We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gold Coast - Australia and surrounds”
Review of Tour Gold Coast

Tour Gold Coast
Ranked #109 of 205 Tours in Gold Coast
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy an evening rainforest walk to see thousands of sparkling glow worms which make their home in a cave featuring a spectacular cascading waterfall. Local guides enthrall visitors with the history, culture, and lifestyle of the traditional land owners, and their interaction with this special World Heritage listed site. Finish with supper in the forest and star gazing. Aboriginal guides on most tours. Tours nightly with or without an Aussie dinner.
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Recently returning to the Gold Coast ( Australia ) after living there for many years I decided to write on behalf of Trip Advisor, perhaps hoping readers could benifit from the review.
The GC as it is locally known, starts at Coolangatta and ends near Beaudesert, close to Brisbane making it approx the same size as the Island of Rhodes. Many people unfortunately believe it is just Surfers Paradise, beaches, fun parks and only caters for families. In actual fact the GC has a great deal more to offer ranging from the wonderful Hinterland, Mount Tambourine with its many vineyards, art galleries, specialist shops, the nut factory and local markets. Drive further afield and visit the lavander farm, on the way stop , visit the Llama station and there are great pubs on the way. Perhaps another day visit the glow worm farm, meander through the amazing country side, coming back through the border of NSW stopping at MOOBALL for a light lunch. This is a small town completely covered in in a black & white cow skin pattern, drive back through Coolangatta where you will find fabulous sea food restaurants and if you are lucky enough to be there during the WINTERSUN festival, dont forget your 50's clothes its a buzz with Elvis look-a-likes,fabulous cadillacs and people jiving in the streets.
Make your way back through Currumbin, if you have time stop at the animal sanctuary view the Australian wildlife, if you dont have time make sure you visit on another day or evening it is well worth it.. On to Broadbeach , this being the better part of the GC, superior restaurants and clubs, the casino if you are so inclined,horse racing a few minutes away, lovely beaches , parks. and plenty of shopping.
Basing yourself on the coast is a good idea as Brisbane is a one hour train ride away, however the downside to the Gold Coast is the poor public transport, a car is a necessity.
I hope this review, completes a better picture for tourists looking for more than the V8 car racing and schoolies week.

Date of experience: September 2011
3  Thank andrea d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
Filter

10 - 14 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2011

Went with grandson (14yrs) on the glow worm caves trip, this also had dinner in our package. From the pick up till the end in would have been one of the best tours I have been on. Dinner was at The Loaded Hog, the meal 3courses was served with the best attitude a waitress could have. A pleasure to dine there.Could not fault the meal or service in any way, only the highest regard for all who served us. The trip to the caves with Sonya was the most informative from the start in Surfers till we arrived back. Can not praise Sonya as a host enough. She has so much knowledge of the Coast, the wildlife,even the stars, she is certainly a guide that has it all and love what she does. Would recomend this as the best tour on the coast.

Date of experience: July 2011
4  Thank kiaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

This was one of the most magical & awe-inspiring experiences of my life. The rainforest at night is completely black, and a little spooky, but tiny pinpoint lights of the glow worms scatter throughout the darkness, making the rainforest look like a starry night.

The tour culminated in a 'grotto' where thousands of glow worms lit up the cave ceiling and walls while an unseen waterfall thundered outside. My daughter and I felt like we were in the movie Avatar - it was thrillingl

I really enjoyed how our guide taught us about the many interesting plants and animals to be found in the rainforest, and how her aboriginal ancestors would have used these plants for food, medicines and even tools and utensils. She also told us personal anecdotes about playing in this national park when she was a child. This really brought the rainforest to life, and changed it from spooky to fascinating. Botanical stand-outs were the enormous strangler figs and the lawyer vine.

I also thought it was a nice touch to have the bus stop in a clear area outside the national park so the guides could point out southern hemisphere constellations.

I highly, highly recommend the glow worm tour! However, I strongly advise skipping the dinner part of the tour, unless you favour quantity over quality.

2  Thank krispian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

I recently attended the Glow Worm Tour on a visit to the Gold Coast. As my partner wasn't feeling well i had to attend on my own (including dinner) This did not upset my experience at all. The Guide of our tour group sat with me and chatted whilst we both ate which was nice. (Whilst the meal wasn't 5 star i would recommend taking the tour 'with dinner as you hear more about the Gold Coast') We were in a lovely clean bus and our guide provided interesting commentary on the history of the Gold Coast as we travelled to the caves.

Once at the national park it was obvious how passionate this company is about promoting eco-tourism, a healthy environment for 'Worms' and the conservation of the park - None of the tour felt rushed and the guides didn't make us feel like we were just 'bums on seats'

The actual cave was beautiful, like nothing i've ever seen before! We were provided with interesting facts on our walk along the mountain before being taken back to our accommodation - One of the best tours i've been on!

1  Thank jessieloveshertunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013
Google Translation

Date of experience: August 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tour Gold Coast also viewed

 

Been to Tour Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing