We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Comfortable and warm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mantra Charles Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Redland City, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable and warm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed two nights, my husband and I. Was so warm and being the middle of winter that was important! There is a happy hour and comfy area to sit in with lounges and fire. Very modern style of decoration and I'm more into the old and woodsie but that's ok. The food served downstairs in the restaurant was excellent! Great portions and vegetables perfect. Really nice meals. Not a lot of choices but it covered all bases and wow for flavour! Easy check in and great location in the city. Shopping within walking distance and cafe's ...whatever you need. Enjoyed our stay and definitely would go back!

Room Tip: Might ask for room in front with a view of the city and possibly Tamar Valley if on the 5th floor ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrieN56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    427
    98
    23
    14
See reviews for
163
502
52
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melboune
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

During my stay in Launceston I was advised by my sales consultant I should stay here. He is a local and knows of others who stayed there and enjoyed it.

Everything was very good about my stay from the reception, the room and the breakfast. The only thing it was lacking over other hotels in the area is the view. Known for its picturesque surrounds and what I have experienced in other hotels, the view of the adjacent building was all I had.

Otherwise I will be seeing you guys again, in another room.


Thanks!

Room Tip: Not sure what is available but ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stav C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

stayed 2 nights in a corner spa room @ hotel charles ($200 @ night) which is pretty pricey for winter, I think the hotel goes for the business market where price isn't really a concern, reception staff never looked happy, checking in was pretty basic here's key there's lift room is on 3rd floor, no smiles or greetings when passing reception after that... the four different staff I saw on the desk always , a little off putting so any questions were answered by google! the location of the hotel was pretty convienient, there's was a great cafe with tasty food & coffee (Aromas) directly across the road, a little further there was a seriously good Indian restaurant (AAJ Indian) superb food and service, Now onto the room, the room itself was extremely clean, the bed was comfy with sweet pillows, good shower & bathroom set up and a spa in the bedroom window, free movie channel was appreciated & partner loved the pod coffee... alas there were a few negatives the room, it was advertised as overlooking the Tamar valley which it probably does and the views are somewhat good but you do look directly at and over the Launceston Hospital, which does mess with trying to have a romantic spa in the window ;D also as your are opposite where the ambulances park it stays fairly well lit @ night time there were no sirens but the blind set up struggled to block all the light, I like a very dark room for sleep so this affected me a little, no lounge just a couple of Egg chairs to sit on comfortable for a little while but a lounge would of been appreciated... overall the hotel was acceptable and I probably would stay here again but the staff could of been alot happier

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Charles recently for two nights. The room was spacious and comfortable, with a king size bed. The shower was awesome!

It still looks like a hospital in some ways but they've done a great job with it. Check in was easy, staff are discreet and it was nice and quiet, if a little on the over-warm side for me personally.

It's also a highly visible landmark from all over Launceston!

We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MsPraxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Recently stayed here on a business trip. Comfortable, convenient (right across the road from the hospital) and helpful staff. Nicely done up and beautiful art deco exterior. I struggled to sleep in the overheated room and should have fought longer with the air conditioning to adjust it. Yes, you can tell it was a hospital in a previous life but that does not detract from the modern decor. While happy to stay here for business, I probably wouldn't pay the price if it came out of my own pocket.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnygirlHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.6 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
1.7 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
1.5 km away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#7 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.8 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Launceston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Charles Hotel

Property: Mantra Charles Hotel
Address: 287 Charles St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#2 Business Hotel in Launceston
#2 Family Hotel in Launceston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,882 - ₹ 14,688
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests staying at Mantra Charles Hotel can expect an unforgettable time at their Launceston accommodation when visiting the food and wine region of Tasmania. Situated on the cosmopolitan Charles Street offering a choice of several modern room types, Mantra Charles Hotel is a great option for your next trip to Tasmania. Its art deco architecture is characterised by curved windows and a white exterior, aiding in its charm and making it one of Launceston's most popular hotels. Within Mantra Charles Hotel guests will find Restaurant Esca where they can enjoy local Tasmanian cuisine. There are lounges to relax in, meeting and conference rooms available and wireless internet (WiFi) (fee) throughout the hotel. Guests arriving at this hotel in Launceston by private vehicle will find plenty of onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing