We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A huge dissappointment”
Review of Normandie Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Normandie Motel
Ranked #7 of 11 Wollongong B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We booked in here for the weekend as the website looked warm and cozy and the price seemed right. When we arrived the carpark was full of weeds, there was a dirty lounge in a tiny foyer and a poorly dressed attendant behind a dingy counter. We persevered and got our room key then had to walk up a set of stairs, down a filthy corridor and into a room straight out of a cheap 60's backpacker movie. The room was dirty, bed sank in the middle and the carpet needed replacing badly. We could not stay, We immediately returned to the foyer, got our money back and promptly left.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, book at another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. You arrived well before check-in time.
Our Housekeepers had just finished cleaning your room, and were still in the process of cleaning the rest of the building and other rooms . All the doors were open are you sure you went to the right room? The reason I ask is that Bed is new in that room and the carpet is only 6 months old and a good quality one. The corridor towards your room is freshly painted. We are progressively renovating. We have a very high cleaning standard, which in other people rate very highly. How would you perceive that the Bed sank in the middle if you never used it. We have a cancellation policy of 24 hours, we were kind to give you a full refund. Your abuse of the Staff was not necessary. You should take into consideration what you want rather that basing your decision solely on price. If you looked at our online video's you would have known what to expect. Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2017

We were in town for a function at the Novotel which was full on this Saturday night so chose this motel as it was an easy walk to the Novotel. We were very disappointed to find is was just an old rundown motel. Our 1st floor "double room" should have been a single. Terribly cramped, musty and poorly maintained. The wardrobe rail was just a thin wooded pole and it looked like it would break after we hung just a suit and a dress on it. Many fittings in the room had been replaced without any effort to even repaint the wall where the old fittings had been. Also it looks like many fittings had been sourced from the local op shop, the old mirror in the bath room may have come from the bedroom of and old house. The smoke alarm in our room was missing, not sure about the legality of that.
I could go on but all these could be improved with a bit of care, or sell it to a developer as the location would be prime I think.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vicnzsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. The motel was build in 1946. So you are right it is an old building. The electronic keyless entry to your room is new the Bed and Base are new, the side tables are new. New shower glass doors Sorry about the smoke detector someone has taken it out thanks for letting me know. The rooms are progressively being renovated. We don't replace old with old. We source new commercial furnishings. Not something you would put in your home. If you frequent 5 star hotels , you should have booked similar, we can't compare with them. I am not the owner of the building. If you want to develop make an offer I am sure the Owner would take it into consideration. Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

The rooms in these motel are all very unique, albeit rather small. The motel itself is rather quaint. The rooms were clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. As a family of four adults travelling on holiday, it was a bit cramped, but was certainly not a bad spot to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. Yes the Building is not like any other. It is a small boutique motel , and it is what it is. Built in 1946 it would stand out as being different, it is located close to transport, close to the City and not far from the beach. So it is not a bad place to stay. Glad you were comfortable here Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016

I was born not far from the hotel but moved away while little. I have been staying here on and off over many many years. Yes its old and not what most expect but I love it. Its close to everything, beds are comfy, lots of nice places to eat close by...cheap and expensive, staff are always nice but best of all rates are reasonable. Try it, you'll like it...coming back again next month.

Room Tip: I like the rooms at the front - traffic dosnt bother me. some guests are inconsiderate, but any iss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Roseannafromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. Yes she is an old lady. But at 70 years old she is still standing. I am glad that that she is a favourite. There are a lot of people that resonate with this building. It has meaning to a lot of people, and a lot of people rely their memories of when they were here. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

We booked a queen-sized bed room. The room was a bit "musty", but opening the window fixed that. The bed though was very comfortable.
Our stay was for only one night.
We considered it good value for the price.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. Glad you were comfortable here. Kind Regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
0.3 km away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
1.7 km away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
1,881 reviews
1.1 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#5 of 15 in Wollongong
283 reviews
1.8 km away
Best Western City Sands
Best Western City Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
262 reviews
1.7 km away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandie Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandie Motel

Address: 30 Bourke St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Wollongong
Price Range: ₹ 6,357 - ₹ 9,917 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Normandie Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated, offering competitive and convenient accommodation with conference facilities, cozy restaurant and bar, just a 5 min walk to North Beach, bars and restaurants. Easy access to City Centre and Wollongong University, makes The Normandie an ideal location for the business traveler, holiday maker or sporting enthusiast. Private en-suites, TV, Tea & Coffee making facilities with reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Normandie Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing