We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
7
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2010

A delightfully appointed quiet room in a newly built farmhouse set in the middle of open farmland.
Sam is a great host and her offer of home cooked evening meal with wine is to be recommended. On our next trip to New Zealand Riverdale will be on our list of visits

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank doris2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2009

We came across Riverdale by chance and were slightly worried about its location, being so far out in the countryside. However, we needn't have bothered as it was absolutely gorgeous and as well an abundance of birdlife, there was also her cows that followed you on walks around the farm.
Sam was a wonderful hostess and made us feel exceptionally welcome. During the first stay we stayed at Cabbage Cottage; a self contained apartment containing absolutely everything we needed. Also included were basis provisions, pasta, rice, cereal as well as milk, bread and some lovely homemade jam and marmalade. We felt that Sam had really gone that extra mile to make her guests feel at home. She also had a wealth of knowledge of things to do and places to go in and around the area, including a walk to a truly special chapel and adjoining waterfall - an absolute must. Cabbage Cottage offered really good value for money
We so enjoyed our stay there that we returned on our trip back down south and stayed in the Farmhouse this time. The bedroom was right out of Country Homes, very tasteful and sumptuous and again good value for money.
I would recommend either of the places at Riverdale Farm. It was truly a wonderful place to stay and one to which we will return on our next visit to New Zealand.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aged_Travellers_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We were warmly greeted upon arrival with hot cookies and tea and a lovely chat with Samantha. Her home is a beautiful French style home and is very roomy and well appointed. Our bedroom was large and very nicely decorated with a big comfortable bed and lovely linens. Our bathroom was large and well appointed as well. We enjoyed the large lounge with a roaring fire.
Samantha told us of a wonderful walk to an amazing chapel built by locals and renowned architects that is within an easy walk through her pasture, over her bridge along grazing cows and along side a lovely river. It made for a treasured memory, there's more to it than that but I won't spoil it for you, you'll have to experience it.
Our breakfast was very delicious and generous.
Samantha was very kind, helpful and a very caring hostess.
I would definitely recommend Riverdale Farm Bed and Breakfast and sure hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DogandParents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

We stayed one night in the Cabbage Tree cottage on 29th May 2009 :) As this is a really fantastic place to stay, I'm reviewing it the minute I'm back home :)
It's really a home away from home for us. The cottage was so cosy and had everything we need to be very comfortable :) There's a well-stocked kitchen (with bread, cornflakes, muesli, jam, butter, milk for breakfast, all the pots, pans, utensils you will need), a nice double bed, bathroom, reading area with heater, CD player, wide range of CDs, 2 large armchairs, a bookrack with wide selection of books. (if you start a book and cant finish it, you can bring it home!) We were really impressed with the attention to details.
The surroundings around the cottage was so quiet, so peaceful, so beautiful. Took a walk during sunset and I really fell in love with the place :) I wish I could stay longer :) this is the place to go to anytime for a break away from the city. You will feel so at peace here :) It's really the place to slow down and smell the roses :)
Thanks, Samatha for a lovely stay :)

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joie-Spore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

Stayed a couple of nights in The Cabbage Tree room. Received a lovely warm welcome and enjoyed comfortable surroundings and beautiful countryside. If in this part of the world, would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbots_Langley09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews