We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
158
12
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
12
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconescoromandel peninsularoom was beautifully decoratedb and bbreakfast was deliciousadded pleasureroad conditionsour stay was greathelpful hostsstayed longernew zealandbed and breakfaststay there againthe riverlovely gardenspent one nighthome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2017

We we're staying for two nights at the end of march 2017 at this place. It was very beautiful in spite of the bad weather (we had much rain). The Hosts, Adrienne and Garth, we're so nice ans helped us feeling like at home!!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stefan817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotCot2014, Owner at Cotswold Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Thank you for your positive review, considering the terrible weather while you were here. We're glad you felt comfortable here. Hope you went on to experience better weather after your stay in Thames! A good reason to return to NZ some time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

A very comfortable bed-and-breakfast in a beautiful location on the outskirts of one of New Zealand's oldest towns. The host had an excellent suggestion for dinner (Grahamstown Bar & Diner) and some good ideas for our drive around the Coromandel peninsula, and he produced a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotCot2014, Owner at Cotswold Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. Glad you enjoyed your time here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

We booked this property in Thames on our way to visit the Coromandel peninsula. Our stay was great, as the room was comfortable, with many extra touches that added pleasure to the stay. In the morning we were surprised even more, as the breakfast offered was a gourmet meal that included mostly home-made items. The quality and presentation was at par with fancy Parisian restaurants and cafe's.
We recommend this property without any hesitation.
The hosts were very attentive and pleasant. We did have a very pleasant stay.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Aldo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotCot2014, Owner at Cotswold Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Thank you Aldo. We feel very flattered to be compared to a Parisian cafe! Reviews like this make us glad that we do what we do. It was a pleasure having the two of you here, and we welcome you back any time. I'm still feeling cross that NZ Post couldn't manage top deliver your charger within the 9 days we allowed!! Hopefully it found you and you can use it again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Adrienne and Garth are wonderful hosts. They offer great local touring advice and provide an amazing hot breakfast. Their immaculate home's elevated location overlooking the countryside is delightful. An outstanding accommodation.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank leh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotCot2014, Owner at Cotswold Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Thank you so much Laurel. We loved having you here, and look forward to seeing you back this way one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Garth and Adrienne made us feel so welcome it was like a home from home. Our room, Neatherwood Suite, was better than many of the top class hotels we stayed in during our recent tour of New Zealand. It had the added advantage of the personal touch brought by our charming hosts.
Breakfasts were a delight and the help and advice on local amenities was excellent. They even gave us a spade and towels for our visit to Hot Water Beach!
We cannot praise this wonderful sanctuary highly enough. Thank you so much for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 524seanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotCot2014, Owner at Cotswold Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Such a great review - thank you. It really is so easy for us, with the guests who come here. Always a great pleasure. Would love to see you down this way again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews