We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too dearly priced and noisy to recommend...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thorold Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thorold Country House
Ranked #6 of 14 Thames B&B and Inns
washington state
Level Contributor
199 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Too dearly priced and noisy to recommend...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We were grateful to be allowed early check in after arriving in NZ just that day it was quite kind. The place is in a lovely setting but you can hear road noises from the road below and the pool although relaxing to look at is nothing I'd want to swim in. It was unheated and not very clean.

The accommodations were clean but overpriced. The bed was great as was breakfast. There is a two night minimum and we were told the rooms were booked and all that was available was the higher priced cottage. We stayed there only to discover the next day we were the only guests as they were doing some renovations. The hosts were helpful about the area, one was born in NZ, and the other a recent immigrant from the UK.

Their ad said they accept VISA but in actuality they are not set up do so. We had to go into town and go to a bank to get cash at a cost a $30 NZD and over a half hour. They tried to tell me they were a small operation but I found this to be very strange, especially since they hadn't informed us of this AND had accepted a credit card as a nonrefundable deposit. I made my opinion clear it wasn't very business like and they pleaded they were a small operation.

Overall it was okay but overpriced and not a place I would recommend due to the road noise and their approach to payment that seemed quite less than professional in the year 2011. An inconvenience such as this unexpected on your way to start a new day in a new place left a bad taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4oystercatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lewisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

A very nice experience. One of our highlights was feeding the sheep one evening with Gary and hearing his stories about how they were named. My only complaint is not having a coffee pot in the room - but even that was taken care of by Gary. He made sure we had plenty of coffee. The house is in a beautiful and relaxing setting and we really enjoyed our visit and heartily recommend Thorold House!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

THOROLD COUNTRY HOUSE—THAMES, NZ
The setting and generous hospitality of our hosts, Wendy and Gary, far exceeded our expectations. The area surrounding the house is beautiful, and our accommodations were spacious, tastefully decorated and very comfortable with a private entrance. Our delicious breakfasts were served in a delightful garden. Our host, knowing of our interest in farming and of our farm background, volunteered over 2 hours of his time to drive us to their large dairy cow operation and discuss details of mutual interest. It was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Further, on the first morning our hosts had a surprise card and gift at the breakfast table to celebrate my birthday.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claudiahenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

I have stayed in several B&B's in New Zealand on various visits but nothing compares with the wonderful hospitality offered by Wendy and Gary at Thorold House near Thames. Unfortunately we were only able to spend 4 nights here at the end of our trip but wished we could have stayed for ever ! Wendy's home made marmalade is absolutely delicious and the lovely daily breakfast by the pool was an experience to remember !
From Thorold House you can easily reach all the beautiful beaches in the Coromandel Peninsular . The roads are almost deserted and the scenery breathtaking .It is also worth mentioning the tasty vegetarian cafe in Thames and the fantastic hot pool at nearby Miranda , both worth a visit ( or 2 ! )
For anyone planning a trip to the Coromandel area I would highly recommend Thorold Country House as a place to stay .Like us, you will be reluctant to leave !

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miranda98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

I loved everything about Thorold House! The hosts Wendy and Gary were so welcoming right from the start and helped make our stay so special. The breakfasts were one of the best I have ever had and having it served in the beautiful garden by the pool all added to the experience! The accommodation was very clean and the setting very tranquil. I am a frequent visitor to New Zealand from England and this was probably my favourite place to stay so far. Highly recommended if you want total relaxation with great hosts in a peaceful setting. Will definitely be back next time I am in New Zealand!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samba01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Thames hotels
4.5 km away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
4.8 km away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
2.8 km away
Cotswold Cottage
Cotswold Cottage
#1 of 14 in Thames
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 km away
Miranda Holiday Park
Miranda Holiday Park
#1 of 11 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
14.1 km away
Pohutukawa Coast Bed & Breakfast
8.6 km away
Coastal Motor Lodge
Coastal Motor Lodge
#3 of 11 in Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorold Country House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorold Country House

Property: Thorold Country House
Address: 36 Ngati Maru Highway | Kopu, Thames 3578, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,758 - ₹ 9,542
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our private, peaceful country home is ideally situated on 6 acres near to Thames, Coromandel Peninsula. Luxury guest rooms (two in the self contained garden cottage, two in guest wing of main house)all open onto wide private verandas. Relax by the secluded swimming pool set in subtropical garden. Grass tennis court. Full breakfast, special diets catered for. Free Wifi. Free undercover parking. Minutes from Coromandel activities, walks, beaches, tennis, golf, forests, fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thorold Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorold Country House Thames, Coromandel Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing