We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located old-world charm”
Review of Normandie Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Normandie Motel
Ranked #6 of 11 Wollongong B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 December 2017

My partner and I stayed for 5 nights over the December holidays. As a business traveller accustomed to 5-star properties, I found The Normandie utterly charming and a refreshing change from the generic, impersonal cookie-cutter hotel room.

The Normandie had a lovely old-world charm about it, reminiscent of the old English B&Bs of my youth. Our room was a comfortable size, bright and sunny with all the usual amenities. Best of all, it was a few minutes walk to the beach and a few minutes drive to Crown Street, with the free city bus stopping just down the street.

The hosts were a delightful couple that added to the warmth and appeal of the property - they were always ready to assist, offer advice or just have a friendly chat about the neighbourhood.

Note that our room was one of the few with a recently-renovated bathroom, so make the request when you book.

All in all, we had a lovely time and though our days were mostly spent exploring Wollongong and the surrounding neighbourhoods, The Normandie was incredibly good value for money and a pleasure to come home to in the evenings.

Room Tip: Request rooms with renovated bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Chrissy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beydon S, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie . The building was built in 1946 Retro style, designed by a Frenchman. It is a little piece of Europe in Wollongong. So it is very different to the surrounding accommodation venues in the Southern region. Renovation is ongoing, retaining its older style. The new restaurant " Aaron's on Bourke" opened up in our building, is proving very popular, Glad that you enjoyed your stay, and the surrounds of Wollongong. Kind regards Beydon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here one night. Rooms were clean, bed was comfy and clean. Check in was easy & the man at reception was friendly. Location is really great. If you're looking for budget accomodation in a top location of Wollongong this would be one of few.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Sarze-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. Glad you were happy here, and that you enjoyed your time in Wollongong. Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

Do yourself a favour and don't even think about staying in this motel from hell. Rudest staff we have ever come across. You aren't allowed to talk in your room without the cops being called and kicking you out. We were paying customers down from Sydney, wanting a place to sleep after we visited the town. What we got was the most appalling and disrespectful treatment from the owner. Do not stay at this motel. Absolutely disgraceful.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank vnight6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

We were feeling deflated and disappointed. On Friday night we had to do what was best for our guests and enforce our policy to have disruptive guests leave the premises. It was unfortunate and we did everything we could before resorting to this.
You are obviously unhappy. If you are one of the people that was removed from the premises, sorry that you feel that way. At 3.00 am in the morning you can appreciate that people, don't want to be disturbed. They came here for a place to sleep. All the guests in the motel were being kept awake. In all due respect, we have to follow through till a matter is resolved. We work hard and do our best for our guests. We can only hope our loyal customers know we did what was necessary for our other guests. Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Wow I can't believe some people actually think this place is horrible.i think it's pretty cool.yes it's old but it has a certain charm and the decor fits the character of the building.i didn't find it dirty or musty at all and I stay in a lot of 5 star properties all around the world often.this place of course is no 5 star resort but it is comfortable enough and has a cool little bar with comfortable old style lounges.beer is cold and the people running it are very nice.i will stay here again

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. Glad you like here, We do our best. Always welcome. Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We booked in here for the weekend as the website looked warm and cozy and the price seemed right. When we arrived the carpark was full of weeds, there was a dirty lounge in a tiny foyer and a poorly dressed attendant behind a dingy counter. We persevered and got our room key then had to walk up a set of stairs, down a filthy corridor and into a room straight out of a cheap 60's backpacker movie. The room was dirty, bed sank in the middle and the carpet needed replacing badly. We could not stay, We immediately returned to the foyer, got our money back and promptly left.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, book at another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. You arrived well before check-in time.
Our Housekeepers had just finished cleaning your room, and were still in the process of cleaning the rest of the building and other rooms . All the doors were open are you sure you went to the right room? The reason I ask is that Bed is new in that room and the carpet is only 6 months old and a good quality one. The corridor towards your room is freshly painted. We are progressively renovating. We have a very high cleaning standard, which in other people rate very highly. How would you perceive that the Bed sank in the middle if you never used it. We have a cancellation policy of 24 hours, we were kind to give you a full refund. Your abuse of the Staff was not necessary. You should take into consideration what you want rather that basing your decision solely on price. If you looked at our online video's you would have known what to expect. Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wollongong
0.3 km away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
1.7 km away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
1,885 reviews
2.9 km away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
1.7 km away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
276 reviews
4.7 km away
Sovereign Inn Wollongong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandie Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandie Motel

Address: 30 Bourke St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Wollongong
Price Range: ₹ 6,300 - ₹ 9,958 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Normandie Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated, offering competitive and convenient accommodation with conference facilities, cozy restaurant and bar, just a 5 min walk to North Beach, bars and restaurants. Easy access to City Centre and Wollongong University, makes The Normandie an ideal location for the business traveler, holiday maker or sporting enthusiast. Private en-suites, TV, Tea & Coffee making facilities with reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Normandie Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing