
Level Contributor
210 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

An outdoor cafe by the visitors center. Near the ocean.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank mellowjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not the best, but by far not the worst”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Had lunch there with my girlfriend after doing the Dolphin Encounter. Doing the Encounter also gives you vouchers for the restaurant on drinks, so it seemed like the thing to do. We where a bit surprised that the voucher means that you get 10% of drinks, which amounts to about 50c of a small soda. Having paid around 170 dollars for the encounter I had expected at least a free drink with my meal, but okay.

The food was good but not great. My friend had a salmon sandwich which she enjoyed, it came with a simple garden salat. I had the Cesar Salad which was okay. The ingredients where fresh, but it just lacked taste. For what you got I found it to be a tad overpriced, but again what cafe isn't? All in all it was okay and we left happy, but not completely satisfied.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StandStrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cafe-Encounter1, Manager at Cafe Encounter, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
We are constantly striving to maintain and improve customer satisfaction; so we really appreciate you taking the time to post feedback. We use Trip Advisor as our "mystery shopper" so all feedback received informs our business and employee development planning with thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vellinge, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food for a reasonably price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We did not really expect the food to be so good as this is a cafe that serves food in conjunction with you going on an encounter trip. But this Cafe serves food with very good quality, fresh and tasty. The place deserves a visit even though you are not going on an encounter. Can be highly recommended. Good service to.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lars F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cafe-Encounter1, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Encounter, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Thanks a lot for taking the time to write a review Lars - we're thrilled you enjoyed your visit! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“10 minutes wait for a take away coffee!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Lots of staff standing around and not doing anything, it was not busy so there was no need for the delay. Plus the owner/manager came in and told one staff to make two coffees for friends "who would be arriving soon" first, so while we had paid for two coffees we had to wait while the freebies were done first. $10.20 for two large coffees is expensive, and the coffees were burnt.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank stevenandresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cafe-Encounter1, Manager at Cafe Encounter, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
We are so dissappointed to receive this review and very sad to read your comments. We are very sorry that you feel you did not have a good experience when you visited us and wholeheartedly apologise for this.

We will always replace coffee that does not meet our customer's requirements and I am so sorry we were not aware of your concerns at the time to do this for you.

Feedback such as this is very unusual for us; and I do hope if you pass through Kaikoura again, that you will give us another try. We really appreciate you taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. All the team have really taken your comments to heart as our priorities here at Cafe Encounter are, and will always be good service, good food and good coffee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Encounter also viewed

Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Cafe Encounter? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing