We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and will be back”
Review of Eungella Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eungella Chalet
Ranked #13 of 18 Mackay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We spent a Sat night getaway from Mackay with the family in the cabins behind the Eungella Chalet. The cabin was spotlessly clean and the staff were efficient and friendly. The cabin was fully contained especially the kitchen which had every cooking utensil you could think of and the fire place had wood supplied including firestarters to get the fire started. We all dined at the Chalet that night and thoroughly enjoyed the meals and friendly service. The platypus viewing at Broken River was a success as usual. We will definitely be back to stay at The Eungella Chalet.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicknSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2011

Review of cabin 11
Beautiful modern interior set in a rustic cabin on the misty tip of Eungella
The brand new bathroom has a clean crispness about it.
Soft, luxurious floor mats made it great for the family to sit in front of the fireplace and play boardgames - watching the clouds roll by outside
Bedrooms were decked out with modern furnishings, linen, soft lighting and plush floor mats - beautiful under foot
Full kitchen facilities meant we could cook and entertain in our own cabin.
We could walk down to the village store in 2 mins for essentials & ice blocks for the kids
Sitting on new plush lounge suits in front of the fire with a book ensured a very relaxing time.
This unit is adorned with beautiful, original artwork by a local artist.
A short walk down to the Eungella Chalet provided a beautiful meal around an open fireplace, friendly service of days gone by and during the day, a view that will leave you breathless.
Overall, a beautiful place to stay.
 

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finerthinsinlife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Just got back from a couple of days staying at the cabins behind the Eungella Chalet. The accommodation we rented was great. Originally we looked at Cabin 4 (one bedroom) which has a beautiful view into the valley, but ended up staying in a two bedroom cabin (Cabin 11) that faced west into the mountains. The cabin was clean, modern and well taken care of with all the ammenities you need for a short stay (Fridge, stove, microwave, TV and DVD player). It was nice to have a wood burning fire heater going in the evening. The cabins are privately owned and maintained but managed by the chalet, so I can't speak for the ammenities and layout of the other cabins.

The cabin was a short walk to the Chalet for dinner and drinks and an easy few minutes drive to Broken River to see the platypus and the abundant hiking trails in the area. The views from the Chalet restaurant are breath-taking. The numerous trails are easy to walk and are all well sign posted. Best time of day to catch the platypus swimming around is early morning or late afternoon. The turtles you can see anytime of the day.

An added bonus was being able to sit on the private verandah and watch the sun go down in the evening and to wake up in the morning surrounded by clouds as they burnt off in the early hours. The surrounding area is very peaceful, quiet and relaxing. We met a few locals during our stay and all of them were very friendly and by the second day knew us by name.

Room Tip: # 4 valley sunrise (E), # 11 mountain sunset (W)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ausnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

the food was very lack lustre. Very limited menu, perhaps it has now been extended and is of good quality post cyclone opening. There are some great establishments around Mackay and very vew fail to provide a top notch meal this one included. Given that food and beverage is an integral part of a businesses ROI, I am amazed that great food is not forthcoming. These establishments are sitting on gold mines, it's a real shame they don't know how to mine it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msqMackay_Qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

I recently decided to take my family on a holiday - we wanted somewhere peaceful and calm to take the kids in North Queensland where we have family. After consulting with the locals, we came to the decision that Eungella was the way to go. We drove up the picturesque mountain range - aghast at the spectacular views. When we got to the Eungella Chalet - we were greeted by friendly management and were put into Cabin 11. Needless to say we had chosen the right place to get away! The Cabin was beautifully decorated and the manager said it had been recently refurbished. The amenities were in great condition and the bedrooms were perfect for a rain-forest getaway! I would highly recommend this cabin and Eungella to any travelers - Amazing experience and amazing housing! The best part was the price - cheap as chips at $110

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandra589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackay
4.1 km away
Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella
16.3 km away
Finch Hatton Gorge Cabins
Finch Hatton Gorge Cabins
#2 of 2 in Finch Hatton
16 reviews
73.0 km away
Comfort Resort Blue Pacific
Comfort Resort Blue Pacific
#1 of 1 in Blacks Beach
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
73.7 km away
Potters Oceanside Motel
71.7 km away
Oaks Rivermarque
Oaks Rivermarque
#9 of 34 in Mackay
237 reviews
71.6 km away
Ibis Mackay
Ibis Mackay
#2 of 34 in Mackay
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eungella Chalet? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eungella Chalet

Address: Dalrymple Heights, Mackay, Queensland 4740, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Mackay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Mackay
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Eungella Chalet Hotel Mackay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing