We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
SydneySider1983
Sydney, Australia

A beautiful stay - but what happened to your amazing breakfasts?

Review of Tonic Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Oct 2023
We stayed at Tonic years ago and had a great experience then, so decided to go back. Although the setting is beautiful and serene, sadly breakfast (which was amazing back then) is no longer included. It was a nice relaxing stay and we visited some beautiful restaurants and cellar doors, but please do bring that breakky back!
Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: - It seems breakfast is no longer included - It's dog friendly - There is a pool and BBQ
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
₹12,888
₹11,608
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
5.3 km from Tonic Hotel
Free parking
Premium Lodge Room
₹14,129
₹11,612
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₹11,612
6.4 km from Tonic Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹14,345
₹10,773
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
9.8 km from Tonic Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Gardens
₹10,105
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
7.8 km from Tonic Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Set on Bimbadgen's 50 year old vineyards on Palmers Lane
₹16,870
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₹16,870
6.9 km from Tonic Hotel
₹16,329
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
7.7 km from Tonic Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹13,998
  • Booking.com
3.9 km from Tonic Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹8,730
  • Hotels.com
10.3 km from Tonic Hotel
Free parking
Pool
King verandah suite
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    ₹14,633
  • Priceline
12.5 km from Tonic Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Arrival Drive
Get rewarded with One Key
  • vocoHotels
    ₹12,775
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
10.5 km from Tonic Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Pokolbin
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
130
22
7
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
130
22
7
10
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2021

Given our stay as birthday gift, nothing like description. Concrete floors, plastic chairs, small metal table one mod chair. Had to sit together on bed or use the plastic chairs. Saw no-one room tired, no comfort or luxury as a 5 star property should have. Not a hotel but a small cabin in a group in a paddock

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mereesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2021 via mobile

We love this place. Easy going, relaxing and plenty of creature comforts. Great, peaceful location close to most things. This was our second visit and we will be keen to book our third. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The hosts were great.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 517murrayw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 February 2021

It doesn't match the hype on their website. Low points were:

1. Zero communication:
• We had to chase them up for the check-in details on the day of arrival as it was well-after the check-in time – they were very casual, just sent a text eventually.
• We had emailed before our arrival to ask a question and got zero response.
• No info in-room about the property and facilities - just call, they say, then don't answer so we wait for them to call back.

2. Lacked attention to detail:
• Pool unkempt, cleaning equipment left in the pool.
• Tired furniture/outdoor furniture dirty. Zero privacy on the balcony,
• Nowhere to unpack, the only cupboard was full of ‘stuff’.
• Noise travelled as it is all hard surfaces – we could hear the refrigerator buzzing on and off all night and could hear the guests next door.
• The bathroom is SO disappointing, not only is the bathtub not for two, but it is also hardly big for one and is blocked partly under a bench containing double sinks. The shower has no screen (but could!) so the entire floor was soaked – the shower had poor water pressure and the extractor fan was noisy/rattling. We did not ‘think Bali’ at all.

We wouldn't stay here again.

Room tip: The middle cabins 3 and 6, have no side windows (dark) and have guests on both sides (noise). Last-minute online discounts 25% off, too.
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SYDNEYMISSLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2020 via mobile

After months of being inside I booked a weekend at Tonic with my husband for his birthday.
The view from the room was beautiful and peaceful, we loved watching the sun set in the afternoons we were there.
The room was large and comfortable, the bathroom was generous, and the breakfast items in the fridge were a nice touch.
I would recommend this place to someone looking for a romantic and relaxing getaway.
Although the place was fully booked, we almost felt like we were the only ones there.

Date of stay: June 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank williamc671
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 June 2019 via mobile

We had such a fantastic stay at Tonic this weekend.

We had booked 6 of the 7 rooms available at Tonic and they were clean and comfortable.

We had exclusive use of the onsite lounge which had a beautiful fireplace and a massive kitchen stocked with all the crockery you could ever need!

The owners Ian and Janelle were lovely, they were hospitable, personable and approachable.

The included breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We really enjoyed ourselves. This place is made for small groups like ours.

I really recommend this place, it was perfect for our needs because we were able to be together with our group but we had the privacy of our own rooms and bathrooms.

Thanks for a wonderful stay! We will definitely be back!!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rosiek84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews