We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service”
Review of The Bay Apartments

The Bay Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bay Apartments
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

When we arrived no one was there to greet us and didn't leave a set of keys for us. Then after we got in they told us we hadn't paid and charged us double. After we showed the payments they called us liers didn't refund us. The pool and gardens are very badly kept. Also when we arrived the washing machine was full of dirty linen. On top of that our car spot was full of other people's junk(see pictures below) On top of that we had booked for 5 but when we arrived there was no extra bed in our room. I would not recommend staying here and I would not stay again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Reef S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowCoolangatta, Manager at The Bay Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

My apologies that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and for the errors on our part. As you arrived on a Sunday, the one day of the week the office is closed we were to have left your keys in the lockbox. Unfortunately we had mistakenly not left the keys out but when you phoned on my mobile my husband returned to the building within 20 minutes. We did put your payment through and then refunded it to you when we realised it had gone through twice. The laundry that was left in the washing machine were mattress protectors that we had washed between guests stays and inadvertantly left in the machine. The car space that you show in the picture belongs to an owner occupier in the building and is not a holiday apartment. We take our position here seriously and try to provide guests with a good experience. Unfortunately we made several errors here and for that we apologise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Great little appartments however no air-cons in rooms, fans speeds at high speed not fast enough to keep cool, bathrooms old with warped vanity, showers screens need new or fixing, toilets are obstructed by the door if sitting on it. Found hair in drain so not sure if cleaning is done!!

Pillows and beds improving had sore and neck back after one night so if you can bring your own pillow it might help!

No lifts makes lugging bags up stairs so if you may have trouble carrying your bags it could be an issue. Underground car park no good for high vehicles with roof pods or 4WD's but parking on the street bit of a concern.

Close to beach with walking distance and lookout not far. Great coffee shop on the corner. Also be ware 9am check out here as well!

Owners great at check in and friendly.

Would I stay here again? No as I want a view!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

Comfortable, well priced units in a great location with good pool facility. Very helpful managers before and during our stay for Alison, nothing was too much trouble.
Close to the beach and quiet. Good size units for the price with well equipped kitchens. Some bathrooms were a bit old.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoctorBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

The Bay Apartments are located a short walk from everything you need for a beach holiday: beautiful beaches, restaurants, surf club dining, coffee, shopping. Off street parking. Large onsite pool. BBQ. Nothing further required - just add you!

Stayed: December 2015
1  Thank A-Reel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

My friend and I attended a workshop near Rainbow Bay and stayed in this lovely location just around the corner. Alison and Keith were as helpful as could be in every way. They made sure our (small) requests were attended to right away. The accommodation was just what we wanted - a bedroom and bath each, a modern fully-equipped kitchenette, a big living room and television, split cycle air conditioner, ceiling fans, and a balcony with a pool nearby. Unfortunately as it's winter we will have to return in summer to enjoy the pool and Rainbow Bay beach! I recommend this for those who want a home-from-home to enjoy.

The only drawback could be the expense of connecting to wi-fi, I paid about $6 twice in order to use it for 30 minutes each time. Otherwise it is simple to go to the nearby Twin Towns club and use theirs for free. Also take a hairdryer or check with Alison as I don't think there was one there and no problem as we had our own.

Room Tip: No lifts so we stayed ground floor, only a few steps to navigate
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clear-Direction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coolangatta
0.3 km away
Greenmount Beach Resort
Greenmount Beach Resort
#10 of 12 in Coolangatta
145 reviews
2 km away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#3 of 12 in Coolangatta
435 reviews
0.8 km away
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
#4 of 12 in Coolangatta
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Tweed Harbour Motor Inn
Tweed Harbour Motor Inn
#2 of 13 in Tweed Heads
167 reviews
0.5 km away
Coolangatta Ocean View Motel
Coolangatta Ocean View Motel
#12 of 12 in Coolangatta
59 reviews
0.6 km away
Mantra Twin Towns
Mantra Twin Towns
#2 of 12 in Coolangatta
4,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Apartments

Address: 243-253 Boundary St | Rainbow Bay, Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Queensland 4225, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Coolangatta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Coolangatta
Price Range: ₹ 6,447 - ₹ 13,733 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bay Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Bay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Apartments Coolangatta, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing