We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra Charles Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I love this hotel! Rooms are so quiet, staff great and food amazing. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyfourAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    504
    115
    28
    14
See reviews for
201
577
67
333
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My wife & I recently stayed for 2 nights in a King Studio room on the third floor with a kitchenette, free wired internet & late check-out, although we missed out on having a city view. The room was very colourful with orange highlights standing out against the pale walls. There was a large flat-screen TV, security safe & the kitchenette was well stocked with the basic essentials, including an electric cook-top & microwave oven. The bathroom was very large & appeared to have been influenced by the hotel's former life as a private hospital, in that there was a timber bench in the shower for an invalid to use as well as chrome or stainless steel 'grab bars' on the walls behind & alongside the toilet. While there was a split system air conditioner on one wall in the bedroom, we turned it off at night & slept with the balcony door open, which we found more comfortable. Speaking of comfort, while the bed was very good, the pillows were a little firm for our liking & the doona relatively heavy. We had a continental breakfast in the restaurant one morning &, while there was a good range of cereal, fruit, yogurt, bread, croissants etc., at $16 each we thought it expensive. Also, we dined in the restaurant one evening & had the wagyu steak special (fresh breadroll with olive oil dip followed by wagyu steak, vegetables & chips together with a glass of wine) which, at $24 each, we enjoyed immensely & can recommend unreservedly. Every staff member we dealt with was friendly, courteous & helpful & nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is probably a 10 minute walk downhill into the city but could take a bit longer for older people on the way back. We drove both days & it took only 3 minutes or so each way. Summing up, the hotel was a pleasant surprise & we would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room on the third floor (the top hotel floor, although there appear to be 2 or 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agfox46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5,145 reviews
377 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,845 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

It ticked all the boxes but just missed it for me.
For what is more like a country town, the Charles stands out with its design, quality and attentiveness of staff.
But I normally like a walking city/town and Launceston is too spread out for everything to be accessible.
It was probably the restaurant scene that disappointed me as I was at the Charles for 5 nights and any restuarant was a car trip away.

But more than anything the feature I mainly missed was a swimming pool - for 5 days it is critical for me that a hotel has a pool.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This was a unique experience for us after staying in few hotels in Tasmania. the modern design, cleanliness, everything new and good quality service was something we missed a lot within few days of our stay in Tasmania.

it is highly recommended to stay in this hotel and enjoy its value

Room Tip: compare to very expensive low quality, unclean hotels in Tasmania this is Fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayvan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The Charles is fast becoming the best hotel in Launceston. While not a five star hotel by any means, it ticks all the boxes with attentive staff, excellent clean rooms that are of a decent size and a great location.

I have stayed here three times now and have experienced excellent service each time. This last stay required a (very!) early checkin at 12:30 in order to get ready for a 2:30 wedding. This wasn't a problem for the Hotel at all - even on a busy weekend where it was fully booked!

Definitely recommended

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Launceston hotels
1.7 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
1.6 km away
Clarion Hotel City Park Grand
1.5 km away
The Sebel Launceston
The Sebel Launceston
#3 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Quality Hotel Colonial Launceston
5.3 km away
Country Club Tasmania
Country Club Tasmania
#5 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
1.0 km away
Balmoral on York
Balmoral on York
#6 of 30 in Launceston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Charles Hotel

Property: Mantra Charles Hotel
Address: 287 Charles St, Launceston, Tasmania 7250, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Launceston
#2 Business Hotel in Launceston
#2 Family Hotel in Launceston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Launceston
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,264 - ₹ 11,902
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Charles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests staying at Mantra Charles Hotel can expect an unforgettable time at their Launceston accommodation when visiting the food and wine region of Tasmania. Situated on the cosmopolitan Charles Street offering a choice of several modern room types, Mantra Charles Hotel is a great option for your next trip to Tasmania. Its art deco architecture is characterised by curved windows and a white exterior, aiding in its charm and making it one of Launceston's most popular hotels. Within Mantra Charles Hotel guests will find Restaurant Esca where they can enjoy local Tasmanian cuisine. There are lounges to relax in, meeting and conference rooms available and wireless internet (WiFi) (fee) throughout the hotel. Guests arriving at this hotel in Launceston by private vehicle will find plenty of onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Charles Hotel Launceston, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing