We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent central city location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent central city location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

I was in Palmerston North for one night to visit family and found the Travelodge location great. There is secure undercover parking, and then the city is an easy walk to restaurants, shops etc. I was fortunate to get a last-minute-rate that was a real bonus.
The room had a queen size bed, a desk, sofa and separate bathroom with a shower over the bath. It was clean and well stocked and quiet even though it backs out onto a main street.
I did not try out the restaurant downstairs so cannot comment.
The check in was easy and trouble free.
This is not a luxurious hotel, but is fine for short stays and in a great location that is central but not noisy. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiwithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAtkinson090, Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
The team at Travelodge Hotel are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. You are right the location is great, such an easy walk to the lovely George Street and the city centre. Do look out for future specials – staying in touch with us via our Facebook page can be a great way keeping up to date also.


Kind regards

Kara Atkinson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    139
    70
    15
    7
See reviews for
50
92
19
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
119 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

I've been to Parmerston North for business and the hotel was booked by ny business partners. I have no idea if the hotel is in the center or not but there are several pubs and bars around. Anyway its not a decent district.

The staff was very helpful and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. no special decoration but its more than a business traveller expects. The only complaint can be the room temperature. It was cold as 19C and the aircon was not enough to heat up the room.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meetjoeblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAtkinson090, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at the hotel.

It is a shame that you did not enjoy the central location the hotel boasts – I am a little surprised that you opinion about the surrounding area, the only bar in the area is owned by and adjacent to the hotel and is certainly of a very high standard. The lovely George Street is also very close proximity however that only has well sought after boutique stores (great shopping!) and very well regarded cafes and restaurants.

I am very pleased that you did enjoy our team and rooms – they are both a real credit to our hotel.

Kind regards

Kara Atkinson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Stayed one night in the Travelodge Palmerston North. I managed to secure a very good last minute rate. I was so pleasantly surprised that from check in to check out, the service was fantastic, the rooms where super clean and fresh and the hotel itself had a fabulous location. Having stayed in the Kingsgate Palmerston North previously, I wasn't expecting much from a Palmerston North hotel but I was very surprised and would happily recommend Travelodge to anybody.

The only let down was that I arrived at the hotel at approx 1:30am after being out in Palmerston North and the nightbell buzzer wasn't working. I had forgotten my access card and the only way I gained access was by luck that another guest arrived at the same time and let me in. I questioned the receptionist when he gave me a new card and he told me it hadn't been working in years. To me this is simply not good enough and should have been resolved as soon as it was discovered it wasn't working as a matter of security. This is the one thing that made my overall rating "very good" instead of "excellent". Other than this my stay was great.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank realaucklander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAtkinson090, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at the hotel.

I am very pleased that you did enjoy our team, rooms and facilities, we are very proud to have such great feedback from guests like yourselves. The issue you encountered with being able to access the hotel at such an early time of the morning has been resolved. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered.

Kind regards

Kara Atkinson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

I used to live around the corner from the Travelodge, actually watched it being built, but for obvious reasons never got to stay there. I recently paid a visit to Palmerston North and was able to get a good rate on the Travelodge: I was very happy with the experience of staying here. The check in was friendly, the wee bar area off to the side was warm and had Becks on tap, and the room was very good - clean, decently sized, with a good sized desk area. As I didn't have the problems the previous reviewer had with the TV, I presume I stayed after they were replaced. The hotel is on Cuba Street so it is only a short walk to the cafes on George Street and, once there, you're only a block from the Square.

The only slight downside, and its more of this being a hotel in Palmerston North than the hotel itself, is that the views are almost guaranteed to be uninspiring. But, hey, with a nice warm, clean hotel room does that matter?

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAtkinson090, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at the hotel, and that after seeing the hotel being built, you had opportunity to come and stay!

I am very pleased that you did enjoy our team, rooms and bar one7five – you are correct, it is a lovely bar. We are very proud to have such great feedback from guests, especially from those returning to Palmy to enjoy the city and all it has to offer. You are absolutely correct, the TVs and receiver have all been upgraded away from the old analogue system and now is completely digital with flat screen televisions.

Welcome back anytime!

Kind regards

Kara Atkinson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

As our son lives in Palmerston North, we stay often and have always been happy with this hotel. However, after our latest visit, we received a Visa bill for $4 for peanuts from the mini-bar, which we did not consume. We wrote to the hotel and explained we did not remove peanuts from the mini-bar. They did not even reply. Out of principle, we wont be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 420Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAtkinson090, General Manager at Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the hotel. I appreciate the time you have taken.

I am genuinely concerned regarding the feedback about the peanuts and would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you to - and certainly credit back the peanuts! Unfortunately the system appears to have broken down in this instance and your email has not reached me, however I am very happy to rectify this for you, please do contact me directly and personally at the hotel.

Kind regards

Kara Atkinson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.8 km away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#9 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.8 km away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.8 km away
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
Aubyn Court Spa Motel
#3 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.1 km away
Harringtons Motor Lodge
Harringtons Motor Lodge
#7 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre

Property: Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Address: 175 Cuba Street | PO Box 5383, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand (Formerly Travelodge Palmerston North)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palmerston North
#4 Business Hotel in Palmerston North
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,438 - ₹ 8,739
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, well appointed 4 star hotel in the hub of the CBD a few minutes walk from cafes, shops, theatres, the museum and convention centre. 85 Guest rooms with free unlimited Wifi, air-conditioning, iron & ironing board, fridge, tea / coffee making facilities. Free on-site parking. Accessible rooms and spa suite ideal for honeymooners. On-site restaurant and bars. Large functions & conference venue for up to 500 delegates & weddings for up to 300 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Palmerston North Hotel Palmerston North
Novotel Palmerston North
Palmerston North Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing