We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location in Heart of Launceston with full kitchen facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Quest Launceston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest Launceston
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Location in Heart of Launceston with full kitchen facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Good rooms and amenities , great shower and plenty of fresh towels, the only issue to watch for is if you have a room overlooking Paterson Street the main road it is noisy with early morning street sweepers starting up at 5AM. Must pay for internet and not full sweep of Foxtel. Parking is available across the road in a council run parking station.
Only hotplates and microwave in 1 bedroom.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozipeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuestLaunceston, General Manager at Quest Launceston, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thank you for submitting your reveiw of Quest Launceston. For a number of years, we have lobbied local authorities to look at solution to extenal noise issues associated with the chiming of the Town Clock and street noise. To date, these efforts have been largely unsuccessful.

However, we are very excited to announce that windows in the sleeping areas of the apartments now been double glazed. As well as the thermal benefits of double glazing, reducing our carbon footprint, a significant reduction in external noise intrusion has also been achieved.

Our goal is to ensure that each and every visitor to Launceston who chooses to stay at Quest, has a comfortable and enjoyable stay,

Only the studio apartments feature a kitchenette with hot plates and a microwave. All of the one bedroom apartments do have a full kitchen with dishwasher, oven and a full sized refrigerator. In this case, there may have been some confusion as to which apartment type that had been booked.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forard to welcoming you back to the "Quieter Quest Launceston"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    293
    68
    29
    14
See reviews for
209
223
15
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
N.S.W.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

Not a great start, with stairs up onto reception level. But that's fairly minor.
Receptionists were really nice and helpful.
The room was pretty good. The windows were a bit too thin - noise from outside was noticeable. Bed was fine, and kitchenette was fairly good. Annoyingly there was only one chair! Weird considering it's a self-catered apartment with two sets of towels etc.
I've stayed at the Grand Chancellor a few blocks away, and I think the Quest is slightly better.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Popular_Comet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

This should be a great hotel. It is ideally siuated in the centre of the city.
We booked a two bedroom appartment and found it to be spacious, well fitted out, clean and inviting.
The greeting as we arrived was warm and the staff made us feel "at home" from the first minute we arrived.
The major let down was that the building owner evidently refuses to double glaze the windows and as rooms either face the street, or are in line with the Town Hall clock that chimes every half hour, sleep comes in intervals.
Our room on the 2nd floor faced the street and even the sound of people laughing as they left the local restaurants or night spots carried clearly to our room. Car brakes, trucks changing gear and so on were as audible (as was that damned clock) as if they were in the room.
It seemed ironic given the lack of possible peace and quiet that management had an A4 notice in each room pointing out that room parties were not allowed. I imagine a room party would not have had any more detrimental effect on our ability to sleep than the insanity of not having double glazed windows.
Coupled with the noise problem was the fact that the drapes did not remotely stop the street light flooding the room all night.
A problem with the TV meant that we could not get any free to air reception so the enforced waking time could not be spent in the that pursuit either. The staff member at reception tried her very best to remedy the TV problem and cannot be faulted for her efforts.
In fact it is the staff that are the standout feature of this hotel and they would be an invaluable addition to any of this hotel's competitors in Launceston.
They were empathetic to what we experienced, offered to discount the rate and presented us with a bottle of local champagne on checkout to make up for the restless night.
What a pity they are let down by penny pinching by the owner.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

Stayed here February 25-27 2011 for the first time and it will be the last. There is no double-glazing so the street noise on Fri/Sat night drives you insane. Admittedly MS-Fest was on and the place was a bit busier than I have experienced over the last 10 years although Launceston Cup times are pretty much the same. Additionally, the curtains are not block-out curtains so the lights from outside shine through all night and the sun wakes you at first light.
We we unable to stay at our normal hotel due to the late booking (with MS-Fest and the Cup, we should have done it in June). Shame.
Home tonight for some decent sleep.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOracleofOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenchs Forest, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

My husband and I had 3 nights here to hopefully to enjoy New Year's Eve celebrations - BIG MISTAKE!!! Absolutely nothing on for anyone to do outside of going to a restaurant. There was nothing open no fireworks nothing for families to do. It was like a ghost town - nothing open not even the shops. The accommodation was okay the gentleman on the desk "was not a happy chap at all". He obviously did not enjoy his job - it was an effort for him with any requests. We had an apartment which was very pleasant except you get woken up by the Post office clock chiming every 15-30 minutes which if you are a light sleeper doesn't work too well for sleep. Nice apartment but try and get one away from the front of the building. Also there is no parking and you have to pay for your parking in the public carpart across the road.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldfartSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
0.4 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
0.5 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
0.3 km away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
0.6 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.3 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Launceston? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Launceston

Property: Quest Launceston
Address: 16 Paterson St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Launceston
#5 Family Hotel in Launceston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,912 - ₹ 11,579
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Launceston 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent restoration of the historic Murray Building houses Quest Launceston. Centrally located, the property is a short stroll from the Launceston City Shopping Mall, Restaurant Precinct, Tourist Information Centre, City Park and Convention Centre. Only minutes to the renowned Cataract Gorge, Boags Brewery & River Cruise Terminal.As part of Australias largest serviced apartment chain, Quest Apartments, Quest Launceston offers all the modern facilities you expect with space, comfort and style.Offering a flexible variety of studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments, Quest Launceston is the ideal choice for business, relocations, groups, families and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Launceston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Hotel Launceston
Quest Launceston Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing