We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ol" favorite”
Review of Normandie Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Normandie Motel
Ranked #7 of 11 Wollongong B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 November 2016

I was born not far from the hotel but moved away while little. I have been staying here on and off over many many years. Yes its old and not what most expect but I love it. Its close to everything, beds are comfy, lots of nice places to eat close by...cheap and expensive, staff are always nice but best of all rates are reasonable. Try it, you'll like it...coming back again next month.

Room Tip: I like the rooms at the front - traffic dosnt bother me. some guests are inconsiderate, but any iss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Roseannafromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. Yes she is an old lady. But at 70 years old she is still standing. I am glad that that she is a favourite. There are a lot of people that resonate with this building. It has meaning to a lot of people, and a lot of people rely their memories of when they were here. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

We booked a queen-sized bed room. The room was a bit "musty", but opening the window fixed that. The bed though was very comfortable.
Our stay was for only one night.
We considered it good value for the price.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. Glad you were comfortable here. Kind Regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

"Dated" isn't always bad. In this instance, a place built in the 1940s that is still around today is definitely going to bring a feel of history with it, especially in a shiny new city like Wollongong. Yes, there are cracks on the ceilings and the walls are very thin, pipes rattle when adjoining rooms have showers, but I still likes this place. It does have a touch of Normandy to it. The heavy green curtains and built in wardrobe design add to this. Most importantly, the linen was clean and the bathroom is spotless. The wifi didn't work so be prepared to hotspot your smartphone. Price was right and parking plentiful. I recommend this place but don't expect the sterility of a Hilton or modernity of a Mantra. Recommended C+

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. Renovation is an ongoing issue in an old building, it is what it is and takes time. We did install an Industrial standard new WiFi system, which was guaranteed by Telstra to cover the whole building. Sometimes it drops out. If you mentioned it we hopefully could have rectified. Perhaps when the NBN connection is put in place we wont have that issue. As they say the internet will be faster and more efficient. Glad you enjoyed your stay we try to please. Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Located very close to the beach and run by very friendly family.
Hotel need renovation and rooms are very very small. Stayed for two nights and book through one of the famous booking site which was the cheapest option available after Google around and found out hotel is charging the commission directly from customers for using web booking from third party site. If you want to book this hotel please contact directly and you will definitely get cheaper price.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
Thank Thilanbuwaneka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. The rooms are being renovated an ongoing issue ,looking after a 70 year old building. The rooms are different sizes and configurations, some are larger than others. Your comments are ambiguous At one point you say "Avoid if Possible " then you recommend to book directly. I do not know if you enjoyed your stay. I do hope that you enjoyed stay Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

about the only good thing about this joint was that it had easy parking out the front
the room was small but i guess it did the job although i've paid a lot less for a lot nicer
we had a beautiful view of the dumpsters out the back
the bathroom was akin to a prison and there was heaps of dirt/dust around the fan
mirror was tiny
shower had mould

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kizza2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. The rooms are small in comparison to the larger 4.5 star accommodation in the area. Our rooms are different sizes and configurations . You had a Double bed room, which is smaller than the Queen rooms. We do have a high standard of cleanliness, sorry if we missed something. I will highlight it to our housekeepers. Unfortunately, dumpsters are a fact of life and for health reasons we cant put them up against the building out of site. Sorry that we did not meet your expectations Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wollongong hotels
0.3 km away
Novotel Wollongong Northbeach
1.7 km away
Sage Hotel Wollongong
Sage Hotel Wollongong
#6 of 15 in Wollongong
1,883 reviews
1.1 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Wollongong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
#5 of 15 in Wollongong
283 reviews
1.8 km away
Best Western City Sands
Best Western City Sands
#4 of 15 in Wollongong
262 reviews
1.7 km away
Mantra Wollongong
Mantra Wollongong
#10 of 15 in Wollongong
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandie Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandie Motel

Address: 30 Bourke St, Wollongong, New South Wales 2500, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Wollongong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Wollongong
Price Range: ₹ 6,357 - ₹ 9,815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Normandie Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated, offering competitive and convenient accommodation with conference facilities, cozy restaurant and bar, just a 5 min walk to North Beach, bars and restaurants. Easy access to City Centre and Wollongong University, makes The Normandie an ideal location for the business traveler, holiday maker or sporting enthusiast. Private en-suites, TV, Tea & Coffee making facilities with reverse cycle air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Normandie Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing