We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Margaret River Tourist Park
Reviewed 5 May 2017

Good location to base yourself to explore Margaret River and surrounds. Easy 10 min walk to town which has everything you need including 2 good pubs. Amenities are clean but could do with an update. Spacious toilets but cramped showers. Powered Sites are not overly large and the camp sites are cramped.

Room Tip: Sites vary in size so be selective.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2017 via mobile

Recently stayed 5 nights here in our van at an ensuite site. The ensuite was nice only down side only one roll of toilet paper,
Quite a few of the sites there are very tight on room the gentleman opposite us offered to move his car out of the way so we could get in, he had the same problem as us when he arrived.
The park itself is well situated gardens and ground are very well kept, staff in reception were friendly and helpful. The park is pet friendly

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

First let's start by the positive: nice grounds, perfect location, clean facilities. Special mention for Carrie and Chantelle at the reception: very lovely, smiling, friendly staff.

Now for possible improvement:
- Fixing the temperature (either too cold or too hot) and pressure of the showers in both blocks.
- Better maintenance for cabins and caravans (rats have been found in caravans as well as around facilities)
- Including the same ficilties in every cabins and caravans as everyone pay the same price (TV, couch...) instead of suggesting buying your own when asking for one.
- Servicing and cleaning the washing machines because the clothes comes out with more stained then they went in with (specially when you have to pay 4$ per washing)
- Giving two sets of keys instead of one for two people
- Giving the choice of beds two singles or one double to accommodate the occupant (e.g 2 boys may be made to share a double bed)
- A common room that is more welcoming would more than likely be a busier one

Now what is unacceptable.
But before that let's have a look at the Caravan Park mission statement: "as a family owned ans operated business summer star prides itself on its customer service and attention to detail ensuring every part of your stay will be an experience to remember"...experience to remember is definitely the right word...

- For a Caravan Park that is inhabited by 75% backpackers an extent of respect for us is required as without backpackers the Park would surely fail!
- They don't allowed backpackers to stay more then a week on a campsite so tourists have the priority (apparently backpackers are not tourists) so people have to camp illegally in the bush on the weekends and reapply on Mondays.
- Trying by any means possible to keep the $200 bond asked for when moving into the park, and using this personal activities (e.g. going out with the other staff)
- A personal experience of mine I would like to share is from the night our electricity went out and was not attended to by the park staff for 12 hours. Now I understand this is not the parks fault as it happens! However, what was unacceptable to me was that there was no effort or gestures made to help us for this time (bringing some candles?? letting the kitchen opened so we could use their fridge so we don't loose our food??) a simple apology would have gone a long way. I wonder how they would have deal with this situation if it would happened in a cottage!!
- A curfew of 9:30 pm is more than acceptable on a weekday. However having the same time for weekend is unfair, certainly when lights are turned off at 9:15 in common rooms on Friday and Saturday nights and night staff physically and aggressively kick everyone out before this 9:30 curfew (this is where the $200 bond begins to get threatened with).
- Can we speak about Chris? She works at the front desk and we have never heard one person (including other staff) speak a nice word about her. A friendly smile and a good service would go a long way with improving her manners. Simply it comes down to treat others how you would like to be treated yourself.
- Backpackers are knowledgeable friendly explorers from all around the world, not "vermin" as the staff have been known to call us. Being a "backpacker" does not make you any less of a person so we do not expect to be treated any differently.

In conclusion I hope this review helps the Park to improve as it has great potential. However a few flaws were too large to not voice.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanett514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerstar T, General Manager at Margaret River Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Hello and thanks for your review. While we always welcome feedback and are open to possibilities to improve, there are many points in your review which are entirely false.

Our park certainly isn't 75% backpackers. We have one section that caters to people travelling through Margaret River while they work in town. We don't allow any long stays on UNpowered sites as we have had issues with people abusing our facilities and using these areas whilst partying. This isn't pitched at backpackers, it is to ensure the park stays family friendly and accessible for all guests. We are very happy to accommodate longer stays on powered sites.

We offer different ranges of accommodation with different facilities in each room. Our most budget accommodation does not come with couches (which you would have seen on check in with the first inspection). We certainly do not ask guests to 'provide this themselves'. It is against park rules to bring outside furniture into our accommodation, while some people still do, causing issues for us at the end of tenancy when we are required to pay to dispose of it.

We also frequently move bedding around to cater for different guests, if not asked, we do not assume that the bedding arrangement is incorrect. All long stay guests are asked to review their accommodation before moving in and this is the stage that we address any concerns about bedding. It is very simple for us to rectify in most instances.

Our showers and laundry facilities are used by all of our guests and are regularly maintained and cleaned daily. If you had issues with this, we would have welcomed the feedback and repaired any problems. We have since checked the showers and the washing machines and there don't appear to be any issues with either of these.

Our bond system is completely rigorous. Bonds are stored separately, recorded by both parties and returned to guests provided the rooms are left in a reasonable condition. Your comments about staff using them for any other purpose is malicious.

We did have an incident where the power went out. To counter this we arranged for fridges in the campers kitchen to be available, arranged for peoples fridges to be plugged in in areas that still had power and advised guests of the issues and expected resolution time. As you note, things do happen and we proactively work to reduce the impact on our guests where this is the case. You do have our sincere apologies for the inconvenience of this 24 hour period.

The curfew of 9:30pm is imposed due to visitors from outside the park being onsite and interrupting guests. Every guest of the park deserves quiet enjoyment of their site. We are not a party park. This is, and always has been, part of the park rules you would have agreed to on applying to stay long term in the park.

We find it disappointing that you believe this is the most suitable avenue to voice your grievances after staying for such a long period. We are available 8am to 6pm every day of the week and would have been happy to assist you where we could. As you note, we have many members of staff that would have welcomed your comments. We cater for people travelling from all over the world and enjoy the interaction with all types of travellers. The attitude you describe is resoundingly not how we view travellers, otherwise we, like many other accommodation providers in town, would simply not allow long stay guests over Margaret River's peak season.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Margaret River Tourist Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

The area was lovely but there was no hot water for the first 2 days of our 3 day trip. I didn't expect freezing showers from one of the most expensive sites on our trip and it really took the edge off our wine tour having to go without having a proper wash after driving down from Perth. The barbecue in our area was also not working.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LittleB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerstar T, General Manager at Margaret River Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Hello and apologies you were met with this during your stay in Margaret River. We had two days where our utilities were intermittently on and off. As the first day was a Sunday our regular plumber and electrician were unavailable and we could not get through to Western Power to ascertain where the fault was. We did get the issues fixed by Monday but I appreciate that this was a large portion of your stay with us. I apologise that this happened during your stay and hope you give Margaret River Tourist Park another try in the future.

Kind Regards from the Team at MRTP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in an ensuite site.
Office staff friendly especially Chantelle who assisted us in moving to a more appropriate site.
Reasonable cost at $40 night less with top tourist discount.
Close to town and can walk in easily. Nice coffee shop just across the road.
Gardens well maintained. Large camp kitchen.
Will definitely stay here again if need to stay in town.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kelly w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Margaret River hotels
0.7 km away
Grange on Farrelly
Grange on Farrelly
#7 of 10 in Margaret River
263 reviews
1 km away
Margaret River Hotel
Margaret River Hotel
#8 of 10 in Margaret River
276 reviews
1.7 km away
Riverview Tourist Park
Riverview Tourist Park
#12 of 51 in Margaret River
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Stay Margaret River
Stay Margaret River
#4 of 10 in Margaret River
1,030 reviews
2.7 km away
Wharncliffe Mill
Wharncliffe Mill
#9 of 51 in Margaret River
162 reviews
1.5 km away
Admiral Stirling Inn
Admiral Stirling Inn
#14 of 19 in Margaret River
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaret River Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaret River Tourist Park

Address: 44 Station Road, Margaret River, Western Australia, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Margaret River
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Margaret River
Price Range: ₹ 4,786 - ₹ 12,444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Margaret River Tourist Park 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret River Tourist Park is a fabulous home away from home when you travel to the heart of the South West. We provide comfortable cottages, chalets and cabins as well as shaded powered sites and camping grounds. Being situated in the centre of Margaret River, the park is close to numerous attractions, including: Short walk to cafes and shopping in Margaret River town centre 15 minute drive to explore local caves and beaches Short walk to local art Galleries and local arts and crafts Close to the start of numerous scenic forest drives Central to the many vineyards for wine tasting Central to a range of gourmet delights that Margaret River is famous for Walking distance from the local weekend markets and monthly farmers market ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Margaret River Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing