We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a lifetime experience! ”
Review of Wilderness Wings

Wilderness Wings
Ranked #1 of 6 Tours in Hokitika
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wilderness Wings invites you on a once in a lifetime New Zealand scenic flight experience. We are a premier operator of specialising in world class scenic flight tours and exceptional wilderness adventures throughout the beautiful alpine regions of the Southern Alps. Our highly experienced freindly pilots offer informed inflight commentary while you relax and enjoy breathtaking views of our highest peaks including Mt Cook and largest glaciers including Franz Josef and Fox glaciers. We operate all year from the beautiful town of Hokitika.
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

Just had the most amazing experience with Ben yesterday. It was a clear sunny morning and he flew us over Mount Cook and both Franz Josef and Fox Glaciers. The views were simply stunning and we got so close to Mount Cook it was almost unreal! Ben was very informative throughout the flight and was just such a pleasure to fly with - he made us feel so comfortable! Would highly recommend the Mount Cook and twin glacier flight to anyone who is visiting the region! The photos I have attached are just teasers of a much bigger experience on the real day.....

Date of experience: December 2017
2  Thank dipzter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mount cook"
in 15 reviews
"scenic flight"
in 9 reviews
"wings"
in 18 reviews
"southern alps"
in 12 reviews
"great commentary"
in 3 reviews
"franz josef and fox glaciers"
in 3 reviews
"poor weather"
in 2 reviews
"small aircraft"
in 2 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 4 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 3 reviews
"new zealand"
in 11 reviews
"cancelled due"
in 2 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 2 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 2 reviews
"pilot"
in 20 reviews
"ben"
in 62 reviews
"scenery"
in 8 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

Had an amazing flight with the very capable Ben to Mount Cook. Breathtaking views. Flew close to so many high peaks and right over Franz Josef and Fox glaciers. Ben gives great commentary and is an awesome pilot. This was our big adventure this holiday and it was just an incredible experience

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank EnglandMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

I was a very, very nervous passenger. And sadly the day we booked had to be cancelled due to poor weather.
The next day was glorious, and we were rebooked.
I was very , very nervous about doing this flight. But from the moment we met Ben, those nerves disappeared. He is calm, yet enthusiastic, and I definitely felt reassured.
I'm so glad we did this flight. We saw everything from coastal farms, to snow covered mtns, glaciers, frozen lakes, and even our accommodation!!
Words can't describe how amazing it is to fly over these alps, which are otherwise inaccessible,. and can only be seen from the air.
This was definitely a highlight of our NZ holiday.
If I could do this and love the splendour, anyone can.
Thank you, Ben.

Date of experience: October 2017
2  Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

We visited hokitika and were recommended Wilderness Wings by someone we met at a craft market!
It was a great recommendation.

We called up and talked to Sam (great guy) who was really accommodating of our time schedule - he added a 6pm flight just for us at no extra charge!

Flight was just perfect. Such totally amazing views and Sam is so so knowledgeable and a really nice guy.
We will have amazing memories forever so it was worth every single penny.

I can't recommend this company enough.
We have since done other flight tours in other areas and none were as good as this.

Just book it! You'll love it!

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank Catherine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Clear and interesting comments by a very nice operator.
Very good pilot, no shake and sweet landing.
You will feel safety above the mountains.
A little more expensive than others company but you won't regret.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank AMANDINE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wilderness Wings also viewed

Hokitika, West Coast Region
Hokitika, West Coast Region
 
Hokitika, West Coast Region
Hokitika, West Coast Region
 

Been to Wilderness Wings? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing