We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Good and Recommended

Booked the Glow Worm tour with TGC with dinner option. The pickup was great and the dinner... read more

Reviewed 11 December 2015
Steven L
,
Singapore, Singapore
Gold Coast Light Rail

This light rail service runs parallel to all the gold coast hotels and runs between broadbeach and... read more

Reviewed 19 June 2015
Deborah H
,
Cheltenham, Australia
Read all 18 reviews
  
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
11
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
5
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2012

What an exciting day we had on the Gold Coast (surfers paradise) spending there a full day. We came from Brisbane by train and can reach the beach easily by bus. we discovered a fabulous place with long and long sand beaches, many places to stay and very good restaurants not so expensive than in Brisbane area. The color of the water is really special. My wife said that she also had good time just to look at the guys all along the beach!!!!!!!!!! Good for her. Next time we go to Australia, we will spend more time at the beach. Unforgettable. highly recommended to visit... for lovers of beautiful beaches, this is the place to go in Australia.

Date of experience: May 2012
Thank Paul-Claude33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We, [my wife and teenage daughter and I] have just spent a week on the Gold Coast. i am sick of hearing Aussies and others bleat about the cost of holidaying in Australia and that Asia-Bali, Phukette etal are cheaper. FACTS 5 star Marriott Surfers for $250 per night including breakfast for 2 which has superb rooms amazing pool and water playground, fantastic food offerings and buffets that put Bali's 'best' to shame- averaging $35 per head per meal excluding drinks- a lunch special full service buffet salad bar @ $20per head. Hire car brand new Subara for $60 a day. Great shopping, great walks and waterways everywhere. Theme parks at similar entry to any where in Asia. with sheap budget airfares form everywhere its great. No customs checks, not pestering street merchants, clean beaches and streets. All this for less than $1,000 per head for a week accommodation, hire car food theme parks. Australia [media especially] STOP perpetuating the myth that Bali etal are better value- go to the Gold Coast!!

Date of experience: April 2012
Thank Steedos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Recently returning to the Gold Coast ( Australia ) after living there for many years I decided to write on behalf of Trip Advisor, perhaps hoping readers could benifit from the review.
The GC as it is locally known, starts at Coolangatta and ends near Beaudesert, close to Brisbane making it approx the same size as the Island of Rhodes. Many people unfortunately believe it is just Surfers Paradise, beaches, fun parks and only caters for families. In actual fact the GC has a great deal more to offer ranging from the wonderful Hinterland, Mount Tambourine with its many vineyards, art galleries, specialist shops, the nut factory and local markets. Drive further afield and visit the lavander farm, on the way stop , visit the Llama station and there are great pubs on the way. Perhaps another day visit the glow worm farm, meander through the amazing country side, coming back through the border of NSW stopping at MOOBALL for a light lunch. This is a small town completely covered in in a black & white cow skin pattern, drive back through Coolangatta where you will find fabulous sea food restaurants and if you are lucky enough to be there during the WINTERSUN festival, dont forget your 50's clothes its a buzz with Elvis look-a-likes,fabulous cadillacs and people jiving in the streets.
Make your way back through Currumbin, if you have time stop at the animal sanctuary view the Australian wildlife, if you dont have time make sure you visit on another day or evening it is well worth it.. On to Broadbeach , this being the better part of the GC, superior restaurants and clubs, the casino if you are so inclined,horse racing a few minutes away, lovely beaches , parks. and plenty of shopping.
Basing yourself on the coast is a good idea as Brisbane is a one hour train ride away, however the downside to the Gold Coast is the poor public transport, a car is a necessity.
I hope this review, completes a better picture for tourists looking for more than the V8 car racing and schoolies week.

Date of experience: September 2011
3  Thank andrea d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Went with grandson (14yrs) on the glow worm caves trip, this also had dinner in our package. From the pick up till the end in would have been one of the best tours I have been on. Dinner was at The Loaded Hog, the meal 3courses was served with the best attitude a waitress could have. A pleasure to dine there.Could not fault the meal or service in any way, only the highest regard for all who served us. The trip to the caves with Sonya was the most informative from the start in Surfers till we arrived back. Can not praise Sonya as a host enough. She has so much knowledge of the Coast, the wildlife,even the stars, she is certainly a guide that has it all and love what she does. Would recomend this as the best tour on the coast.

Date of experience: July 2011
4  Thank kiaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

This was one of the most magical & awe-inspiring experiences of my life. The rainforest at night is completely black, and a little spooky, but tiny pinpoint lights of the glow worms scatter throughout the darkness, making the rainforest look like a starry night.

The tour culminated in a 'grotto' where thousands of glow worms lit up the cave ceiling and walls while an unseen waterfall thundered outside. My daughter and I felt like we were in the movie Avatar - it was thrillingl

I really enjoyed how our guide taught us about the many interesting plants and animals to be found in the rainforest, and how her aboriginal ancestors would have used these plants for food, medicines and even tools and utensils. She also told us personal anecdotes about playing in this national park when she was a child. This really brought the rainforest to life, and changed it from spooky to fascinating. Botanical stand-outs were the enormous strangler figs and the lawyer vine.

I also thought it was a nice touch to have the bus stop in a clear area outside the national park so the guides could point out southern hemisphere constellations.

I highly, highly recommend the glow worm tour! However, I strongly advise skipping the dinner part of the tour, unless you favour quantity over quality.

2  Thank krispian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews