We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
15
21
36
19
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
21
36
19
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews budget accommodation star properties short walk to the beach would stay again north wollongong beach crown street pleasant stay hosts sydney refurbishment
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Wow I can't believe some people actually think this place is horrible.i think it's pretty cool.yes it's old but it has a certain charm and the decor fits the character of the building.i didn't find it dirty or musty at all and I stay in a lot of 5 star properties all around the world often.this place of course is no 5 star resort but it is comfortable enough and has a cool little bar with comfortable old style lounges.beer is cold and the people running it are very nice.i will stay here again

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank I1910ESmichaelc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Inn and Function Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. Glad you like here, We do our best. Always welcome. Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We booked in here for the weekend as the website looked warm and cozy and the price seemed right. When we arrived the carpark was full of weeds, there was a dirty lounge in a tiny foyer and a poorly dressed attendant behind a dingy counter. We persevered and got our room key then had to walk up a set of stairs, down a filthy corridor and into a room straight out of a cheap 60's backpacker movie. The room was dirty, bed sank in the middle and the carpet needed replacing badly. We could not stay, We immediately returned to the foyer, got our money back and promptly left.

Room tip: If you want a good room, book at another motel
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrinW44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Inn and Function Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. You arrived well before check-in time.
Our Housekeepers had just finished cleaning your room, and were still in the process of cleaning the rest of the building and other rooms . All the doors were open are you sure you went to the right room? The reason I ask is that Bed is new in that room and the carpet is only 6 months old and a good quality one. The corridor towards your room is freshly painted. We are progressively renovating. We have a very high cleaning standard, which in other people rate very highly. How would you perceive that the Bed sank in the middle if you never used it. We have a cancellation policy of 24 hours, we were kind to give you a full refund. Your abuse of the Staff was not necessary. You should take into consideration what you want rather that basing your decision solely on price. If you looked at our online video's you would have known what to expect. Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We were in town for a function at the Novotel which was full on this Saturday night so chose this motel as it was an easy walk to the Novotel. We were very disappointed to find is was just an old rundown motel. Our 1st floor "double room" should have been a single. Terribly cramped, musty and poorly maintained. The wardrobe rail was just a thin wooded pole and it looked like it would break after we hung just a suit and a dress on it. Many fittings in the room had been replaced without any effort to even repaint the wall where the old fittings had been. Also it looks like many fittings had been sourced from the local op shop, the old mirror in the bath room may have come from the bedroom of and old house. The smoke alarm in our room was missing, not sure about the legality of that.
I could go on but all these could be improved with a bit of care, or sell it to a developer as the location would be prime I think.

Room tip: Find another place to stay
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vicnzsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Inn and Function Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. The motel was build in 1946. So you are right it is an old building. The electronic keyless entry to your room is new the Bed and Base are new, the side tables are new. New shower glass doors Sorry about the smoke detector someone has taken it out thanks for letting me know. The rooms are progressively being renovated. We don't replace old with old. We source new commercial furnishings. Not something you would put in your home. If you frequent 5 star hotels , you should have booked similar, we can't compare with them. I am not the owner of the building. If you want to develop make an offer I am sure the Owner would take it into consideration. Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

The rooms in these motel are all very unique, albeit rather small. The motel itself is rather quaint. The rooms were clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. As a family of four adults travelling on holiday, it was a bit cramped, but was certainly not a bad spot to stay.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Inn and Function Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. Yes the Building is not like any other. It is a small boutique motel , and it is what it is. Built in 1946 it would stand out as being different, it is located close to transport, close to the City and not far from the beach. So it is not a bad place to stay. Glad you were comfortable here Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016

I was born not far from the hotel but moved away while little. I have been staying here on and off over many many years. Yes its old and not what most expect but I love it. Its close to everything, beds are comfy, lots of nice places to eat close by...cheap and expensive, staff are always nice but best of all rates are reasonable. Try it, you'll like it...coming back again next month.

Room tip: I like the rooms at the front - traffic dosnt bother me. some guests are inconsiderate, but any issues let management know.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Roseannafromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Inn and Function Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. Yes she is an old lady. But at 70 years old she is still standing. I am glad that that she is a favourite. There are a lot of people that resonate with this building. It has meaning to a lot of people, and a lot of people rely their memories of when they were here. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews