We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny rooms, but nice staff.”
Review of Rydges St Kilda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rydges St Kilda
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in St Kilda
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tiny rooms, but nice staff.”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

On arrival, there is no where to pull over to check in, so we dropped one of the girls off and drove around until we found their underground car park (out the back). The parking is at the back, it has cramped spaces AND you don't even get a car park included in the hotel room price, that's an extra $15 per car per day. The hotel was clean, but the rooms were TINY, especially for 5 girls, we had two rooms and it was still cramped. That night i shut the joining doors for a moment, they are in the way to get through to some parts of the room, and one of them wouldn't open again, so then to get into each others rooms we had to keep going into the corridor to do so. The staff were nice and friendly and the beds were comfortable, but for the price It wasn't really worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyny189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlands, Marketing at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Hi nyny189

It's great to see that you liked our staff, they are super friendly and they love to take pride in offering the best customer service possible for all of our guests.

Five people can certainly be a tight squeeze! We have a few different room types that cater to different needs, so maybe next time you come and stay with us (which we really hope you do!) please always feel free to have a chat to our lovely Reservations team to find out what kind of room would suit you best. We always want our guests to be as comfy and happy as possible!

We think it's a real treat to be able to offer car parking with St Kilda being so popular with both locals and out-of-towners, plus not every hotel in the area has the luxury. The reason we charge for our car park is because lots of our guests don't drive so we like to offer the flexibility of having secure parking as an extra add on and at only $15 per night it's a bargain compared to city hotels.

Kind Regards

David
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    240
    130
    42
    31
See reviews for
54
278
47
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The good: The beds were great - very comfortable. The room was spotless, nice toileteries, and I loved the different snacks in the room and bar fridge (even though I didn't eat them, I appreciate the hotel trying to be different). The hotel is very well located, good cafes etc nearby and we had a quiet room at the back (thanks to other reviews on Tripadvisor).
The annoying: There is only one incredibly slow and small lift - had to wait for ages, and I couldn't find the stairs to use instead of waiting.
There was a random electronic beep going off in the room. I thought it was a fire alarm whose battery had died, but it wasn't. Eventually - the day we left - the hotel staff worked out it was the phone battery that was peeping because it was flat - so flat that it had been unable to recharge for the 2 nights were were there (despite being properly in its cradle). Sadly, it peeped erratically and loudly both nights we were there. Thank heavens the beds were comfortable!
The bathroom door was a badly designed sliding door, which slid too far, so the 'handle' couldn't be reached to open it again. It also swung off its runner at the bottom when closed. It gave a cheap and nasty feel to an otherwise quite nice room.

Room Tip: As previous posters have said, ask for a room at the back away from the worst of the street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaiafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlands, Marketing at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Hi Gaiafan,

Our Urban Snorer beds are so comfy and very popular, as are the evo toiletry products. It’s fantastic to hear that you liked our Little Fridge options, we love sourcing products that are a bit different to what you'd normally see in a hotel :-).

It’s disappointing to hear that you didn’t like our lift as we usually receive positive reviews about it. Sounds like you were so unlucky with that phone beep and annoying door! We really appreciate you pointing it out so we can get it fixed.

Thanks for your review and we hope to see you again.

Kind Regards

David
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We just stayed for 2 nights in the Urban at St Kilda. The hotel is average at best but satisfactory. But if you're looking for a decent hotel in St Kilda it is fine. The beds were comfortable and clean. The room is practical and has all the essentials. Bathroom was also pretty good. Clean and well equipt (although they only supplied one wash cloth even though the booking was for 2 people). I would definitely book through a discount provider such as booking.com or Wotif though - I would certainly not pay a cent more for that hotel than the $280 we paid for 2 nights. The downsides - it's very noisy at the weekend. Even though our room was at the back of the hotel we could hear plenty of noise from the bars on Fitzroy Street which went on until quite late. There is a small cafe in the hotel. I wouldn't recommend eating here. The food is over priced, coffee is awful and the staff are rude. There are plenty of food options along the strip.

Room Tip: As high up and far back as possible. The further away from the street the better because it's v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyH73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlands, Marketing at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Hi Katie H,

Thank you for your review. It's great to hear you found your bed comfy, we do love our Urban Snorers. We're sorry to hear that you experienced noise issues on the weekends, but we think that where we are located in St Kilda is one of the things that makes our hotel so great - so close to so many bars, cafes and restaurants. It's disappointing to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience in Suger Cafe as we usually get rave reviews.

We love offering our guests the best possible prices, and our website always displays the lowest available rates available for our hotels.

Hopefully you enjoy your next stay in St Kilda.

Kind Regards

David
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed 1 night on the chocolate experiance special from the website. Was brilliant, little box of Koko chocs on arrival, choc martini from the bar & unlimited hot choc from the cafe. Only disapointment was that the cafe/bar was shut when we got back from dinner so counldnt have one before bed but made up for it by having 3 each for breakfast!! Great location, tram stop close by, few minutes walk to the beach and pier and about 10 mins walk to all the cakes on Ackland Street. Also great tapas style resturant, Pelican, across the road.
Room was good size and quiet appart from in the morning as it must have been bin day outside. Also made use of the sun deck off the gym, good view on tiptoes. Would have been good to have a glass wall or something there to enjoy the view.
Staff really good and stored our bags both on day of arrival as our room wasnt ready and the day we left. Overall really cool hotel and will deffo be going back there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fairey_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlands, Marketing at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Hi Fairy_Queen,

Pelican is a great restaurant and bar it’s one of our favourites!

We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your chocolatey stay with us, it definitely sounds like you got your fill… If that’s even possible!

Our staff love assisting anyway that they can whether it’s storing your bags, helping with directions or just giving you a warm smile as you walk by.

Thanks for your great review, we look forward to having you stay again ;-)

Kind Regards

David
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Urban a few weeks ago for three nights. Needing to be located in the St Kilda area, we couldn't have asked for a better located hotel. Step outside the front door and you're in the middle of Fitzroy Street and all it's restaurants and bars. You wouldn't guess from the quietness of the rooms.

The rooms are quite spacious and modestly appointed. Staying mid week, we had no trouble in parking in the secure hotel carpark. I've been told that it fills up quickly on weekends.

The staff are friendly and efficient, but don't expect personalised service.

Great value, great location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plugga_syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlands, Marketing at Rydges St Kilda, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Hi Plugga_Syd,

Our location is fantastic isn't it! We're so spoilt for restaurant and bar choices on Fitzroy Street.

An onsite car park is a really great perk for a hotel to have so we love that we can provide that for our guests.

Thank you for your review and we're glad that you had a carefree, "no fuss" stay with us.

Kind Regards

David
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Kilda hotels
0.4 km away
Novotel Melbourne St Kilda
0.7 km away
Cosmopolitan Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
0.5 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel St Kilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Tolarno Hotel
Tolarno Hotel
#8 of 19 in St Kilda
247 reviews
0.2 km away
Quest St Kilda Bayside
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
446 reviews
0.1 km away
Abode St Kilda
Abode St Kilda
#4 of 19 in St Kilda
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges St Kilda? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges St Kilda

Property: Rydges St Kilda
Address: 35-37 Fitzroy St, St Kilda, Port Phillip, Victoria 3182, Australia (Formerly Hotel Urban St Kilda)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Port Phillip > St Kilda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in St Kilda
#9 Luxury Hotel in St Kilda
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,732 - ₹ 10,733
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges St Kilda 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 200 metres from the beach, and with cosmopolitan and vibrant Barkly and Acland Streets around the corner, Rydges St Kilda will suit those who value designer chic combined with relaxed, modern comfort. All of our rooms feature premium amenities and ultra comfortable beds. For extra treats, consider our Deluxe King Spa Room featuring an indulgent one-person spa bath, or the decadent Spa Suite Room with your own double spa bath. For extra fun check out our popular Round Room, with a luxurious double spa featured in a unique circular space. If you're feeling peckish pop down to Hub cafe for scrumptious Genovese coffees and mouthwatering treats for breakfast and lunch. Later in the day visit Mavis Brown's. Our creative, friendly and relaxed bar with an extensive range of local and international craft beers as well as scrumptious tapas and daily specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges St Kilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor St Kilda
Urban Hotel St Kilda
Rydges St Kilda Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing