We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical”
Stunning views at Block Eight
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning views at Block Eight
Three bedroom guest house sleeps six adults Open plan living with log fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Stunning views at Block Eight
Three bedroom guest house sleeps six adults
Open plan living with log fire
Large dining table with beautiful views
Fully equipped kitchen
Last master bedroom with ensuite
Master ensuite
Queen size bedroom
Relax by the large dam at Block Eight
Help yourself to fresh organic vegetables
Fresh eggs delivered daily
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jewels68x
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had such a magical weekend at this beautiful location! My sister and myself meet our parents there for a little R & R... What a treat! We stayed in the beautifully decorated guest house and we're delighted by the many additional treasure left by the owners. Fresh bacon, eggs, milk, juice and biscuits to name a few. Along with the fantastic veggie garden, which guests can use, we had little need for anything else. Only wish we had booked a longer stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Liked least: Slow wifi
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sibel S
2 reviews
“Pefect little place for a getaway in the Hunter Valley”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A beautiful cosy villa on a great property. It's so private it feels as though you are the one there. The hamper on arrival including wines, an afternoon snack and breakfast was the perfect touch. Would definitely stay here again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAM1417
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Absolutely perfect!”
Reviewed 8 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Last weekend I was lucky enough to spend a couple of nights at the Block Eight guest house with a few friends. Having read some great reviews on trip advisor, we were all looking forward to arriving and seeing the place for ourselves. We certainly were not disappointed. The location was incredibly beautiful, the house was just perfect and Todd and Jeff kick started our weekend with a private wine tasting! The wine was so delicious we all bought some to take home! With a breakfast hamper included (the fresh eggs from chickens on the property are so tasty!) and some cold wine in the fridge waiting for you, this place really sets the scene for a fantastic Hunter experience.

I would highly recommend Block Eight to everyone, I know I will definitely be returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail, everything has been thought of!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
88Anastas...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Faultless!”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

What a beautiful property and location!.. I recently stayed at the guesthouse for a weekend with four friends and we were so impressed. The house was beautifully presented, the property was quiet and peaceful - none of us wanted to leave!

The kitchen was stocked with fresh eggs, homemade biscuits, bacon, cheese, milk, orange juice and a few bottles of block eights own wine!

The owners gave us our own private wine tasting which was a fantastic way to start the weekend!

Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to escape for a weekend and relax! Can't wait to visit again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie E
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hunter Gem!”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I stayed here over the weekend with four of my girlfriends in the guesthouse and we cannot rave enough about this property and the owners.
Check in was easy and unobtrusive and we were greeted with gorgeous views and a beautiful house which had everything you could need.
We had also been left to enjoy two bottles of their stunning wine, cheeses, milk, juice, eggs, bacon, museli, muffins and bread as well as some home made shortbread. The breakfast provisions were very generous and the fresh eggs from the chickens on the property were amazing! The kitchen was extremely well stocked (loved the spice drawer) and had everything to prepare beautiful meals, the book, cd and DVD collections were also extremely enviable.
The house itself was decorated beautifully and had all the essentials.
On our first day Todd and Jeff also treated us to a private wine tasting and we were all extremely impressed with their beautiful wines.
We all cannot wait to return and can't recommend it highly enough! Jeff and Todd, you're doing it right!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing