We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
22
34
16
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
34
16
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast every morning stay there again thoroughly enjoyed our stay close to town cereal
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2017

I have recently stayed at this property for 3 nights and with all the negative responses I was a little apprehensive. But now that I have stayed there I can say that I had an enjoyable time there. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The room includes tea coffee etc. Although our room faces the street there is very little noise at night. Perhaps heard 1 car late in the evening. For those who are light sleepers they do provided ear plugs. Every day the beds were made I make this statement as someone stated this did not happen. There is continental breakfast if you required a cooked breakfast you had to notify them the evening before for an extra charge. Every morning we and other guests were greeted and made sure that everything was replenished on the buffet. The breakfast was more then adequate. The people that ran this B & B were friendly and helpful. The hotel is in walking distance to everything. Would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: We had the lower floor room facing the street. Perhaps if you wanted a quieter room then request a room facing the back of the property.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

we stayed in a two bed apartment. its is an old fashione dplace , the people running it helpful. Breakfast was perfectly adequate. You can walk to town as its quite close by. Just beware , it is a very old classic building , hence some of the archways between rooms are low , if you are over 6ft tall, you need to stay aware of this.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

Jenny the manager of the place was delightful and friendly which was the one nice thing about the stay. We felt we did not get good value for money. Our room was small and the shower clean but stained, the water ran hot and cold the whole time we both tried to shower. The room had peeling wall paper and generally looked in need of a make over.I think some rooms are much better than others and as an older couple we were looking for comfort and a bit of space and we did not get that, however the room was well heated

Room Tip: make sure you get the ground floor if you have luggage very steep stairs
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mmaxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillviewHouse, Manager at Hillview House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Dear Maxine

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Hillview House. I was disappointed to read that you were not entirely satisfied with your room size and condition.
The heritage property was built in the mid nineteenth century and of course such buildings require on-going maintenance and repairs and we are constantly looking to improve our property and the service delivered. We hope that you would consider revisiting us the next time you stay in Launceston.

Jackie
Reservation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

Beautiful house, well situated, near the center of the town.
My room was cosy, quiet and clean, with a very comfortable bed. Good continental breakfast, but from 7:30AM to 8:30AM, amybe it's a little soon during holidays.
Staff friendly.

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank Isabel3192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillviewHouse, Manager at Hillview House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Dear Isabel

I was delighted to read your positive comments regarding your recent stay at Hillview House. We are committed to providing guests with the best possible experience coupled with the old world charm of a nineteenth century B&B. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and have noted your suggestion about extended breakfast times.

Thank you again.

Jackie
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Reading some of the reviews I wonder if I stayed at the same place. We were met on arrival by Jenny, who was very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Our room was clean, the bed very comfortable. Sure the bathroom is small, but it was clean and the shower was lovely and hot and shampoo and conditioner were provided. The continental breakfast was very adequate, choice of cereal, lots of fresh fruit, toast, spreads etc, and if you wanted a cooked breakfast you notified Jenny the day before - only $15.00 for 2 people.. For the price it was fine. Seems some people want the top shelf accommodation wherever they go, but don't want to pay for it. You can't please the whingers- we were very happy.:))

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dallas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HillviewHouse, Manager at Hillview House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Dear Dallas

Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. It is always satisfying to hear from guests who have clearly enjoyed their experience with us. We pride ourselves on creating a welcoming and warm atmosphere in a traditional B&B setting.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Jackie
Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews