We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A bit noisy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 31 Launceston B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A bit noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

I stayed 1 night and found the accommodation to be very comfortable and clean, we were in an old mill room, the only disappointment was the noise which could be heard from a machine outside the room which went all night, this could be heard as there is a large gap under the entry door. Other guests stood in the area outside the rooms and smoked, the smell came into the room under the gap in the door. One more positive aspect is the location, near the gorge and the best restaurant in Tasmania Stillwater.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jogopen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    746
    356
    97
    70
See reviews for
534
704
69
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay for 2 nights, close to the gorge and wharf area. We were in the old mill section and the room was charming. The Gourlays lolly shop at the back adds to the charm, shame the private tram does not operate these connect to the 2 sections. The windmill at the back makes for a good photo. Nice breakfast of juice, eggs and toast included

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zep66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed for one night in a hotel room. it was on the 2nd floor.

I chose this hotel for close proximity to Cateract Gorge (visited twice - once during day and again after dark to see floodlight view of gorge) and to stay in an old coaching inn which was relocated. TV excellent picture quality. We had breakfast at the restaurant on site.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessiev25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed in a ground floor apartment and found it to be very comfortable in every way. The bed was just right and our room offered all you needed for a good stay. After travelling around Tassie we found the restaurant to be well priced in comparison. We had no noise problems from the main road and loved the fact that you could walk to the cafes alongside the river boardwalk and that Cataract Gorge was right on our doorstep. It was great not needing to drive to get to any of these places. We also loved how old and quaint the building was on the outside but modern and comfortable on the inside. This was one of our favourite accommodation stays in Tassie.

Room Tip: Probably good to stay on the ground floor if you are travelling with suitcases like we were and we s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carveit_gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Liked the character of the old building. Room was clean and comfortable. Road noise and rubbish truck were loud, so take ear plugs. We had a special which included a lovely cooked breakfast, so that made up for the downside.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen3093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.2 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
1.1 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.9 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.2 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#4 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.9 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments

Property: Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
Address: 147 Paterson St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Launceston
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,721 - ₹ 8,650
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel And Apartments
Leisure Hotel Launceston
Leisure Hotel Penny Royal
Launceston Penny Royal
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing