We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Sports Team” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penny's Accommodation

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Penny's Accommodation
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
1 review
“Sports Team”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I had a group of 19 stay at Civello and it was ideal. We had the main block and the men in our group all stayed comfortably upsatirs while the women were downstairs. The management group were friendly and accommodating and helped us to play to our potential.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

Hans looked after me and my friends well, and even allowed us to use the kitchen past opening hours. The kitchen was well equipped and clean. There was also free WIFI (the hours of use are limited though, but connection is good).

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PseudoSmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

lovely flat/unit at back of property. well equipped with cooking facilities and utensils.
lovely big bathroom and toilet. only down ti this place was the tv which had indoor rabbit ears no sky. and reception not to good.
Host was a lovely gent who made us welcome even pointing out a grapefruit tree and telling us to help ourselves. heaps of parking and a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Has lodge type accommodation with share facitities or units that are self contained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank switchie_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We are bagpackers, travelling North & South Island, bagpacker's lodge usually will be our preference. However, We chose to stay in this motel because the price is affordable with friendly staff nice environment. We are very satisfied with our choice and a big thanks to Hans for his excellant service (giving extra miles and useful travel tips). He made us feel at home :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

I travelled through both North and South Island and Civello was by far the best motel. It is clean, very friendly staff, spacious and at a very affordable price. Thanks Colin and Luis

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SjoerdR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#9 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
1.3 km away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#4 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.6 km away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
City Corporate Motor Inn
City Corporate Motor Inn
#5 of 36 in Palmerston North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.4 km away
Chancellor Motor Lodge & Conference Centre
Chancellor Motor Lodge & Confere...
#6 of 36 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.9 km away
Quest Palmerston North
Quest Palmerston North
#2 of 10 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penny's Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penny's Accommodation

Property: Penny's Accommodation
Address: 186 Fitzherbert Avenue | West End, Palmerston North, New Zealand (Formerly Civello Accommodation)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Palmerston North
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,550 - ₹ 4,574
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Penny's Accommodation 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From $60 per night. Backpackers heaven, boutique style. No sharing of rooms. $90 sleeps 3 people in a room. Very Clean toilets & Showers. Peaceful and quiet. 8 mins walk to city, 10 mins bus to Massey University. Communal kitchen for cooking and big dining for socializing. Free parking. Friendly and helpful staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Penny's Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing