We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach(Wollongong)(Great Value!)
US$ 358
US$ 293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong(Wollongong)
US$ 215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
Sage Hotel Wollongong(Wollongong)(Great Value!)
US$ 241
US$ 155
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mantra Wollongong(Wollongong)
US$ 184
US$ 178
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Fitness centre
Quest Wollongong(Wollongong)
US$ 236
US$ 228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands(Wollongong)(Great Value!)
US$ 185
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MarketView(Wollongong)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
13
20
35
18
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
20
35
18
13
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We were in town for a function at the Novotel which was full on this Saturday night so chose this motel as it was an easy walk to the Novotel. We were very disappointed to find is was just an old rundown motel. Our 1st floor "double room" should have been a single. Terribly cramped, musty and poorly maintained. The wardrobe rail was just a thin wooded pole and it looked like it would break after we hung just a suit and a dress on it. Many fittings in the room had been replaced without any effort to even repaint the wall where the old fittings had been. Also it looks like many fittings had been sourced from the local op shop, the old mirror in the bath room may have come from the bedroom of and old house. The smoke alarm in our room was missing, not sure about the legality of that.
I could go on but all these could be improved with a bit of care, or sell it to a developer as the location would be prime I think.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vicnzsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. The motel was build in 1946. So you are right it is an old building. The electronic keyless entry to your room is new the Bed and Base are new, the side tables are new. New shower glass doors Sorry about the smoke detector someone has taken it out thanks for letting me know. The rooms are progressively being renovated. We don't replace old with old. We source new commercial furnishings. Not something you would put in your home. If you frequent 5 star hotels , you should have booked similar, we can't compare with them. I am not the owner of the building. If you want to develop make an offer I am sure the Owner would take it into consideration. Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

The rooms in these motel are all very unique, albeit rather small. The motel itself is rather quaint. The rooms were clean, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. As a family of four adults travelling on holiday, it was a bit cramped, but was certainly not a bad spot to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. Yes the Building is not like any other. It is a small boutique motel , and it is what it is. Built in 1946 it would stand out as being different, it is located close to transport, close to the City and not far from the beach. So it is not a bad place to stay. Glad you were comfortable here Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016

I was born not far from the hotel but moved away while little. I have been staying here on and off over many many years. Yes its old and not what most expect but I love it. Its close to everything, beds are comfy, lots of nice places to eat close by...cheap and expensive, staff are always nice but best of all rates are reasonable. Try it, you'll like it...coming back again next month.

Room Tip: I like the rooms at the front - traffic dosnt bother me. some guests are inconsiderate, but any issues let management know.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Roseannafromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. Yes she is an old lady. But at 70 years old she is still standing. I am glad that that she is a favourite. There are a lot of people that resonate with this building. It has meaning to a lot of people, and a lot of people rely their memories of when they were here. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

We booked a queen-sized bed room. The room was a bit "musty", but opening the window fixed that. The bed though was very comfortable.
Our stay was for only one night.
We considered it good value for the price.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. Glad you were comfortable here. Kind Regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

"Dated" isn't always bad. In this instance, a place built in the 1940s that is still around today is definitely going to bring a feel of history with it, especially in a shiny new city like Wollongong. Yes, there are cracks on the ceilings and the walls are very thin, pipes rattle when adjoining rooms have showers, but I still likes this place. It does have a touch of Normandy to it. The heavy green curtains and built in wardrobe design add to this. Most importantly, the linen was clean and the bathroom is spotless. The wifi didn't work so be prepared to hotspot your smartphone. Price was right and parking plentiful. I recommend this place but don't expect the sterility of a Hilton or modernity of a Mantra. Recommended C+

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. Renovation is an ongoing issue in an old building, it is what it is and takes time. We did install an Industrial standard new WiFi system, which was guaranteed by Telstra to cover the whole building. Sometimes it drops out. If you mentioned it we hopefully could have rectified. Perhaps when the NBN connection is put in place we wont have that issue. As they say the internet will be faster and more efficient. Glad you enjoyed your stay we try to please. Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews