We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good value. Enthusiastic helpful staff. Great breakfast. Clean. Central.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Downs Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Downs Motel
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Toowoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value. Enthusiastic helpful staff. Great breakfast. Clean. Central.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed here for one night and it was great value for money. We checked in at 8.30pm and the lovely hostess was ready and waiting for us. She was so helpful, telling us about local restaurants and shops. The breakfast was yummy and the furniture was modern and clean. Digital tv in room and heater/air con. Not fancy, but basic value for money budget accommodation with excellent service. Thanks Petula :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PC_SunshineCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    28
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
26
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hobart
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

I'd never stayed in a Shopping Centre before I stayed here, had to take a second look driving in but yep, it's in the middle of the shopping centre. A nice little place, the hosts greeted us as we walked into the reception introduced herself and offered both myself and my girlfriend a complimentary cold drink from the fridge and we had a chat to her for a while about our travels.

The room was neat, clean, tidy and quiet with everything we needed, there's plates, bowels and cutlery available from reception if needed.

Although parking is limited ( 20 rooms and 17 spaces ) it was suggested we park our trailer in the undercover parking away from prying eyes and park the car out in the carpark for the shopping centre. It is safe out there the host parks her car there every night and it's right under her bedroom window.

Would Recommend this place to anyone who needs a bed in Toowoomba.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HobartBoothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night for convenience as we came to explore Toowoomba for a couple of days.

The room was ok, definitely not 5 star luxury but good enough for what we needed. The bed was very springy and felt old. The room decor could be down with an upgrade and the tv reception, especially with the cable channels were terrible. The free to air channels were ok though. The position of the tv was poor and could have been bigger for the size of the room. I'm probay just being picky now.

Breakfast was included in our price ($105) which was quite nice.

Overall an average motel but at least it was clean and quiet. I wouldn't pay mire than $100 a night in future.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KBreaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
102 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

This is my second time to Toowoomba for work. I stayed somewhere else on my first trip and this time I stayed at Downs. I found this motel to be fantastic and would recommend staying here again. The owners were really friendly and helpful. I got a good rate through www.wotif.com and the location was good too. It is just on the edge of town and is conveniently found off a major street. The room was clean and had everything you need. Although the location was just off a main road, I didn’t hear any noise at night. They serve dinner at night until 7:30pm and they can serve cooked breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Qld
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We stayed at the Downs to have a night away from the city and to have a look around Toowoomba as we had not been before. The $115 'Meals Deal' including Dinner and Breakfast and a drink on arrival for 2 was fantastic value. All in all we had a relaxing break and came home very refreshed - would definitely recommend the Downs to anyone staying in Toowoomba. Good quiet spot, friendly hosts and Austar in the room and room was very clean.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanMish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toowoomba hotels
0.9 km away
Burke and Wills Hotel
Burke and Wills Hotel
#5 of 44 in Toowoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
2.1 km away
Comfort Inn Grammar View
Comfort Inn Grammar View
#9 of 44 in Toowoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.0 km away
Highlander Motor Inn
Highlander Motor Inn
#1 of 44 in Toowoomba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Ruthven Street Motor Inn
Ruthven Street Motor Inn
#7 of 44 in Toowoomba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.2 km away
Leichhardt Motor Inn
Leichhardt Motor Inn
#17 of 44 in Toowoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
2.8 km away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#20 of 44 in Toowoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downs Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downs Motel

Property: Downs Motel
Address: 669 Ruthven St, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Toowoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Toowoomba
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,777 - ₹ 6,415
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Downs Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downs Motel offers a level of comfort and style for guests in search of quality accommodation and friendly attentive service. Featuring 23 modern and traditional style motel rooms offering single, double and triple bedding options, the Downs Motel is proud to be affiliated with the Healthy Hotels programme so you are sure to experience a clean, comfortable and peaceful stay with us. All rooms feature 32" Digital flat screen TV with a range of Foxtel channels including 3 sport and 3 movie channels, All rooms have ensuite bathroom, fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle, tea/coffee, reverse cycle air-conditioning & have FREE wi-fi internet access. Downs Motel is conveniently located in the CBD and is one block to the City centre. 250m walk to Restaurants, cafes and shopping centres. Walk to the City Golf Club, and Toowoomba Base Hospital or only a short drive to the main sporting grounds and fields, University of Southern Queensland, the Empire Theatre, Function Centre and much more. For your added convenience, there is ample off street parking & guest laundry available. Why not take advantage of our in-room dining service for breakfast and dinner and choose from our delicious range of hearty home cooked meals. Lunch packages are also available on request. Office hours are 7:30am – 7:30pm however a 24 hour check in service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Downs Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing