We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waverley House Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Lakes Waterfront Motel(Lakes Entrance)(Great Value!)
US$ 76
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Esplanade Resort & Spa(Lakes Entrance)
US$ 130
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bellevue on the Lakes(Lakes Entrance)(Great Value!)
US$ 137
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cunningham Shore Motel(Lakes Entrance)(Great Value!)
US$ 84
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakes Entrance Heyfield Motel & Apartments(Lakes Entrance)(Great Value!)
US$ 84
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sand Bar Motel(Lakes Entrance)(Great Value!)
US$ 73
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Coastal Waters Motor Inn(Lakes Entrance)(Great Value!)
US$ 107
US$ 103
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Esplanade Motel(Lakes Entrance)(Great Value!)
US$ 70
US$ 65
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banjo Paterson Motor Inn(Lakes Entrance)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
81
36
9
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
36
9
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbass cottageself cateringlog burnerhydro spasmall boxes of cerealbbq areacottage numberfive minute drivebreakfast packlovely cottagehot spaseafood platterheating and coolinglight breakfastbush settingon arrivalbedroom cottage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Waverley House Cottages.1st & 2nd March in the Fish Pen Cottage number 6.
We arrived early and were delighted to have access to unload our cases straight away. Our first impression was a lovely, comfortable, self contained private cottage with quality furnishings everything we needed after travelling. We did not however have a view over Bass Strait from our veranda as is implied on their website. Instead
overlooked the next cottage which blocked out any view.
The cottages are certainly in a private location but rather distant from the centre of Lakes Entrance so a car is required to visit the town (too far to walk).
We enjoyed our stay there and found it very relaxing and comfortable. The owners had provided us with lots of information and gone to considerable effort in this regard.
A lovely spa bath was situated in our bathroom and also a shower. We were disappointed however with the toiletries provided in such a luxurious bathroom. Only a small bar of soap and some supermarket liquid hand wash. No shampoo, shower gel or body lotion. Every other establishment we have stayed in has provided adequate toiletries for the duration of our stay.
It is advertised as a Spa so we were expecting more of these items to be routinely provided.
We note from other reviews that the owner seems unwilling to accept any criticism so don’t know if any of these comments will be helpful.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank 191281Sandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan D, Owner at Waverley House Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We welcome your comprehensive review and that the facilities and information provided were appreciated.
We are always responsive to criticism or constructive suggestions, but as with previous comments along these lines, again point out there is a choice as to which consumables to include (and guests most want) which ensures viability for our business - so you will not find an array of 5 star toiletries. In the bathroom you will find liquid hand soap - yes a supermarket brand, one wrapped soap, spa gel and there IS conditioning shampoo in the vanity drawer, along with tissues, spare toilet roll, make up wipes etc. The majority of our guests find this adequate for two nights (most like ourselves, prefer using their own hair products etc anyway when travelling) but of course we are more than happy to replenish if asked. In the cottage laundry you will find washing powder and in the kitchen you will find continental breakfast provisions for the first night, dishwashing and cleaning products as well as handy items such as salt/pepper, sauce, oil, foil and clingwrap.
Having successfully run our self catering cottages for thirteen years now, we have implemented lots of great guest suggestions and ideas of our own over the years, but can honestly say the criticism re toiletries is not one expressed or demanded by the majority of our guests. We also believe refilling dispensers rather than contributing to throwaway plastics and waste is more important in our lovely coastal environment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

We loved Waverley cottages. Ours (a one bedroom cottage whose name I forget) was extremely comfortable - it was almost
like being at home- and it was great having self catering facilities after lots of hotels on our road trip along the Australian Coast. There are full laundry facilities and a well equipped kitchen. The cottages are a mile or two out of town, so you do need a car, but the setting is lovely - we had a magnificent sunset on our second evening. We didn’t use the pool and spa so can’t comment. If you are visiting the beautiful Lakes Entrance area, this is the place to stay.



Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Izzie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan D, Owner at Waverley House Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Thank you so much for your informative review and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

My wife, 12 year old daughter and I stayed 2 nights in the 2 bedroom Colquhoun Cottage. The cottage itself was brilliant, very clean, spacious and well appointed. It had everything we needed and is located up the hill about 3km from the centre of Lakes Entrance township.
The property also has a pool and BBQ area which came in very handy as we had very hot weather.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank simonrN9524UG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

My family and I stayed at the Bass Cottage. Really clean cottages and en-suites to both bedrooms. Good sized kitchen with microwave and dishwasher. Comfy lounge with two sofas, television and fire place. Beds were so comfortable and large. All cottages have free Wi-Fi. So peaceful, I loved reading my book on the bench overlooking a pretty garden on the deck. Well maintained facilities with a hot-spa, medium sized pool and an area for a barbecue too. I would definitely stay here again and recommend the Waverley House Cottages to others.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Irina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan D, Owner at Waverley House Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Bass Cottage. We are so pleased you enjoyed the cottage - and relaxed with a book, my benchmark for relaxation!
We do look forward to you all staying again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

The cottage- the Fishpen was perfect for us! It was self catering yet there was a few breakfast things and general necessities. The bed was comfortable and the temperature of the cottage perfect due to the fire and reverse heating and cooling. The kitchen had all the facilities needed. I loved the spa and the other outside one. Privacy was excellent. It was very clean and large and spacious. Tv and DVD were excellent. All necessities were either there or close by. I loved the scenery and tranquillity. We adored the solitude there and there was plenty to do around the Waverley cottages. I would not hesitate to advise others to use this excellent accomodation.
I could not fault it?!
It was perfect and excellent value for money...

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan D, Owner at Waverley House Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Valerie thank you - we are so happy you enjoyed what we have worked so hard to create. Fishpen Cottage is the most private of the cottages so is a tranquil little corner! You are very welcome to return and of course we appreciate your endorsement too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews