We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Highlander Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We were in Toowoomba for a family Wedding and Christening and stayed at the Highlander for three nights. The self contained apartments were well set out, clean and had everything we needed to prepare for each event. The apartment was quiet and the beds were so comfortable we've asked for the make so we can purchase one!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 222 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

The rooms are BIG and the beds are very comfortable. There are lots of choices with the room menu, and everything I chose was good, both flavour and quality. The rooms are cleaned well. If you like soap, take it with you as they provide the liquid soap, shampoo and conditioner in a dispenser.
There is a sofa, as well as a table and chairs. A five minute walk down the hill brings you to a convenience centre with lots of takeaway options.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room nearer the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

On the way back to Brisbane after 6 weeks in Sri Lanka, we had to go to Toowoomba for a compulsory work related matter. We were quite exhausted after 10 flight and 12 hour transit. In Toowoomba we stayed at Highlander Motor Inn and Apartments. Place is as good as Toowoomba itself. No noise at all. We slept very well to refresh ourselves. Very spacious rooms, cleaner than my house. Huge TV (one in main bed room too), Ample supply of clean linen. All the "staff" members are very pleasant and quite understanding.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Upadyaya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Just stayed overnight at the highlander with my wife, and was a bit dubious due to the mixed reviews(particularly the last one) but was astonished at how different peoples expectations can be.Think some people must live in the burj el arib to find this place lacking.Having stayed at six different motels in Toowoomba(i am there at least once a month), i can say this is definately the best motel i have stayed at in Toowoomba.Had an executive room which was , comfortable, tastefully decorated and had an extremely comfortable bed.It was modern but not garish as some of the new red, black, chrome motels can be.There was no street noise and it has an excellent restaurant which i have eaten at before and found to be very good.

The staff where friendly and helpful and the price was very reasonable compared to one or two other places i have stayed at in Toowoomba.Would definately recommend and will be staying here on my future trips to this area.

Room Tip: 17 was awesome though didn't see any others(first time i have stayed here)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris7440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stated here based on the '2 bedroom apartment' tag. The rooms are not apartments! They are motel rooms. First room had no bath, no ensuite, one a/c unit in the lounge room and no a/c or even fans in the bedrooms. The 'kitchenette' was a sink and a microwave with a plug in grill with hot plate on top. Second room had spa bath and small kitchenette. The laundry was communal and coin operated. Overall the whole experience had a cheap feel. Everything from the synthetic blankets to the watered down dishwashing liquid. Good as a motel if you just wanted somewhere to sleep, but not IMHO an apartment. We have moved to another motel which has proper apartments - kitchen with oven and dishwasher, dining table that seats six, bathroom and ensuite, laundry in the apartment and views of a golf course rather than the highway. Couldn't be happier now.

Room Tip: Get as far away from the two main roads as you can. Trucks rolling by 24/7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlanderminn, Owner at Highlander Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Unfortunately the only “special request” in the paperwork provided by this guest’s booking agent when making the booking, was for a “porta-cot”. This we provided.

As most of our Apartments have showers, his request for a bath was met after the first night when he was moved to one containing a spa bath. We have included photos on the site of the Apartment to which the guest was moved.

We were unaware of his desire for an in-room laundry and the complex (as we advertise) has only ever had a Guest laundry. Perhaps his booking agent should have booked a house or something similar to accommodate his needs. The accommodation he moved to after leaving our motel has advertised rates of some $200.00 per night more than that charged at the Highlander.

It is advisable to always let your booking agent know your requirements, especially if you have children, so that all accommodation expectations can be met.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toowoomba hotels
1.1 km away
MAS Country Platinum International
1.6 km away
Best Western Tuscany On Tor Motor Inn
2.8 km away
Comfort Inn Glenfield
Comfort Inn Glenfield
#24 of 43 in Toowoomba
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Best Western Plus Ambassador on Ruthven Motor Inn
1.7 km away
City Golf Club Motel
City Golf Club Motel
#3 of 43 in Toowoomba
237 reviews
3.4 km away
Altitude Motel Apartments
Altitude Motel Apartments
#2 of 43 in Toowoomba
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlander Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlander Motor Inn

Address: 226-228 James St, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Toowoomba
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
Price Range: ₹ 6,689 - ₹ 8,410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Highlander Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Motels and Apartments in Queensland's Garden City of Toowoomba. The complex offers Standard, Family and Executive Motel rooms (some with spa baths)as well as 1, 2 and 3 bedroom fully self-contained Apartments. Located a short drive to the City Centre, the University of Southern Queensland and with direct access to the Toowoomba Base Hospital. The Highlander Motor Inn is ideal for corporates, families, couples and groups. Plenty of off-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Highlander Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing