We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Whales above

This is a slightly expensive but very good way of seeing large whales off the coast of Kaikoura... read more

Reviewed 19 April 2018
supertaf
,
Staines, United Kingdom
Incredible

Our whole experience with Kaikoura Helicopters was great, from the initial booking over the phone... read more

Reviewed 11 April 2018
chick-pea-222
,
Rotorua, New Zealand
Read all 122 reviews
  
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
101
12
4
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
12
4
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews helicopter flight whale watching paid nzd sperm whales worth every cent whole team new zealand awesome experience blue whale sea sickness aaron mount pilot tail surface boats coast
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 122 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

We went to book the Whale Watch cruise only to find they're fully booked weeks ahead. This is because post-earthquake they only have one boat sailing three times a day instead of six boats hourly.

Hence we opted for the helicopter tour and it's a great way to do it. They have up to the minute info on where the whales are and when they're due to surface and dive and then of course finding them in a helicopter is a lot easier. Post-earthquake they have to go much further out to find them.

I was lucky enough to spot one which they were very impressed with and we watched it on the surface for a few minutes before it dived down again. It was quite spectacular but it was the only one we saw. We didn't manage to see any dolphins or albatross.

We'd booked the 40 minute flight but only got 30-35 minutes in the air which was a bit disappointing. Nevertheless we thoroughly enjoyed it and were very glad we did it. You get such a great view of the whole area from up there.

Special mention too for the briefing which was very informative.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank phil100652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Thank you Pete for paying attention to the whales and their habits! We saw two sperm whales and had several minutes to take photos before they dived down again. Then the trip to Mount Fyffe was amazing, we could see all the way to the North Island. Really spectacular experience.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Jenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

I absolutely loved this experience and would recommend it to everyone. It was also cheaper than I had expected because I was able to jump in with another couple. The views of the Kaikoura peninsula are just breathtaking and the ariel view of the wales gives you a real sense of the sheer size of these amazing creatures.

10/10 Would definitely go again!

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Had intended to go whale watching by boat but it was full so looked further and saw the helicopter flight. I was a little dubious as it isn't cheap and I'm very scared off heights but Chelsea was very helpful and reassuring, explaining the whole process. Peter our pilot was very informative, they plot the whales movements so they can predict where they will surface next. We managed to see two sperm whales and a rare Southern Right whale. It was an amazing experience, worth every penny and absolutely made my holiday!

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank DaredevilMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

Myself and my two friends are from Ireland and we're spending our last day of holidays in kaikoura. We were leaving for the ferry in the afternoon so did not have much time in kaikoura! The boat would take too long and the airplane was too windy to go up on the tour. By chance we spotted the helicopter and decided to enquire if it would be able to take us up! No problem at all as the helicopter isn't affected as much by the wind. We opted for the 30 minute flight! We saw one sperm whale and two humpback whales and it was incredible! What an experience! Would recommend it over anything else there as it was jus the 3 of us and the pilot, and he finds the whales instantly! You get a proper look at how long they are from above it was just incredible

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank Una F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews