We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best dinner you will eat in NZ and an amazing lodge!”
Review of Lupton Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lupton Lodge
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2017

We stayed here for one night and wish we could have stayed for longer. The Purple Room is amazing with plenty of charm and privacy, modern amenities, and the biggest bathroom you will ever see. Just for the room alone, this hotel is a must stay in Whangarei.

However, if you have the chance to eat dinner here -- do it! Go out of your way to do it if you have to because it was by far the best meal we had in NZ. It is probably one of the best meals we have had -- ever! One of the owners cooks the dinners to order and not only is the seating area the perfect atmosphere for the location, but the food is exceptional. Definite must!

Room Tip: If you can spend a bit more, the Purple Room is absolutely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelgalsfbayarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2017

We stayed for just one night on our way north, but we could have stayed longer! The room (or actually two rooms) was big and clean.
We had read that Andy, the host, is a wonderful cook, so we decided to have dinner when we arrived. Both the lamb my husband had, and the terakihi I had were wonderful. Try the crème brulée for dessert!
And the breakfast is good!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lilpia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We stayed in the self-contained accommodation and it was excellent. Really spacious, very nice design and facilities. Great for families, the kids stayed upstairs and we had our own accommodation downstairs. Plenty of outdoor space, animals for the kids, a games room and Andy made a delicious breakfast. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Great for families in the self contained accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank andrewmauricem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We managed to secure our booking with Host Andy only a few days before our stay, and he was super helpful right from the beginning. Thank you for making our stay as wonderful as it was!

We arrived during dinner time and Andy was really helpful in showing us around and making sure we had everything we needed.

The rooms were well decorated, clean and comfortable. And the lodge itself is situated on a beautiful piece of land, with friendly cows, and a bountiful fruit orchard. We thoroughly found it a relaxing and enjoyable stay, and felt refreshed and rejuvenated when we left. The gourmet breakfast was also a great touch to our stay.

Highly recommend this place! And we will be sure to be back again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Host Andy was very welcoming in spite of our late arrival. He was a mine of information about the locality. A great start to our NZ holiday. A lovely room, set in beautiful grounds, and great food at breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangarei
14.9 km away
Pacific Rendezvous
Pacific Rendezvous
#1 of 3 in Tutukaka
650 reviews
10.8 km away
Comfort Hotel Flames Whangarei
8.7 km away
Distinction Whangarei Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Discovery Settlers Hotel Whangarei
7.4 km away
Kingswood Manor Motel
Kingswood Manor Motel
#7 of 34 in Whangarei
55 reviews
10.0 km away
Lodge Bordeaux
Lodge Bordeaux
#2 of 34 in Whangarei
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lupton Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lupton Lodge

Address: 555 Ngunguru Road | Glenbervie, Whangarei 0173, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Whangarei
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whangarei
Price Range: ₹ 6,762 - ₹ 13,477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lupton Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be inspired. Stunning boutique accommodation located only 10 minutes drive from the spectacular Tutukaka Coast and Whangarei city centre shops and restaurants. Stylish ensuite rooms, gourmet breakfast & free wireless internet. We offer a relaxed atmosphere and extensive facilities including: mature dry-stone walled gardens, pool, guest-only dining room for restaurant-style meals (dinner on request), lounge with pool table and DVD library. The rooms are in a category II listed historic villa and a modern converted barn. Each room is designed for privacy and comfort with contemporary uncomplicated decor, ensuite bathroom, comfortable queen or king beds, bathrobes, 32" flat-screen TV, DVD player, Freeview, heat-pump/air-con and tea/coffee. The rooms are intimate yet spacious. In keeping with a boutique hotel, the rooms are located in guest only buildings, separate from the owners accommodation. The villa rooms have rich wall colours, high ceilings, sash windows and polished Kauri floors. The villa has 3 double ensuite rooms including a suite (which can sleep up to 3 persons). The renovated barn includes a stunning ensuite room upstairs with apex ceilings. Downstairs is a large studio with kitchenette & bi-fold doors opening to a patio/BBQ area. These can be individual rooms or a 2-bedroom apartment with an interconnecting door. Enjoy the many local attractions or just sit back and unwind. 5 mins from Whangarei Falls, 1 hour to the Bay of Islands and 2 hours north of Auckland - ideal for exploring Northland and as your first or last stop in NZ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lupton Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lupton Lodge Whangarei, North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing