We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DownsSteam Tourist Railway & Museum
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Toowoomba must do

Upon arrival we were greeted by a volunteer who proceeded to show us around the whole site showing... read more

Reviewed 2 October 2018
cafandgim1
,
Melbourne, Australia
Railway Museum

I found this place very interesting have good look around, plenty to look at, don't forget to look... read more

Reviewed 26 September 2018
Dodge522
Read all 80 reviews
  
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
61
18
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
18
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold coin donation dedicated volunteers guided tour train buffs great surprise rolling stock entry fee regular basis dreamtime carriage restoration engine art platform sleeper dedication interpretation
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We have attended a couple of functions at Downs Steam Museam and were blown away by the achievements of a group of dedicated volunteers. They have managed to rebuild from the ground up, a place where train enthusiasts can embrace yesteryear and at the same time enjoy a wonderful meal, or just a coffe, drink and snack.

Their passion continues as they set themselves more projects and I would recommend that you phone them to gather information about any forthcoming steam train trips they may have on their calendar. A place to enjoy something out of the ordinary!

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Travelling by train is a long lost art. My grand daughter loved walking through the trains on show and was amazed that they actually had dining cars and sleepers. Her question was, "Is this what is was like in the olden days?" Its only open in limited hours but if you have a spare hour on a Sat morning then I highly recommend this attraction. And entry is by a gold coin donation.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Accidentally found DownsSteam on a things to do in Toowoomba site. Spent a delightful morning there. Great restoration works in progress on some marvelous old rolling stock. Especially looking forward to the completion of work on the Drayton Belle to full Art Deco splendor and taking a ride on her after she is ready to roll next year. This is a very young museum staffed by enthusiastic people lovingly bringing back to life some beautiful machines. I will visit again and again.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Maryanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Spent a lovely morning here, great guide, beautiful gardens, very interesting, especially the aboriginal art, and MIck!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew C, General Manager at DownsSteam Tourist Railway & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi John,

Thankyou for your review, great to hear you had a good time at DownsSteam.

We look forward to seeing you again out on the mainline.

Regards,
Andrew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Entry by gold coin donation is so under stating this place. We had a great personal tour guide who took a lot of time to show us through and around all exhibits. Very professional set up and the Indigenous carriage was beyond belief a true master piece and a credit to both the artist and the group of volunteers for making the carriage available. A must see attraction

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews