We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
44
7
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
7
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews host alison b and b farm stay pigs alpacas mountains accommodation tv internet
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2018

We stayed at the Awatea B&B in Kaikoura for one night at the end of our New Zealand roundtrip. Alison is a very friendly host who offers spacious, clean rooms and a delicious, rich breakfast. This B&B is like a little farm: pigs, chicken, horses, dogs, sheep, goats, lamas/alpakas... Very nice. Recommended!!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Birugito-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Definitely a farm stay with dogs, chickens, horses, pigs.... A super warm welcome from host Alison who is a character. Room was comfortable and clean and breakfast was excellent. A few kilometres out of Kaikoura but worth it for the farm ambiance

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzerain47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alimay47, Owner at Awatea Country Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We aim to provide a country experience for our guests and always enjoy hearing that the animals are a hit with them. We hope you will visit again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

We had the pleasure of a short stay with Alison while we were staying in Kaikoura working on the Kaikoura Lip Sync Show.
The accomodation was well setup and Alison's attention to detail was fantastic!
The good hearty breakfast gave us a good start to the day!
Thanks!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Jeremy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

An amazing place to stay. Allison was warm and welcoming and I felt at home the minute I got out of the car. Rooms were warm, spotless and spacious. Awesome breakfasts every morning with the best home made bread. I could have quite happily never left! I would go back to this place at the drop of a hat and recommend it to everyone

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliviaP1692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

This is a purpose built B & B which shows in the functionality of the rooms and the spacious guest lounge. But don't think that means it is a bland place. Far from it. Alison runs a welcoming we'll run establishment where people (and their animals) scone first. She has a wonderful menagerie of animals and I can imagine families with children would find this a fantastic place to stay as the children could spend hours watching the ducks, chooks, pigs and horses and playing with the bullet proof dogs! Alison is well connected to the Kaikoura community and gave us great ideas as to where to go for meals and sightseeing. Nothing was too much trouble for Alison and she made our stay easy and pleasant.

Room Tip: Pick a room with doors to the sunny courtyard and views to the mountains
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRD1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alimay47, Owner at Awatea Country Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We do try to make our guests' stays enjoyable. Helping folk with meal arrangements and sightseeing is a real joy, as I love Kaikoura, and being able to ensure that they see as much as they are able during their stay is a super feeling.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Awatea some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews