We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
13
20
35
18
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
20
35
18
14
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

We booked a queen-sized bed room. The room was a bit "musty", but opening the window fixed that. The bed though was very comfortable.
Our stay was for only one night.
We considered it good value for the price.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Inn and Function Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. Glad you were comfortable here. Kind Regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

"Dated" isn't always bad. In this instance, a place built in the 1940s that is still around today is definitely going to bring a feel of history with it, especially in a shiny new city like Wollongong. Yes, there are cracks on the ceilings and the walls are very thin, pipes rattle when adjoining rooms have showers, but I still likes this place. It does have a touch of Normandy to it. The heavy green curtains and built in wardrobe design add to this. Most importantly, the linen was clean and the bathroom is spotless. The wifi didn't work so be prepared to hotspot your smartphone. Price was right and parking plentiful. I recommend this place but don't expect the sterility of a Hilton or modernity of a Mantra. Recommended C+

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Inn and Function Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. Renovation is an ongoing issue in an old building, it is what it is and takes time. We did install an Industrial standard new WiFi system, which was guaranteed by Telstra to cover the whole building. Sometimes it drops out. If you mentioned it we hopefully could have rectified. Perhaps when the NBN connection is put in place we wont have that issue. As they say the internet will be faster and more efficient. Glad you enjoyed your stay we try to please. Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

Located very close to the beach and run by very friendly family.
Hotel need renovation and rooms are very very small. Stayed for two nights and book through one of the famous booking site which was the cheapest option available after Google around and found out hotel is charging the commission directly from customers for using web booking from third party site. If you want to book this hotel please contact directly and you will definitely get cheaper price.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
Thank Thilanbuwaneka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Inn and Function Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. The rooms are being renovated an ongoing issue ,looking after a 70 year old building. The rooms are different sizes and configurations, some are larger than others. Your comments are ambiguous At one point you say "Avoid if Possible " then you recommend to book directly. I do not know if you enjoyed your stay. I do hope that you enjoyed stay Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

about the only good thing about this joint was that it had easy parking out the front
the room was small but i guess it did the job although i've paid a lot less for a lot nicer
we had a beautiful view of the dumpsters out the back
the bathroom was akin to a prison and there was heaps of dirt/dust around the fan
mirror was tiny
shower had mould

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kizza2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Inn and Function Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. The rooms are small in comparison to the larger 4.5 star accommodation in the area. Our rooms are different sizes and configurations . You had a Double bed room, which is smaller than the Queen rooms. We do have a high standard of cleanliness, sorry if we missed something. I will highlight it to our housekeepers. Unfortunately, dumpsters are a fact of life and for health reasons we cant put them up against the building out of site. Sorry that we did not meet your expectations Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Clean, comfortable budget accommodation with really friendly, easygoing owners/staff. We only need something simple for one night, and Normandie definitely did the job. We'd love to stay here again next time we're in Wollongong.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerNormandie, Manager at Normandie Inn and Function Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review Normandie. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, happy that we were what you needed. Always welcome next time you are in Wollongong. Kind regards Beydon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews