We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (614)
Filter reviews
614 results
Traveller rating
345
215
37
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
345
215
37
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift city park larceny restaurant old stables main building leather chesterfield spa room boags brewery mod cons heritage building a ground floor room lovely hotel up stairs farmers market highly recommend this hotel old world charm in house restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 614 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

After two weeks traveling and camping around Tassie, unfortunately had car problem which gave us unexpected stay in Launceston. Clarion Hotel turned this into one of the best experiences of our trip. Staff were friendly from start to finish in all aspects of the Hotel. Food and staff at Larceny Restaurant could not have been better, this chef knows his trade.
Room was spacious,comfortable and clean with spacious spa and bathroom. Leather Chesterfield and decor stylish.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twiggholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I had an early flight out so decided to stay in Launceston at this hotel. The hotel is gorgeous with lots of lush features. The room was well set up with everything you needed and more.

The service during our brief stay was spot on. From check in to the service in the restaurant. Worth the stay and we will be back

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank DawnieLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We were lucky enough to get a spa suite in the renovated stables, and appreciated the comfort and excellent large bathroom. Things such as the large TV screen, Dilmah teas and comfortable bedding made for a pleasant stay.
There are however a few tired edges to this hotel that could be easily remedied for a truly 4.5 star stay. Little things such as the bathrobes being old and scratchy, a blown light in our room and then even more minute details such as creased, dirty writing paper and in-room hotel information that had been updated with pencil and pen rather than a re-print. Our spa room also had no leather chesterfield, as mentioned on the booking page on their website, rather an ugly upholstered couch of undeterminable colour and chipped wooden legs.
Breakfast the next morning had an excellent variety of food, set in quite a nice dining room, but whether because of the later hour that we breakfasted or because of some interesting cooking techniques, almost the hot food had the same rubbery, 'instant' texture that one expects in economy class on aeroplanes, i.e. 'fried' eggs that had most certainly never seen oil or a pan.
However, the location was excellent, and the staff were friendly (though certainly not overtly so), hence my four star recommendation. With a little more attention to detail and a better understanding of quality, the Clarion could become an extremely classy stay.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Thank you for providing me with one of the best hotel experiences ever when I recently stayed with you over 3 different nights in two different rooms. From the rooms to the check in to Larceny restaurant, I found everything superb. Your staff are friendly and very professional, the rooms stylish and clean, and beds very comfy. Larceny is a wonderful restaurant and catered for my food sensitivities with ease and grace. Congratulations! I look forward to staying with you again soon.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank lesley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Great staff, comfortable beds, huge rooms, terrific food, good location, stylish surroundings. Checked out all the competitors just and this place is the best. Marjorie looked after 10 x 50+ year old men on a hiking trip like they were family. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Ballifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews