We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably satisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windmill Motel & Reception Centre
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Mackay
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Reasonably satisfied”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

I have stayed here on numerous occasions and find it to be reasonable. Although the location is well away from the city centre I find it to be quiet as it is situated off the highway. Considering the number of times that I have stayed there, maybe about 12, I would normally expect the reception staff to welcome me back. Alas the staff seem to treat me as an inconvenience to their day. That said I find the rooms well set out with plenty of space to set up the laptop. I have stayed in the rooms across the road but I do prefer the rooms on the main hotel side. I would mark this higher if not for the staff attitude.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scowler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    43
    23
    8
    9
See reviews for
41
15
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 526 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

There are very few decent places to stay in Mackay and this is the better alternative.
Mackay is crying out for an upmarket establishment where businessmen can do a bit more work in the evening on a well-designed desk/workstation and also enjoy modern room utilities and surroundings.
People on business just want to chill out after a long hard day. It is difficult to do this in rooms with no outlook or good feel about them.
I would be more than happy to pay more to achieve this.
Another good reason to stay at the Windmill is the good food in the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WellTravelledAussie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Gambier
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Had a one night stay in Mackay and stayed at the Windmill. There is nothing wrong with the Windmill, it is clean, the room was large, the bed comfortable, it is just the price that hotels charge in Mackay. If the room was $130 I would have suggested it was value for money, alas it was $40 more. This is not just this hotel though, all accomodation is expensive in Mackay.

The hotel has internet facilities and a restaurant but is a few kilometers out of the city so there is little to do if you are without a car. As a one night stropover it is OK but I wouldn't stay two nights, though I wouldn't spend two nights in Mackay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bannedspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We got in quite late after a really hard drive, so I was a bit tired when we checked in so I wasn't sure whether I was picking up a vibe off the reception staff or just imagining it. "No, you're fine," my husband told me afterwards. "That woman was just a *****." And as a result, my experience with this property was all downhill from there. Amazing how just the attitude of the person who greets you can set the tone for the rest of your stay.

The room was nothing to get excited about, slightly nicer looking bedroom than standard, about right for the price, but very ordinary bathroom. Shutters instead of curtains, and one or two had broken slats.

Checking out was the practically the same story again, charmless and disinterested service.

I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank var_able
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

No sleep for the first night of our stay as the neighbours decided to leave their door open to the joining front entrance - and they were noisy. Second night much better, but for a four star lacked the trimmings. One tiny bottle of shampoo/conditioner for two nights for two people and no shower cap or other luxuries normally expected for this level of motel and the price paid.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MackayCheetah50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackay hotels
6.2 km away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
209 reviews
3.4 km away
Mackay Grande Suites
Mackay Grande Suites
#23 of 34 in Mackay
201 reviews
3.0 km away
Oaks Rivermarque
Oaks Rivermarque
#8 of 34 in Mackay
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
3.2 km away
White Lace Motor Inn
White Lace Motor Inn
#14 of 34 in Mackay
126 reviews
3.4 km away
Shakespeare Motel
Shakespeare Motel
#7 of 34 in Mackay
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windmill Motel & Reception Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windmill Motel & Reception Centre

Property: Windmill Motel & Reception Centre
Address: 5 Highway Plaza | Bruce Highway, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Mackay
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,185 - ₹ 6,862
Hotel Class:4 star — Windmill Motel & Reception Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windmill Motel and Reception Centre is located 1.7 km (1 mi) from Mount Pleasant Shopping Centre and 3.7 km (2.3 mi) from Jubilee Park. Highlights at this motel include a restaurant, an outdoor swimming pool, and free self parking. All 63 rooms feature free WiFi, Foxtel and Tea & Coffee making facilities. The Windmill Motel is in a perfect location for those who enjoy keeping fit with many running tracks located around the Gooseponds at the back of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windmill Motel & Reception Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mackay
Mackay Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing