We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Margaret River Tourist Park
Reviewed 13 May 2017

We arrived in town very late in the afternoon and were directed to this holiday park. The staff were wonderful and showed us to our 2 bedroom house. It had everything we could possibly need, was very clean and comfortable. Would recommend to anyone. :)

Room Tip: We had number 33 which tucked away from the main part of the park. It was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

My partner and I are visiting Australia from England and we decided to stay in Margaret River for a while. The tourist park offers longer term accommodation in the form of lovely modern cabins for just $125 each per week based on four sharing. We were able to meet people from all over the world during our stay and found the facilities adequate.
Unfortunately as soon as our minimum contract of four weeks was up we felt it was time to leave. Sadly, as I can see many others have also stated, we were made to feel quite unwelcome by several members of staff. I am aware and appreciate that the park had experienced several issues with 'backpackers' being rowdy and not respecting rules. However I was surprised to find ourselves being somehow 'lumped in' this category from the start and constantly treated as though we had done something wrong, assumedly because we are under 30 and not Australian.
My partner and I respected general rules throughout our stay and DID NOT hold 'parties' or make excessive noise after 9:30pm (despite this being a slightly ridiculous 'lights out' time for a holiday park at weekends). One night we had 2 friends in our cabin (who were also staying at the tourist park) watching tv and chatting. At around 9pm a member of staff, without knocking or any warning, yanked open our front door and shouted that everyone had to go home or we'd all be kicked out?!! Then stormed off?! I was in shock that we as customers we'd been spoken to in this way and treated like naughty teenagers. When we complained the following day staff simply stated 'He wouldn't do that'. Other incidents included being rudely interrogated whilst eating our dinner in the kitchen area despite, again, all those present being paying guests of the park.
Other patrons we spoke to said that they had no electricity some nights or running water for short periods. Although these were all eventually resolved, staff were extremely unapologetic and offered no compensation.
The general attitude of some staff in their conversations with us felt unnecessarily hostile and we just felt a bit unwelcome. I was quite sad to see a similar defensiveness in their responses to some reviews on TripAdvisor, particularly as there seems to be a running theme from backpackers and tourists alike regarding staff attitudes. REGARDLESS of how some tenants have previously behaved, staff have absolutely no right to speak to all tenants the way some of them have done. I would strongly suggest that taking some of these comments on board and integrating them into staff training, rather than continuously deflecting them back to the customer, may improve scores.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cassie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed for eight nights in a powered caravan site. Short walk to town. Dog friendly. Showers clean. Park very tidy. Staff friendly. Enjoyed our stay there. Has the best BYO Thai restaurant over the road!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bindi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

Good location to base yourself to explore Margaret River and surrounds. Easy 10 min walk to town which has everything you need including 2 good pubs. Amenities are clean but could do with an update. Spacious toilets but cramped showers. Powered Sites are not overly large and the camp sites are cramped.

Room Tip: Sites vary in size so be selective.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Recently stayed 5 nights here in our van at an ensuite site. The ensuite was nice only down side only one roll of toilet paper,
Quite a few of the sites there are very tight on room the gentleman opposite us offered to move his car out of the way so we could get in, he had the same problem as us when he arrived.
The park itself is well situated gardens and ground are very well kept, staff in reception were friendly and helpful. The park is pet friendly

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
0.7 km away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
253 reviews
1.7 km away
Riverview Tourist Park
Riverview Tourist Park
#12 of 51 in Margaret River
294 reviews
1.0 km away
Peppermint Brook Cottages
Peppermint Brook Cottages
#13 of 51 in Margaret River
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Quality Inn Margaret River
Quality Inn Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
990 reviews
2.7 km away
Wharncliffe Mill
Wharncliffe Mill
#11 of 51 in Margaret River
146 reviews
2.0 km away
Riverglen Chalets
Riverglen Chalets
#1 of 51 in Margaret River
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaret River Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaret River Tourist Park

Address: 44 Station Road, Margaret River, Western Australia, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range: ₹ 5,080 - ₹ 9,052 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Margaret River Tourist Park 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret River Tourist Park is a fabulous home away from home when you travel to the heart of the South West. We provide comfortable cottages, chalets and cabins as well as shaded powered sites and camping grounds. Being situated in the centre of Margaret River, the park is close to numerous attractions, including: Short walk to cafes and shopping in Margaret River town centre 15 minute drive to explore local caves and beaches Short walk to local art Galleries and local arts and crafts Close to the start of numerous scenic forest drives Central to the many vineyards for wine tasting Central to a range of gourmet delights that Margaret River is famous for Walking distance from the local weekend markets and monthly farmers market ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Margaret River Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing