We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveller rating
36
89
41
13
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
89
41
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews separate bathroom and toilet steep slope our room was spotlessly clean basic hotel offer breakfast york st family room bacon and eggs aurora stadium comfortable stay lady at reception queen bed good size great value for money room was large flights of stairs cooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 183 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

Found the room we were in nothing like what was pictured. Yellowing chipped paint work, multiple stains on the carpet and a bathroom that was so dank we didn’t use it. Having just driven 2.5 hours my partner was feeling ill and just wanted to settle. Also I think we were just so embarassed and shocked at the state of the room we didn’t know what to do except make the best of it. In retrospect we shouldn’t have stayed.

I did feel however feel the need to say just how unhappy we were to find a room that in no way was worth the $109 paid when we checked out. Especially when a rate of $85 was offered for next night.

Truly don’t mean for this to sound like a bad tempered rant but when you work hard for your money it’s an awful feeling your being ripped off. What I guess is more of a concern is that a room with stains and yellowing chipped paint and smelt would be offered to anyone.

Can only hope by offering some honest feedback there might be consideration of what standards are acceptable.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank monikaarnold123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018

Room was large with seating & table. Bed was comfortable & room stayed warm & cosy. Separate toilet which is great especially when traveling with a friend. The manager/staff were very friendly & accommodating. They even called me after I had left to say an item I may have lost was not found after a search by the cleaning staff. Thank you.

Room Tip: Car park on a hill so maybe not good for people with leg problems.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TassieAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

The Comfort Inn was comfortable, clean and convenient. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed our stay in Launceston which can be attributed in part to the inn's location.
Staff were friendly and professional and were sympathetic when another client started banging on our door because they couldn't contact the inn's after hours phone number.
The carpark is very steep with cars parked across the slope. It was hard to open and/or close doors and to not hit the adjacent car. Carparks in other hotels in the area are tiered. It will cost money but it would be a big plus to the comfort inn if they did a bit of work reconfiguring and tiering the carpark.
The inn is on the top of the hill with wonderful views and within a kilometre to shops and CBD. This is great but if you are walking bring good walking shoes and make sure you are fit enough to climb the hills.

Room Tip: Park on the top side of the carpark above all other cars
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JandPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete_Kylie, Owner at Comfort Inn Coach House Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving your review. I want to apologise again for the intrusion from another guest who just didn't read the web site and try to make contact during our office hours. We putting in place plans to possibly lift the car park, to make it almost flat. The benefit of being on top of Windmill Hill are the views, we have uninterrupted views north over the town and to the Tamar Valley and River.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018

My wife and I regularly travel from Hobart to Launceston to have our car serviced, We then usually embark on a day or so break from home.
On this visit we booked at the Coach House which we had heard had undergone extensive refurbishment. On arrival, much earlier than anticipated, we found our room ready for us, The Receptionist was very helpful as to where we could fill in the extra time on hand, and provided an easy to read map of Launceston.
Our room was spotlessly clean and tidy, the beds were more than comfortable (hard to rise from on a chilly morn!!!) and the full breakfast next morning was very satisfying indeed. The small dining room was warm and the self-help brekky items were easily available.The full cooked breakfast would satisfy even hard manual workers for the whole day!! Checkout was quick and easy and soon after breakfast we were on our way.
We will be at the Coach House when we are next in Launceston. It is located a 5 minute walk from the CBD and there are plenty of car parking spaces.
Our room faced about north west and the view was over the edge of the city and towards open land with mountains in the distance.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete_Kylie, Owner at Comfort Inn Coach House Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Thank you Colin for staying with us again, It's always a great pleasure to welcome back our return guests as well as new visitors to the Coach House. We have one of the best views in Launceston and yet we are only a short walk into town. The City park with the beautiful grounds and attractions like the Macaque monkeys are even closer than town centre, which is great for families. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

We just finished a long and tough hike on the Overland Track and were looking for a last minute place to stay for the night. We rung up the lovely people at Comfort Inn and they were so accommodating! They let us know about all the places to go in the area and made us feel extremely welcomed! The room was very spacious, with a comfortable bed and beautiful view overlooking the city!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Nik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete_Kylie, Manager at Comfort Inn Coach House Launceston, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, it was our pleasure to help you with your accommodation and point out some local attractions for you to have a look at.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews