We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
35
35
15
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
35
15
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews communal kitchen nautical theme great location outdoor courtyard dishwashing liquid small tv stay there again dining table good size comfortable beds bedroom accommodation kettle bbq lounge sofa tlc
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We had booked a three night stay in the Bosun's Quarters, and what a disappointment. First this, and the two adjoining units, are difficult to access up an extremely narrow lane off Ned Higgins Lane beside the Inn building. We could not even find the room without having the lady from reception across the road coming and showing us. There is also access from Town View Terrace which is the street behind the property.

This unit is very tired and a strange configuration. The front glass door from the shared veranda opens onto the bed area, so for privacy we frequently kept the curtains closed, and there was little light then entering the room from only a westerly facing window which was overshadowed by trees. Even with the curtains open, there was still little light entering the room which was constantly dim, and also cold. The kitchen area was even darker with two south facing windows overshadowed by trees, and the rear double glass doors opened onto a small unattractive roofed area.

Some may think the unit was ‘quirky’, but not me. I expect more than bare wooden floors where the footsteps of people in the adjoining unit could clearly be heard. It was reasonably clean, but we spotted accumulated dust in several locations without searching. The toilet seat was nearly broken off. The bed was very comfortable but with only an armchair on either side of the bed, the small TV screen was a pain. The kitchen appeared to be well equipped, although we did not self-cater. For no apparent reason the sink would sometimes commence ‘glugging’ away for a short time intermittently, even though all we had used it for was washing the dishes some time before.

Wifi was a joke. I could get a weak signal from sitting on the shared veranda, but I mainly need access to the ‘net at night, and could get no signal while sitting at the kitchen table. I could sometimes get a faint signal while sitting on the veranda side of the bed, however suffered regular drop-outs from that position.

The location is very good with only a five minute walk to the main street area, and I would not stay there again unless the property and facilities were substantially updated.

I could not recommend the Bosun's Quarters based on my experience.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Frommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We stayed in the Stern Room for 2 nights. There is a shared verandah (with a divider in between our room and the next, and we had our own outdoor furniture) with 3 other units and a common BBQ. Didn't use the BBQ as it didn't look too appealing as it's located in front of the middle room's space and it didn't look too well kept.

When you open the door, there is a kitchenette there with sink, mini fridge, stove top, hood and oven. Kitchen was generally neat and clean, including stove top and oven. Both worked perfectly. There was also a microwave and kettle. The fridge could use some cleaning as there were some black marks in the freezer area. There's also dish washing liquid, sponge, kitchen towel, pots and pans and pasta strainer. The weak link of the kitchenette was the mugs and utensils. Mugs were stained and one even had caked on coffee granule which I couldn't get out despite scrubbing. There was a yellow snot-like stain on one of the tea spoons and I washed it out and a couple of the other tea spoons looked it it wasn't property washed. So that was a bit of a turn off. Plates were fine.

The lounge had a small TV and TV reception was good. This lounge can be turned into a bedroom as it had a sofa that can be converted into a bed and had a privacy blackout curtain.

Main bedroom was fine (bed a bit small), had a TV, a large cupboard (the door wouldn't shut properly), a dining table. Bathroom was a good size but the shower cubicle needed some TLC as the wall was popping out.

There is only 1 heater and it is located in the bedroom.

Generally the place is clean and neat. I wouldn't mind staying here again because of the location.

I couldn't get wifi as I was on Optus but my husband had no issues on Telstra.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Fully equipped kitchenette, spacious and clean apartment. A home away from home and comfortable. Checking-in Reception Office is along Higgins Street. Although the address to this place is Ned Higgins Lane, it is easier to drive in from Town View Terrace....especially if you are driving a big car....the driveway is really narrow.

Room Tip: It is an apartment with two bedrooms ... Request for the ground floor, so you don't need to lug your stuffs upstairs.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WoWable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Thoroughly recommend Admiral Stirling Inn. We stayed in the Governor's Quarters
3 couples, rooms were spacious, warm and very comfortable beds. The kitchen was
adequate for our needs. Sound of rain on the roof was delightful. Short walk to river, shops, supermarket and restaurants.
Staff were friendly and very helpful advising where and what attractions we should
see in the short amount of time we had. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Governors Quarters is really nice spacious and comfortable
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lois K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Just stayed in the Admiral's Quarters with two older children. Overall very happy with the accommodation. Nautical theme is very cute. Site has a number of different options for staying. On site clothes washer and separate dryers (coin operated). Also has a shared undercover BBQ area and common room. Two minor issues for us - BBQ needs a good clean or even refresh and the kitchen utensils are limited. Short walk to main street and shops. Quiet whilst we were there. Otherwise we were very happy.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews