We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
279
40
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
40
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool tablehistoric housegreat cookgold roomnew zealandlolly cakegames roomtutukaka coastdelicious dinnergreen roomtoll roadoriginal featuresthe main housemodern amenitiesguest loungehome cooked mealown transport
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2017

We stayed for just one night on our way north, but we could have stayed longer! The room (or actually two rooms) was big and clean.
We had read that Andy, the host, is a wonderful cook, so we decided to have dinner when we arrived. Both the lamb my husband had, and the terakihi I had were wonderful. Try the crème brulée for dessert!
And the breakfast is good!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lilpia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We stayed in the self-contained accommodation and it was excellent. Really spacious, very nice design and facilities. Great for families, the kids stayed upstairs and we had our own accommodation downstairs. Plenty of outdoor space, animals for the kids, a games room and Andy made a delicious breakfast. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Great for families in the self contained accommodation
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andrewmauricem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We managed to secure our booking with Host Andy only a few days before our stay, and he was super helpful right from the beginning. Thank you for making our stay as wonderful as it was!

We arrived during dinner time and Andy was really helpful in showing us around and making sure we had everything we needed.

The rooms were well decorated, clean and comfortable. And the lodge itself is situated on a beautiful piece of land, with friendly cows, and a bountiful fruit orchard. We thoroughly found it a relaxing and enjoyable stay, and felt refreshed and rejuvenated when we left. The gourmet breakfast was also a great touch to our stay.

Highly recommend this place! And we will be sure to be back again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Host Andy was very welcoming in spite of our late arrival. He was a mine of information about the locality. A great start to our NZ holiday. A lovely room, set in beautiful grounds, and great food at breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

So I was a bit nervous when I saw our inn was not in town and was set among the fields. Turns out, Lupton Lodge is an absolute stunner. Huge rooms, 12 foot ceilings, hard wood floors, lovely antique but not fussy furnishings, great bed and linens and what appears to be freshly painted walls and trim with all the conveniences you want (except screens on the windows). It is like something you would see in Architectural Digest magazine. Don't miss breakfast as Andy is a great cook. And, it's not very far into town after all.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews