We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Auldington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Auldington
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2007

We stayed at the Auldington for one evening in a bath deluxe room and received continental breakfast provisions (the Auldington matched the rate on Wotif).

The accommodation was easy to find, although it was preferable that we had a car because it was a bit of walk uphill to return to the accommodation from the city. The deluxe room was large and clean and the bath was very deep and large enough for both my partner and I. Our room had windows positioned over the balcony which was fine but we drew the blinds when people were enjoying the view of Launceston (note that there are time restrictions to use the balcony).

The staff were very professional and happy to help out with dinner suggestions and provided us with a map of Launceston.

The continental breakfast provisions were good, we received cereal, fresh fruit, canned fruit, yoghurt, juice, milk, a muffin and a croissant each. The only criticism I have is that the yoghurt and milk was low fat, something I do not enjoy.

In Launceston we visited the Swiss Chocolatier which is a must!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CanberraChicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 374 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2007

I would like to advise fellow travellers on the Auldington Hotels cancellation policy. My husband booked a room directly through the hotel and a day later was rushed to casualty with a blood clot/ DVT. We were advised by the Doctor that he could not fly for the next three months and therefore our holiday to the Tamar Valley would have to be cancelled. I called the Auldington immediately and explained our situation. I was advised by Leon (the manager & owner) that under no circumstances would we recieve a refund even though we were cancelling 8 days prior to our planned stay. We were shocked at the way in which Leon dealt with our situation, as all other travel organisations (airline, hotels and car hire) showed compassion, understanding and were able to provide us with a full refund. Leon would not make an exception to our situation even when I said I was willing to fax through a medical certificate confirming my husbands condition.
Leon mentioned that the cancellation policy was strict because he did not want to get emotionally involved with customers issues. We believe that helping to find a resolution to such issues is a vital part of providing a good service within the hospitality industry.
We understand that some other travellers have had good experiences when staying at this hotel, we only wish that Leon could have dealt with the situation in a more professional and caring manner.
Very disappointing and upsetting.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
7  Thank FlameRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2007

Auldington is a former convent converted into a hotel, this was enough to gain my interest and make a booking .
Our initial response from the reception area and grounds was that this would be a charming, quiet, serene peaceful experience and this is exactly how I would sum up our brief visit.
We stayed at this hotel for one night en route to the south eastern areas of Tasmania. We arrived late in the evening and did have some trouble locating the hotel in the dark - it is next to a school and there is a small low sign at the beginning of the driveway.
The receptionist was helpful and able to recommend eating establishments which would be open for a late meal.
The interior of the hotel has been restored/renovated leaving intact the significant architectural features - including a grand stairway - there is a small lift as well. Modern artworks by local artists feature in the hallways and reception areas. Rooms are light and clean with a modern ensuite and other necessary comforts. Supplies for a cold breakfast are provided in the room, and are adequate for the traveller.
Auldington was a wonderful hotel to start our exploration of Tasmania from, and I would choose to stay here again when visiting Launceston.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank schnauzerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2007

* great trip to tasmania this hotel made a great start to our hoilday.

*very helpful staff they helped us find some were to eat

*very close to town

*dead quiet

*so close to every where

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kiwiSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2007

We stayed at Auldington for four nights whilst in Launceston for a wedding. We booked through wotif on a very good rate of around $109-134 a night. For the price it was about as good as one could hope for. The rooms were quite modern and well furnished. The bathroom was excellent with a nice deep bath and good ammenities. Everything was clean although there was a very strong odour of cigarette smoke in our room. Thankfully the windows could be opened and we could could air the room as we were quite happy with the position and did not want to move. The soundproofing wasnt fantastic being an ex convent with echoey walls.
The hotel is located uphill from the CBD about 10-15 min walk away which was fine for us as we had a car anyway to get out and about.
The main criticism I have of this place was that it seemed a bit unprofessional. The reception area was unattended when we arrived with a vacuum cleaner lying against the wall. The guest service agent came out and allthough friendly was still chewing food (everyone needs to eat but not a good look) as she came out.
Overall a good hotel for the price. It is just the small touches of professionalism that would make a really big difference.

Stayed: March 2007
3  Thank linguine777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.9 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.9 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,617 reviews
1.2 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#4 of 30 in Launceston
526 reviews
1.4 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
1.2 km away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auldington? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auldington

Address: 110 Frederick Stret, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Launceston
#5 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price Range: ₹ 5,603 - ₹ 9,289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Auldington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auldington Hotel offers true boutique accommodation in Launceston, Tasmania. What was once the Presentation Sisters Convent, built in 1899, has now been converted into a luxurious, welcoming and peaceful, 4.5 Star AAA rated hotel. The preserved architecture of the heritage building now contrasts with stylish, comfortable and modern rooms, all with private ensuites. Over half of the rooms also enjoy a deep, luxurious bath or spa bath and many rooms have stunning views across our landscaped gardens, central and East Launceston and the mountain ranges beyond. Our friendly, knowledgeable staff are always happy to provide guests with useful information on all of the local attractions, restaurant and cafe recommendations. At Auldington we strive to provide a personal and welcoming customer service experience that we hope is an accurate reflection of the hotel and the values that are important to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auldington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auldington Hotel Launceston
Auldington Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing