We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B”
Review of Cotswold Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cotswold Cottage
Ranked #1 of 13 Thames B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2017

We have stayed here several times and enjoy it each time. There are three different rooms so it is nice to go back and sample what each different room has to offer. Quiet and beautiful location. We were there during a cyclone and the hosts were so helpful in finding out about road conditions etc. Lovely cozy place.

Room Tip: Each room good for its own reason. Nice to try again and again over time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank redsuze2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotCot2014, Owner at Cotswold Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Gosh, I think that period will be etched in peoples' memories for a long time. It's good that you were able to make the most of things despite the weather, and we are pleased that we made things comfortable during your stay. Don't let it put you off for another visit! Thanks for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2017

We we're staying for two nights at the end of march 2017 at this place. It was very beautiful in spite of the bad weather (we had much rain). The Hosts, Adrienne and Garth, we're so nice ans helped us feeling like at home!!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stefan817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotCot2014, Owner at Cotswold Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Thank you for your positive review, considering the terrible weather while you were here. We're glad you felt comfortable here. Hope you went on to experience better weather after your stay in Thames! A good reason to return to NZ some time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

A very comfortable bed-and-breakfast in a beautiful location on the outskirts of one of New Zealand's oldest towns. The host had an excellent suggestion for dinner (Grahamstown Bar & Diner) and some good ideas for our drive around the Coromandel peninsula, and he produced a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotCot2014, Owner at Cotswold Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. Glad you enjoyed your time here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

We booked this property in Thames on our way to visit the Coromandel peninsula. Our stay was great, as the room was comfortable, with many extra touches that added pleasure to the stay. In the morning we were surprised even more, as the breakfast offered was a gourmet meal that included mostly home-made items. The quality and presentation was at par with fancy Parisian restaurants and cafe's.
We recommend this property without any hesitation.
The hosts were very attentive and pleasant. We did have a very pleasant stay.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Aldo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotCot2014, Owner at Cotswold Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Thank you Aldo. We feel very flattered to be compared to a Parisian cafe! Reviews like this make us glad that we do what we do. It was a pleasure having the two of you here, and we welcome you back any time. I'm still feeling cross that NZ Post couldn't manage top deliver your charger within the 9 days we allowed!! Hopefully it found you and you can use it again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Adrienne and Garth are wonderful hosts. They offer great local touring advice and provide an amazing hot breakfast. Their immaculate home's elevated location overlooking the countryside is delightful. An outstanding accommodation.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank leh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotCot2014, Owner at Cotswold Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Thank you so much Laurel. We loved having you here, and look forward to seeing you back this way one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
2 km away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
105 reviews
39.2 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
521 reviews
1.5 km away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Coastal Motor Lodge
Coastal Motor Lodge
#3 of 11 in Thames
147 reviews
3.2 km away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
123 reviews
22.4 km away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Cottage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Cottage

Address: 46 Maramarahi Road | Totara, Thames 3578, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price Range: ₹ 7,842 - ₹ 10,255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cotswold Cottage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Cottage is a historic 1920 villa just one hour from Auckland airport. Gorgeous views of the river, mountains, valley and the sea in the distance. Complimentary afternoon tea on arrival. Continental and cooked breakfast. Free wifi. Spa pool and guest BBQ. Guest rooms all have private access opening on to a sunny terrace. Toiletries, hair drier, bath towels, TV, electric blankets, heater, tea and coffee making facilities in each room. Dinner can be provided by prior arrangement. Well situated for a quick trip from Auckland airport, and driving around the Coromandel Peninsula - close to Bay of Plenty and Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and HostelWorld so you can book your Cotswold Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Cottage Hotel Thames
Cotswold Cottage Thames, Coromandel Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing